We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish, fish and booze” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salmon Dave's

Salmon Dave's
19015 Lake Rd, Cleveland, OH 44116-1728
(440) 331-2739
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #412 of 1,705 Restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Rocky River, Ohio
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fish, fish and booze”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Salmon Dave's is a go to place for sea food or steaks. Vibrant bar scene, especially on Friday nights. Cozy comfort feeling inside. Service can be slow at times but always pleasant. Fish prepared to your liking. Specials throughout the year. Good family place to eat.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Over!!!!rated!!!!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Only thing good about this place was our service and the atmosphere. Food absolutely sucked!!!!!! Heard good things about this place but guess the cooks took the night off while we were there!! Paid 12 bucks for three crappy scallops!!!! Ordered 6 oyster shells with nothing in the shell!! And for the main course we got the champagne surf n turf which was a rubbery lobster tail and 2 peices of meat that looked like steak that were very small and over cooked like they just came out of the microwave. It was our first time there and I really feel like I got robbed!!! Horrible food never gonna go back !!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“From Favorite to Ordinary!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

From the moment we moved to the USA, Salmon Dave's has been our favorite restaurant! I had even given it a 5star review a few months ago! What changed?
First, service was more then ordinary (our waiter looked surprise when I asked for the price of the crab dinner?) and gave us dirty wine glasses! (Can the restaurant staff check glasses before handing them out - one had lipstick rims!). Then the meat (filet mignon) was overcooked, the mashed potatoes (which are usually so good) were lumpy. Overall - disappointing! The total bill was slightly under $150.00 for 2 including a wine bottle. What should have been a nice dinner turned out to feel like a fast food dinner - with an overprice tag!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Mother's Day Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My family took me to Salmon Dave's for Mother's Day Dinner and what a special treat it was! The service was fanstastic even though it was a busy holiday, our server allowed us to take our time when making choices and didn't make us feel rushed. The lobster bisque really was incredibly rich and delicious as the menu described and the seasonal cheesecake was "to die for." We had the specials of the day which were beautifully presented and delicious as well. The decor was interesting and comfortable and the table setting lovely. All in all a wonderful experience and I can't wait to try the restaurant for lunch as well as a return dinner trip!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurant around Cleveland!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This restaurant is by far one of my favorite around Cleveland! Seafood or steaks are always delicious; service is impeccable. Do reserve; it gets busy on weekends! We had a large business dinner and the restaurant reserved an area for our party - everyone raved about the food and service! Prices on the high end but worth it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salmon Dave's also viewed

 

Been to Salmon Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salmon Dave's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.