We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a pleasant hotel. Problem with room cleaning on time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Cleveland University Circle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Cleveland University Circle to your Saves list
Courtyard Cleveland University Circle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2021 Cornell Road, Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“a pleasant hotel. Problem with room cleaning on time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed again in this hotel. The facility is pleasant, room and bathroom very comfortable. Had one problem this time: I extended my stay for another day but despite repeated calls to the front desk and reassurance that my room will be cleaned this did not take place until 4 pm after I spoke again with the assistant manager. I had to leave my room at 4 pm for half an hour to wait for the cleaning. Obviously there is poor communication between the front desk and the house cleaning service that needs improvement.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCtraveller41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing a review about your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay you've come to expect from us. The little details definitely do make a trip and we regret we missed the mark. Your feedback provides us with the valuable information we need to improve communication. We appreciate and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Everything looks nice on paper and in photos as far as this hotel is concerned. But my family and I stayed had booked two connecting rooms and had planned on staying for a whole month. We checked out after 15 or so days because the level of cleanliness leaves much to be desired. The rooms were not cleaned properly, towels and sheets were not handled sanitarily, and the housekeeping simply ... sucks! The lobby and café area looks beautiful on pictures, but it's really just a glorified Starbucks, with very limited service and food. And the kitchen staff and helpers, in addition to being mostly rude and discourteous, looked like they had worn their clothes and aprons for months, without changing..... So unappetizing, if you can find the food you want on the menu, but they often never have on stock.

What a waste of good money ... and hotel name..... NEVER AGAIN!

Room Tip: There are better hotels or boutique hotels for the same price, with cleaner service and rooms, and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wowo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Wowo D,
Thank you for writing. I am very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience and sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of meeting your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to make amends when you were to return to the Cleveland area. If you’d like to discuss your stay with me in more detail, please call the hotel and reach out to me directly.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have son attending Case Western and ALWAYS stay here! Right on campus (Ok, across the street). BRAND NEW and very clean. Wonderful walk in shower and lots of room. Great staff. Can be pricy during busy CWRU events but worth it. You don't need a car to eat or see campus but you will pay the $18 valet fee.

Room Tip: Suites are BIG!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Neil519,
We appreciate your review and continued patronage at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle. It is fantastic to hear our close proximity to Case Western adds convenience to your visits and the level of service and cleanliness we provide consistently meets your expectations. Please continue to make us your preferred hotel when visiting your son at Case Western. We look forward to your next visit. Thanks again!

Kind regards,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The room was good size, the service at check in and for valet parking was good, the extra rollaway bed we requested and blankets were delivered promptly and with no fuss.

Overall the room was good for what we needed (2 adults 3 Children 14.12.&10)

We had to two "Queen Bed" though I think were really doubles a rollaway and a single seater chair that pulled out to a single bed and we still had room to move in the room without falling over things so good.

Good location to buses and rail, and some eating choices.

The only downside was the room smelled of something that we could not put out finger on, was it a left over odour for a previous guest, a cleaning agents used or just some unwanted smell we do not know but as we only used the room for sleeping and turned up the AC it was okay but really if was off putting as it really hit you as you entered the room until you got use to it

Room Tip: First time staying so only spent minimum time in room and all good, so the room as good but we did l...
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel was envornmentally conscious, with signs and practices we saw
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5_Kiwis_in_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
5_Kiwis_in_USA,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your stay. We're glad our location and accommodations were well suited for your travel needs. It's unfortunate to hear we didn't have an opportunity to intervene more proactively with the unpleasant smell you encountered in your room. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority and we hope you'll give us another opportunity to demonstrate just that. Thank you again for writing.

Kind regards,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This was one of the nicer hotel stays I have had. The desk clerks were very friendly & helpful and attended to our every need. The rooms were clean and well-kept and the maid service did a nice job each morning. One of the nicest amenities was the complementary shuttle service that took us wherever we wanted to go (within a 2-mile radius) whenever we wanted to go, and, whenever we wanted to travel outside the shuttle's service area, the front desk, happily, arranged for our transportation. Free Wi-Fi was nice, too.

Green Features: It is nice that the hotel provides an in-room opportunity to recycle.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salvatore T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Salvatore T,
We're happy to hear of your pleasant stay and appreciation of our services at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle. Our goal is to deliver the best guest experience possible, and we're glad our friendly staff, clean rooms, and complimentary shuttle played a part. We hope you'll return for another visit again soon. Thank you again for writing!

Kind regards,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed at your hotel in May 2014. It was a great experience. The hotel was clean. We liked that you have recycle bins in the rooms. The room was set up well. The fridge area with the mirror, counter, electrical outlet, and lighting works well as an additional area to get ready in the morning (so more than 1 person can get ready at a time) - well done. The room was quiet. We did not hear any street noise, or noise from within the hotel. Every staff member we dealt with was friendly and helpful. Such a refreshing change these days. The shuttle is a great service. The drivers, as well as the front desk people, gave great tips and restaurant suggestions. Mom left her umbrella in the shuttle. When the shuttle picked us up (different driver even) they had her umbrella for her. Even the housekeeping staff was friendly. We had a great experience and have been recommending this hotel. You are clearly doing something very right when every one of your staff is top notch. Thank you.

Green Features: So very pleased to have a recyle bin in the room right next to the trash can. Why doesn't every hotel do this. Great job.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Jill T,
Thank you for your review and recommendations of Courtyard Cleveland University Circle. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay, along with the level of service provided by our friendly staff. I look forward to sharing your comments with our team and thank you again for writing a review. We hope you’ll return for another visit again soon.

Kind regards,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

For those familiar with the brand, you will not be disappointed with this location. I was given an exceptionally nice room, looks brand new, as did the rest of the facilities. The location is excellent for hospital and university access. It is near many nice places to eat including little Italy. Very friendly staff makes for an overall great experience. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank zpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Zpops,
Thank you for writing a review and sharing your experience at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle. It’s great to know you enjoyed your stay and would return for another visit in the future. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you again.

Kind regards,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.3 mi away
Glidden House
Glidden House
#6 of 37 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
4.5 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Cleveland University Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Cleveland University Circle

Address: 2021 Cornell Road, Cleveland, OH 44106
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#14 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Cleveland University Circle 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Cleveland University Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Cleveland University Circle Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing