We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our relatives from Detroit loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guarino's Restaurant

Guarino's Restaurant
12309 Mayfield Rd, Cleveland, OH 44106-1927
216-231-3100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #415 of 1,681 Restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“our relatives from Detroit loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Took my husband's brother and sister-in-law from Detroit there while they were visiting us. They wanted Italian. My brother-in-law said he could tell it would be good food from the smell coming from the restaurant right before we went in. We had great service and the food was delicious--everything from the appetizers down to the dessert. The stuffed pepper appetizer was the best we ever had. The place has ambiance. Our relatives want to go back there this summer and sit outside on the patio.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    29
    21
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“No so fresh feeling”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The food tastes like it is not fresh. Everything I had tasted like there was sugar in it. The ambiance is old and it feels dirty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tasty & Priced Right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Truly enjoyed my visit to Guarino's. the weather was nice enough to sit on "The Most Romantic Patio in Cleveland". A little before garden season, but I can tell it is really spectacular in Season. The food was fresh, tasty and well-prepared. Prices were amazing. I had a 3 course meal for under $40.00. The service was very good and the manager can out several times to make sure all was going well. Will definitely come back next time I'm in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nothing Fancy, But Pretty Tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a place in Cleveland's Little Italy for a decent meal, and a Cleveland native recommended Guarino's - Cleveland's oldest restaurant. We arrived at 9 pm on a Saturday night, and found we were the only customers in the place! If we hadn't received a personal reccomndation, we might have left, but we tried it - I had the chicken parm, while the wife went for the veal parm. Both were served promptly - and were delicious! The decor was what you would expect from a vintage restaurant.. Kind of like eating in your grandma's dining room. But that was part of the charm! This is NOT the place to go for new cuisine, but for standard southern italian staples, we recommend it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Made our day in Cleveland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

After receiving bad news at The Cleveland Clinic, we drove around and checked out Cleveland and decided to go to Guarino's. We had a cocktail and order some great food, Italian style.
Toward the end of the dinner, Ms Nancy Phillips introduced herself and she had some similar
comments about someone in her family that had similar medical situations as my wife. We had
very nice afternoon talking wilth Nancy. That dinner and meeting with Nancy '" MADE OUR DAY"

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guarino's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Guarino's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guarino's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.