We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a pleasant stay despite some irritating issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Cleveland University Circle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Cleveland University Circle to your Saves list
Courtyard Cleveland University Circle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2021 Cornell Road, Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“a pleasant stay despite some irritating issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The hotel is new and has comfortable, and has clean and pleasant rooms. It is close to University hospital and half a mile from the regional train station. Air-condition system is effective and not noisy. Staff is friendly and helpful.
Problems I encountered include:
Even though I asked for a quite room – I was give a room facing the main street which was noisy.
The TV set was difficult to operate especially changing the stations which was slow and took sometimes 10 seconds.
There was no laundry bag in the room.
The refrigerator in my room was not cleaned and contained food items from a previous guest.
The water in the shower was difficult to regulate because the spigot was far away from the shower head and the water temperature changed only after 8-10 seconds.
There was no tea bags in the room ( I do not drink tea) and when I requested them I was told they are not provided.
The hotel has a restaurant and serves sandwiches and Starbuck drinks. However, I was refused a refill of my coffee (“ It is not our policy to server refills” according to the restaurant manger) .
I wrote similar input in Marriott costumer service site, was promised a response from the manger but did not get one.

Room Tip: Chose a room facing west (not toward the front)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
DCtraveller41,
Thank you for writing a review and sharing comments on your comfortable stay, as well as opportunities for improvement. I appreciate your honest assessment and apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay. Please be assured that we have addressed these issues with our staff in an effort to better our hotel and overall guest experience. We're pleased to know our convenient location, clean accommodations and friendly staff met your satisfaction otherwise. We do hope you will return to see our improvements. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    39
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
20
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Newer hotel, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are a good size and very clean. Definitely a place I would stay again when I am back in the area. It only has valet parking at $20 per night, but for the area that is not bad.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
jmrsports,
We appreciate your review and visit with us at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle. We're happy to have had you as our guest and we're glad our friendly service and clean accommodations perfectly suited your travel needs. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for your great review.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Good location to Case and Cleveland clinic. Wonderful complimentary shuttle to take you to clinics, restaurants. Don't eat there, service is too slow. There is a Starbucks across the street for breakfast and great restaurants in nearby Little Italy. The hotel could use microwaves in the room and a functional fireplace as well.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
docmom3460,
We always appreciate hearing from our guests, especially in identifying ways we can improve our guest experience. I assure you that your comments have been addressed with our team and additional steps will be taken to correct the issues you encountered with service. We're glad you found our location and complimentary shuttle to meet your satisfaction. We hope to welcome you back as our guest again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two days while visiting CWRU. The hotel is now on Campus (area used to be just outside the hospital) and close to a new area, the uptown. The rooms were extremely nice and clean. The hotel has a shuttle that provides a free service within the University Circle, all the way to the Rapid stations, to the museum, to Case or the Cleveland Clinic. There are a couple of amazing restaurants nearby. The hotel appears to be new. I arrived around 1:00 pm. The staff was ok but not friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Harmanani,
Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent experience at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while visiting CWRU and we're glad our location and complimentary shuttle service added convenience to your stay. Your comments have been shared with our team so we can do a better job of providing the exceptional service you've come to expect from us. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again in the near future. Thank again for your review.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at the Courtyard at University Circle last week to visit Case Western. The hotel seems recently renovated and the location was excellent. We arrived late at night, the check in was friendly, but the first thing I noticed was how dirty the carpeted floors were. The hotel was full of hockey team families and we were not given the rollaway bed that we had asked for weeks earlier. We ended up getting the rollaway bed the next night, but one of our teenage sons had to sleep on sofa cushions the first night. The next morning, we waited a long time for our breakfast. Everyone in the restaurant was very friendly, but it seemed like they were totally unprepared for such a large crowd of people. The valet parkers were also very slow due to the high volume. We enjoyed the location and comfortable (although very small) room, but it seemed that the service could have been better and the hotel cleaner (the floors stayed dirty throughout our stay).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Marla S,
We value your feedback and thank you for writing a review. It's unfortunate to hear that we did not provide the exceptional service that you've come to expect from us. I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered as a result. Your comments provide many opportunities for improving our property and overall guest experience.

We're pleased to know you enjoyed a comfortable stay otherwise and found our location well suited for your travel needs. We hope you'll give us another opportunity to provide a more positive experience in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

This is a relatively new hotel with excellent amenities and very friendly, helpful staff. There's a nice lounge/restaurant area with good options for breakfast and dinner, plus a Starbucks next door and several other restaurants within walking distance. They also offer a nice shuttle service to the museum and other spots within a 2-3 mile radius. Overall a wonderful place to stay at a reasonable price.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
jewelross,
Thank you for your complimentary feedback from your stay with us at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle. We're pleased to hear that our friendly staff and excellent amenities made for such a wonderful stay. It's great to know you had an opportunity to explore the area and discover the many dining options that our location has to offer. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again in the future. Thank you again for your great review.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is a great property! Nice, new, smart looking property. Location worked out well for us. My wife loved the room. Located near many restaurants and museums. The only drawback is the mandatory valet parking for overnight stays. Seeing that there is not an option when parking they should include it in the room rate.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
elconquistador765,
Thank you for writing a review from your visit to Courtyard Cleveland University Circle. Your feedback is important to us as guest satisfaction is our highest priority. We're thrilled to hear you and your wife enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Cleveland University Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Cleveland University Circle

Address: 2021 Cornell Road, Cleveland, OH 44106
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#11 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Cleveland University Circle 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Cleveland University Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Cleveland University Circle Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.