We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel -- wish we had more time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Cleveland University Circle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Cleveland University Circle to your Saves list
Courtyard Cleveland University Circle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2021 Cornell Road, Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel -- wish we had more time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We were traveling home from a road trip and needed a place for the night. Great Hotel-- very clean and comfortable. The surrounding area looked very interesting and were sorry we only spent the night. The Starbucks was next door-- always a plus for us. The front desk staff managed to get us rooms next to each other -- the hotel was packed! The bar staff made us sandwiches and got us a drink no problems at 9pm.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear tish43,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. It is encouraging to hear you liked our hotel and friendly associates; we work hard to provide a pleasant experience. Your kind comments are appreciated and we look forward to a return visit.

Best,
Scott Starek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    36
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
29
17
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed 2 nights on July 2014 as 2 adults and 2 children group. Enjoyed every moment during our stay. Room was clean with 2 queen size beds. Mattress and pillows were comfortable. Friendly staffs, especially Salyna who checked us out. Location was perfect, very close to attractions and restaurants. Did not try the on site restaurant, it looked very packed in the morning. The only thing that I did not like was the pricey valet parking, but the perfect location, service, and cleanliness made for it. We waited for almost 20 minutes for the car on Saturday morning, seems everybody was trying to get their car as well. Very small swimming pool but there was only our party on Sunday morning, so no problem at all. Definitely will come back if I visit Cleveland

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear dwir888,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience. Our team understands and believes that our guests deserve a pleasant stay and we continue to seek new ways to impress. I will be sure to share your nice comments with our associates; they work hard to deliver superior service. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.

Best,
Scott Starek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We were delighted with the hotel. Lauren Powell at the front desk was exemplary. She gave us lots of great advice and couldn't have been more cheerful or professional.

When I used to travel for business I stayed at the ritz in Cleveland for over 100 visits. Now that I'm retired I thought I'd try a different hotel for pleasure.

The location of the hotel is excellent. The rooms were comfortable and I never had as much help from the front desk of the ritz in over 10 years of visits as I had from Lauren in one visit.

We were very pleased

Room Tip: The rooms were comfortable, the neighborhood is full of good things to do and the staff was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Phillips3675,

Our team understands and believes that our valued guests such as yourself deserve a positive memorable stay and we will continue to push daily to find new ways to WOW our guests. I will be sure to share your very nice feedback with Lauren; she works hard to ensure our guests feel at home.

Best,
Scott Starek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Overall – a good stay in an interesting location in the university hospital complex and within walking distance to the Cleveland Institute of Art and Severance Hall.. We had made an on-line reservation and requested an adjustment in floor assignment when we arrived. Our request was quickly honored and we ended up in a spacious, clean, and comfortable corner room with an ultra-modern bathroom. The valet, front desk, and bistro staff were all efficient and pleasant. The bistro options were limited but satisfying both that evening and then for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Mike_Edina,

I’m so glad you enjoyed our hotel and amenities! I appreciate your detailed review. Incredible reflections like yours give us areas to improve our guest experience. Thank you for your time in reviewing the Courtyard Cleveland University Circle and we hope to host you again soon.

Best,
Scott Starek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Courtyard Marriott's seem consistently good in terms of cleanliness, etc., but Cleveland's University Circle has the best front desk service we've ever run into. In particular, Kirk Nims and Lauren Powell were always full of excellent restaurant and activity ideas, and super fast to obtain superior car and taxi services even when up against major traffic jams such as an Indians game in progress. Amazingly courteous, professional and enthusiastically helpful - thanks! If you prefer a bathtub, or a shower with a door, plan to request that in advance. The pool is small, could be warmer, no hot tub. Convenient location - just a short walk to great restaurant and friendly ambiance of Little Italy which will also take you past the best park for children and a lovely community garden. Would definitely stay here again. Marriott execs - hold on to Lauren and Kirk - they are great ambassadors for your hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Jonna_16,

Thank you for your review and recommendation of our great hotel and wonderful associates. I’m pleased to hear that our staff’s excellence in service exceeded your expectations and made for a truly fantastic experience. We have a great team comprised of dedicated associates that genuinely care about providing each guest with an exceptional stay. I’ll be certain to pass along your compliments! We enjoyed having you as our guest, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon.

Best,
Scott Starek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights to attend a wedding in Cleveland. The location is great and you can walk to Little Italy. I had all positive interactions with their staff (bar, valet and front desk). The rooms are new with clean linens & an amazing walk in shower with ceramic tile. I had a wonderful stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Kristin H,

Our staff makes sincere hospitality their priority; I glad you enjoyed our friendly staff and location. Reflections like yours allow us to monitor and improve our guest experience. Thank you for your time in reviewing your stay, and we hope to host you again soon.

Best,
Scott Starek, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My husband and stayed here 2 nights while coming to Cleveland Clinic. We were very impressed! Nice rooms, beautiful facility, great location, and the staff was friendly and helpful! Like others have mentioned, I wish there was another parking option other than Valet, but overall we liked it and will stay again when we come back to Cleveland.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Lauren M,

I’m thrilled to learn we satisfied your travel needs. It’s wonderful to know you enjoyed our friendly associates and location. We appreciate your recommendation, but of course the highest form of praise would be your return!
Best,

Best,
Scott Starek, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Cleveland University Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Cleveland University Circle

Address: 2021 Cornell Road, Cleveland, OH 44106
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#10 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Cleveland University Circle 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Cleveland University Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Cleveland University Circle Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.