We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific East Japanese Restaurant

Pacific East Japanese Restaurant
1763 Coventry Rd, Cleveland, OH 44118
(216) 320-2302
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 1,681 Restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
2 reviews
“Great food, great deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I had some sushi and chicken curry, and I thought both were excellent. And you can't beat the price! Basic sushi rolls in the $4 range? Yes, please. And don't worry, the fish is very high quality.


Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The BEST sushi in Cleveland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Pacific East in Cleveland Heights is by FAR the best sushi around. My friends and I go here vey often, and I must say? Absolutely consistently terrific. The Malaysian menu is
Fabulous. A MUST try is the soup. Prawn Mee? ( I don't know how it's spelled) The service is always good, as the waitresses always come by and fill your tea cups. I honestly can't say enough about this place. I love it! ( there are 2 Pacific East restaurants in Cleveland- both good, but the one in Cleveland Heights has the Malaysian menu... Go to this one)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Incredible Malaysian food, excellent Japanese food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We've been going here about twice a year for the past 4 years, and the food and service has been consistently excellent throughout that time. They have 2 different menus: Japanese and Malaysian. The Japanese is very good, offering standard Japanese fare and excellent fresh sushi. The Malaysian menu is incredible and ourfavorite, especially since good Malaysian food is often hard to find. The flavors are mind blowing. I would recommend the salt&pepper squid, curry clay pot vegetables, and the okra with shrimp with the traditional Maylasian shrimp paste. It can get busy and a bit noisy during prime hours, but the servers are always very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The BEST sushi in Cleveland.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Pacific East is consistently good. The sushi is amazing! The Malaysian menu is especially tasty. Pacific East also offers brown rice- we had all our sushi made with it. Absolutely a must go to place to eat if you are in the Cleveland Hts area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Heights, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Favorite Sushi Place Ive Found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The best sushi around town, friendly service, wouldn't have it any other way. The miso dressing on the house salad is to die for and they also explain the menu items very well if you ask for clarification. You can eat a lot for not much money or you can also not eat a lot but spend a ton. All depends on what roll you want but they have something for every taste and budget I think.

The one review on here is correct in their strange hours and policies on opening the door...

But once you get in you won't want to leave!

If you plan on going give me a call and take me too!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific East Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pacific East Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific East Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.