We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Deal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jack's Deli & Restaurant

Jack's Deli & Restaurant
14490 Cedar Rd, Cleveland, OH 44121-3328
216-382-5350
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 1,749 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Kosher
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout, Waitstaff
Aurora, Ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The Real Deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

If you live in the Cleveland area or plan to visit, you must go to this authentic tasting deli minutes from Beachwood Place Mall. Whether you have a small or large group, they will do their best to accomodate you.

Be prepared to wait on a Saturday or Sunday but your patience will be rewarded. Choose breakfast or lunch tasty corned beef or thick cut challah french toast and expect a delicious meal. If you like soup order the Mike's Hearty Chicken Soup...a meal in itself! And unlike many other deli's the service is typically very good and the place is always clean.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Eastlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Did anyone say Corned Beef and Matzoh Ball Soup?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

OMG...Jack's is da bomb! I have been a customer at Jacks for well over thirty years and they never disappoint. Sometime that wait can be a little long, but the wait is well worth it. They know my family by name. The minute you sit down a bowl of pickles is placed on the table. My favorite are pickled tomatoes.

There are special everyday if you happen not to like corned beef. I usually start off the meal with a cup or if I'm really hungry, a bowl of matzoh ball soup...always a generous and hot piping bowl of soup...made daily. Next a totally stuffed sandwich made to order from the deli counter. Or maybe an order of cheese blintzes.

If there is room in my belly, I'll order a slice of NY cheese cake.

Oy...what a place!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank happymom2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Friendly service, delicious and plentiful food, good for catering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had two visits to Jack's this holiday season. First we took my elderly in laws there for dinner. When we arrived at 5:00 there were lots of empty tables, but by the time we finished dinner the place was quite full of families. They seemed especially good at meeting the needs of the older population. I noticed the staff greeted several people by name.
The potato pancakes, corned beef, whitefish salad, and chicken schnitzel were favorites. We shared a slice of pumpkin cheesecake for dessert and it was tasty. The green salad was the only not so great thing-a huge bowl of iceberg lettuce with some chopped vegetables on top. Salad is not the reason to go to this deli! Stick to their specialties and you can't go wrong.

We also ordered a sandwich platter and vegetable tray from their catering department for a post-holiday family gathering. They were very professional in their service, the platters were lovely, and the price was reasonable.
This is an excellent, unpretentious and high quality place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
151 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Very Good, A Real Local Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

An old fashioned Cleveland institution, featuring an extensive menu of good food. No atmosphere, except THAT is atmosphere in and of itself. I guess you could say that it features Jewish style deli ( but not kosher). My wife's brisket dinner was excellent as was my stuffed cabbage appetizer ; the matzo ball soup was a bit on the bland side but, then again, I am comparing it to my wife’s homemade version. I like this place-- locally owned, and you can tell the owners care about it very much. The servers were all very nice especially since we arrived 15 minutes before closing. Very reasonably priced and we saw some breakfast items which were absolute bargains.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mkatrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLEVELAND,OH
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“BEST Kosher-style Deli in CLEVELAND”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The BEST deli in the eastern suburbs of Cleveland. Known for their Tuesday Corned Beef Day, THE BEST CORNED BEEF IN TOWN.. I prefer their Pastrami. However, you must try their home-made soups, out of this world. All sandwiches are piled high and come with either Potato Salad or Cole Slaw. Alvie and Gary are always on hand to greet everyone.
So if you get to University Heights, Ohio, make sure you stop in and have a great meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank consultant099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Deli & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jack's Deli & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing