We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good breakfast buffet. great service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1890 Restaurant & Lounge

1890 Restaurant & Lounge
420 Superior Ave E, Cleveland, OH 44114-2500
(216) 776-4576
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
1890 Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #282 of 1,705 Restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, International, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Superior and East 6th street
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“very good breakfast buffet. great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

tasty buffet-eggs, breakfast pound cakes, french toast, lots of really fresh fruit and especially good service.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    15
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater Fl
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Review for lounge only”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was not happy with our experience here.

Stayed at the Hyatt ARcade while in town and stopped in here one night after dinner for a drink. There were only two other parties here, one, a football fan from the wedding downstairs (obviously more interested in the game then the wedding) who was yelling f bombs the entire time he was here, and a father and his 9 year old son sitting at the bar, yes at the bar, not in the bar area.

The staff saw our annoyed looks at the continues antics of the pig in sheep clothing (AKA The wedding guest) but did nothing to calm his words or his tone. They also did nothing about the 9 year old bellying up to the bar with dad.

We opted for room service after this fiasco.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Historical gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Hyatt 3 nights. We ate breakfast at 1890 3 mornings. The weekend buffet is amazing! We went back for the ribeye a second night (even w/ all the downtown restaurant choices) because it was perfection! My only complaint was the weekday breakfast....many healthy options, but bland. My husbands sandwich and my egg white, feta & spinach frittata were both disappointing. But the staff was friendly, service was great, and do the creator of that French toast that is served on the buffet...kudos! I rarely eat dessert, but this was so amazing I had to go back for seconds!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Food was awesome but service was slow.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

It made a great gathering place for our family...if anyone was up for breakfast it was the place to be.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Breakfast Buffet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Located in the beautiful Cleveland Arcade/Hyatt Regency, the ambiance was terrific. Not only that, the breakfast buffet was delicious. Lots of choices.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1890 Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to 1890 Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1890 Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.