We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, accommodating staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of District

District
1350 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115
+(1)216-858-1000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
District is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #258 of 1,681 Restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Entrance on East 14th
Description: A new breed of the American Brasserie. District’s Imaginative Food and Wine Balances Exceptional Hospitality, Comfortable Surroundings and Extraordinary Value. Serving Contemporary American Cuisine with a Mediterranean Soul, European Influence and Local Focus. From Outstanding Wines by the Glass, Dining at the Bar with Seasonal Ingredients and Positioned in an Emerging Downtown Location, District Will Complement the Cleveland Restaurant Landscape.
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good food, accommodating staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

A group of seven called ahead then walked in early, and the staff hurried to accommodate us on a busy Saturday night. This small eatery is right in Cleveland's Theater District (near the chandelier in the middle of the street). I enjoyed my dinner of Dover sole over mushroom risotto. Those who ordered steak got very ample portions. They cheerfully allowed us to have separate checks. Often they are very busy before curtain time and less so after the area shows begin, and the dining room itself is quite noisy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro G, Owner at District, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hi CW!

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review and for the great feedback! We look forward to seeing you again. Please feel free to call me personally and reference your review before your next visit!

Thanks again.
Eric McIntyre
Proprietor
216-858-1000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    16
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Worth it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Ate with a party of 7 and from the service to the meal and beyond it was a terrific experience. Our meals were well done and not one negative word from our diverse group do resident critics. This will be our go-to place when visiting the Playhouse Theater district. Valet parking return of $7 on a $15 bill just for eating at The District is a smart perk. Well done to the staff. Cleveland needs more places like this!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro G, Owner at District, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hi Donsar!

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review and for the great feedback! We look forward to seeing you again. Please feel free to call me personally and reference your review before your next visit!

Thanks again.
Eric McIntyre
Proprietor
216-858-1000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Place for Pre-Show Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The Cleveland Broadway Diva's loved Jersey Boys and capped it off with a nice dinner at District. You just can't beat how close it is to the theaters. We dined after the matinee so we got to experience the hectic pre-show dinner rush while relaxing stress free with some very nice wine and martinis. We are a group of eleven and were sat near another large group of 10 lady play-goers, so we had quite a fun time and yes the place can get noisy. To start, the manager is Eric and he was very helpful in correcting a date error I had made on the reservation. Not an easy thing to do for a party of eleven on show day and much appreciated. He also helped arrange a champagne toast for us to celebrate a new college grad in the Group (congrats to Lynn). Tony did a great job taking care of us but the pre-show rush really slowed things up. So what's the good and the bad in the F&B? The yeast rolls were warm and delicious. We tried about 6 of the 8 appetizer selections and weren't really wowed by any. Most were quite small portions. The only one that was a shareable size was the chicken liver pate which was quite good but did not come with it's own bread to compliment the pate, you had to use the table bread. The meatballs were seriously overcooked. They were replaced but should never have been served in the first place. We tried about 7 different dinner selections. The hits were the beef Stroganoff and Beef Brisket. The Lentil Falafel was a tasty choice for vegetarians. The not so great was a lamb kebobs special that was overcooked and tough plus no veggie. We had a few nice desserts and everyone enjoyed the french press coffee. For drinks, the Cava Brut Jaume Serra Cristalino was enjoyed by all and a very good value. They offered a 3-course 3 oz wine sampling for $15 that was also a hit. Several after dinner drinks (Squirrel and Fighting Irishmen) were good but the salted rim detracted from the Dark & Dulce. I think that adding a small amount of fabric to the interior would really help to lower the noise level and improving the appetizer offerings would elevate this place up to 5 Stars! 7 thumbs up to the District!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro G, Owner at District, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hi Geomom01!

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review and for the great feedback! We look forward to seeing you again. Please feel free to call me personally and reference your review before your next visit!

Thanks again.
Eric McIntyre
Proprietor
216-858-1000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Royalton, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced and bland”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Very disappointing. Salmon had no taste and was mushy, served on a bed of pasta with no seasoning. The manager came over and asked how our meal was, but did nothing about my complaints. Told the waitress to please bring us change, she then came back to ask us if we needed change. Very inattentive service, no suggestions made. Would never go here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Came for a pre-show dinner with friends. Service was so-so and we had mixed reviews on the food. Positives: Three guests had fish and stated they liked it; table was ready we arrived. Issues: Menu was stained; waiter claimed the Kim Crawford wine came from California when it actually comes from Marlborough, New Zealand; entrees came very late and we had to get up from the table to to find out what was going on with the meals; my steak was warm at best, and had obvilosly been sitting for a while; appropriate place settings were not replaced after first course; bill for the meal was incorrect. While some of these issues are minor as a whole they were not in my opinion. Plenty of better places in town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed District also viewed

 

Been to District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.