We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool and cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Aloft Cleveland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 West 10th Street, Cleveland, OH   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Cool and cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I'm a Platinum Starwood guy, so I travel a lot and stay at many properties, including the Aloft's big brother, W Hotels. Overall, I prefer the Alofts.

They are smart, clean, modern and fairly-priced. This location is no exception.

Located on the river near Lake Erie and close to to downtown in the East Flats area, they are ahead of the curve of the redevelopment of this area. It's kind of industrial, with freighters and barges steaming by but it's cool at the same time. It's easy to drive to, parking is no problem and you can walk to a dozen bars and restuarants.

The rooms are all the same- sparse but functional with great bathrooms. A nice touch is the help yourself kitchen in the lobby.

If you're tired of the too hip and overpriced W or the dated and boring Westins or Sheratons, give the Aloft a try.

Room Tip: Get a room on the river side to watch the drawbridge and boats go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricCybulski, General Manager at Aloft Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments and thank you for your selection in choosing to stay with us. It's always great to hear from our platinum Starwood members! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, including the natural scenery of the barges coming through the river. A very unique sight! We hope to see you on your next trip to the Cleveland area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    68
    33
    4
    8
See reviews for
17
48
4
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Aloft has a youthful, upbeat and techie feel. The rooms were brand new, shining clean and although sparse (in an intention and modern decor sense) had everything that was needed for a comfortable and efficient stay. The price was very reasonable and restaurants are nearby. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: My room was overlooking the lake and railway - lots of building and industrial activity - very inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricCybulski, General Manager at Aloft Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay with us! We always enjoy hearing feedback from our guests about their experience. I will share your comments with our team and I am glad to hear you enjoyed our location and proximity to the local restaurants. We hope to see you again should your travel plans bring you back to Cleveland. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at the Aloft for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay. There are a few kinks that staff is still trying to work out, but everyone was nice from the valet guys, front desk, to housekeeping. Rooms are small, no dressers, but very comfortable. The refrigerator is an added bonus. We were first shocked to see all the train rails outside our window, but the noise was not bothersome at all. A view of the water is always nice. Walked to downtown restaurants, casino, and Progressive Field. Will stay here again next time in Cleveland.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricCybulski, General Manager at Aloft Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hello, and thank you for your comments about the Aloft Cleveland Downtown. Many of our guests have shared your sentiment about our location and nice views of the water! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownstown
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is almost brand new. It is very modern. It is in a weird location and was difficult to find, in fact, OnStar did not have the address so we had to use GPS on the phone. We got there and there are no signs letting you know that this is a Hotel. We almost stopped to ask directions. It is located right next to an Amtrack stop and near the river. You can hear the barges pass by. I slept soundly but my husband said it was loud outside. We had a corner room. Not much of a view. We had an accessible room so the bathroom was spacious. They allow pets, which is the reason I picked this hotel. The layout is a little confusing, with parking on the ground floor but you have to take an elevater to the check-in floor, and a different elevator to the rooms. This adds to security but not to convenience. Staff was kind and friendly. Room was very clean and bed was soft.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricCybulski, General Manager at Aloft Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Aloft Cleveland Downtown. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us make the necessary improvements to enhance all of our guests' experiences. My apologies for the difficulties you had reaching our hotel. We are working with all of the search engines to make sure we are mapped correctly and easy to locate. We are also developing additional signage upon arrival so the guest has a clearer understanding of how to get to the hotel lobby. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hotel: The property was opened quite recently and is in the downtown Cleveland with valet parking. Aloft, is one of the SPG budget brands and is contemporary in style, not many might like the style but the color scheme, decor is really youthful. It is on the W10th street, close to lot of bars, restaurants, rock and roll hall of fame & museum. The property has a bar (W xyz), lot of people on a Friday night, many sat on the terrace over looking the river, bridge, etc. Right next to the reception, something caught my attention - " Re Fuel" - you can grab a sandwich, drinks, and you can make your own espresso, latte, cappuccino from the WMF machine (The German made - WMF espresso machine is one of the finest available in the market). Note: Opposite to the hotel, you also have railway tracks!!

Staff: The valet parking is great, staff are very friendly. The front desk welcomed the guests pretty well, recognize your elite status, thanked for being elite, offer you the standard amenities, etc.The staff at the bar are friendly as well.

Rooms: The rooms are contemporary in style, bright colors, comfy bed, stand in shower, writing desk, large tv fixed to the wall and enough space to arrange your stuff. There were two writing desks in the room, but one had a chair and not the other, little bit weird but not a big deal. We had a room over looking the river, railway tracks, not a busy line but you can hear the noise and once we felt little bit shaky.

Over all, I liked the property, it is modern, clean, staff are friendly and is in the downtown.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricCybulski, General Manager at Aloft Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback. I will be sure to share all of your comments with our team at the hotel, from the valets to front desk to Wxyz. Many of our guests also enjoy sitting out on the patio to watch the ships or enjoy the sunset! We hope to see you back at the Aloft soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed at Aloft for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. The hotel is beautiful and located within walking distance of plenty of shops and restaurants. The rooms are a bit on the small side, but the beds are really comfortable. I'll be traveling to Cleveland a lot and plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricCybulski, General Manager at Aloft Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your response! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Several of our guests enjoy the fact that our location is convenient to many of Cleveland's attractions. We hope to see you again when you stay in Cleveland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was our first visit to an Aloft property. Hotel opened a few weeks back and is very close to the rapid line/railroad. Other reviews told us to ask for a room on the other side of the building. We didn't hear the trains but the whole building shakes when a big one goes by. Parking is expensive. $20 to valet or self park in the garage with no in/out options. The staff was great all around - very helpful. Rooms are smallish - only 1 chair in the King room. The light and fan are on the same switch for the bathroom/vanity area so it's either dark and silent or light and loud. Free internet in the room - nice touch. Good shower. Mini-fridge included. I would stay here again but look forward to the opening of another SPG hotel downtown next year.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room that faces away from the rapid line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricCybulski, General Manager at Aloft Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very excited to be the newest hotel in the Cleveland market and to represent the Starwood brand. We are happy you enjoyed our amenities such as the free internet. We will continue to look for ways to enhance our guest experience and fine tune our operations so all guests are satisfied even though items such as train traffic is beyond our control. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Cleveland Downtown

Address: 1111 West 10th Street, Cleveland, OH
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Cleveland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.