We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brand new hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Cleveland University Circle

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Cleveland University Circle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Cleveland University Circle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2021 Cornell Road, Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #10 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“brand new hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Hotel is brand new and as one might expect it is in pristine shape. Rooms are eco friendly and the temperature control in the room works very well. had breakfast one morning, juice, yogurt, oatmeal all very good. if you have a car the parking options are not great. nothing free that is close by, valet parking is $18 per day which is rather high i think. The views out the windows can vary wideky fron a nice view of Case Western Reserve University to a view of patients in hospital rooms. You should ask what the view out your window is if you care. mitchells ice cream is a stones throw from the hotel. plenty of places for lunch also very close by

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
MrRichard2010,
Thank you very much for writing a review! I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We take a lot of care into our hotel and I am glad you found it enjoyable. We look forward to see you again when you are in the area!

Thanks again,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    26
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
13
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great hotel. We arrived late one evening and was pleasantly greeted by everyone including the valet parking attendant and the front desk clerk. The room was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated, the beds were so very comfortable, the hotel was quiet, and the shower in the room was really nice. Plenty of pillows and towels in the room when we arrived. Great location, but unable to do much exploring due to a quick trip for a doctor visit at Cleveland Clinic. Loved how close of a drive it was to the clinic. Great location near a university and walking distance to restaurants and Starbucks. Can't wait to go back and explore the area and enjoy all the amenities of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Love4Life2,
We appreciate your review and complimentary feedback on your stay with us at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle. It’s great to hear you enjoyed a comfortable stay and found our friendly service and great location to meet your expectations. We look forward to your next visit, and we hope you’ll have more time to explore all that our hotel and surrounding area has to offer. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel is new, staff is wonderful (front desk, valet and housekeeping and beds are comfy. Loved the bathroom and the walk-in shower. Although we didn't really use the TV, I was impressed with how many channel options were available (in sharp contrast to some other hotels we've stayed in recently). There are many fast-casual restaurants nearby and Little Italy is a short walk. Great value for the money.

There are some drawbacks unfortunately. The only parking option is valet so an added expense plus you can't access your vehicle unless you have it brought around so we lugged everything into the hotel (umbrella, etc.) in case we might need items during our stay vs. leaving things in the car and grabbing if needed.

Despite the newness of the hotel, the AC system was a huge disappointment - noisy and ineffective in staying cool. This was an issue with sleeping since the duvets are TOO heavy and hot (and blankets aren't available in the room).

Finally, there is a beautiful outside lounge area with a fire pit. A great amenity unless it attracts noisy guests in the wee hours of the morning (complete with a barking dog?). We were awakened around 2:30 a.m. due to the noise and we were on the 8th floor. At 3:15 a.m., I finally called down to the front desk. So, a crappy night for sleeping.

The hotel is conveniently located, nice and new and very comfortable however the parking, AC and potential nighttime noise will be a consideration the next time we are in Cleveland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
traveltwins95,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It will be my pleasure to share your kind comments about our staff during our next team meeting. They take great pride in providing excellent service and it is nice to be recognized for their hard work. I regret you were inconvenienced with the noise and the AC unit in your room. I can assure you I will work with my management team and finding a solution as soon as possible. I hope you choose our convenient location when traveling to the area again - we would love to see you again!
Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Brand new hotel excellently located a very short walk from Severance Hall, the Museum of Art and all of the wonderful cultural attractions, of Cleveland. We were in Cleveland for a Cleveland Orchestra concert and Marilyn and I walked to everything we wanted to do. A short walk to the hall, a short walk to good food, and all on the beautiful park that surrounds the Museum of Art. It hotel is on the Case-Western Reserve Campus, and across the street from University Hospital. This area needed another hotel, and I am glad we found it. The hotel is very clean, very modern in design. Also, next door to MOCA, but that is a different review. But, below average breakfast. I will stay here again, the next time I am in Cleveland, but I will have breakfast somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dave-Marilyn-15301,
Thank you for sharing feedback on your stay with us at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle. We hope you had a wonderful time at the Cleveland Orchestra concert, and we’re happy to have provided a nice stay and convenient location for your travels. We appreciate your feedback on opportunities for improvement, and we look forward to welcoming you back as our guest on your next visit to Cleveland. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We decided to stay here instead of paying top dollar for a hotel in the downtown area. This place was perfect. It was close to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Little Italy was in walking distance. Instead of the typical breakfast that you have at other hotels, they offer you breakfast at the Bistro. The Bistro also serves cocktails, appetizers, etc. in the evening. Their food was excellent. As far as the hotel, very clean, exceptional staff. Only drawback was that you had to use valet parking. But the valet service was quick. They really hustled to get you in and out quickly. Overall it was a great stay. We would definitely stay here if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
KarenM1_10,
Thank you for your complimentary feedback on your experience at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle. We’re pleased to hear our hotel perfectly suited your needs, and we’re glad you enjoyed a great stay. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Just stayed at this newer hotel. The location is great if you're going to Case Western or University hospitals; the museums and symphony are also very close and within walking distance. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. There is a shuttle that will take you for free within a 3 mile radius. This is very helpful if you are going to the Cleveland Clinic, which it seems many people do. The drop-off/pick-up area is a little tight, but we didn't have any problems, and the car Valet worked very well (but it does cost extra). Service was friendly and generally efficient, but a bit understaffed at the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
GeneDoc57,
We’re happy to hear from you, and we’re glad our great location, clean accommodations, and friendly service made for a comfortable stay. Please plan to visit us again soon at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Just completed a stay at the hotel and very impressed. We arrived Thursday afternoon quick and easy check in and valet parking went smoothly. Rate $18 per night. Just be aware that when you turn onto Cornell the hotel drive is right behind Starbucks. Room 516 was wonderful, clean, quiet. Has the connecting room ability, small mini refrigerator, a mirror above this actually had a light. Great for doing make up if bathroom occupied. Desk/closet/TV stand very nice. View is of the parking garage and a very nice alley. Bathroom was large and had a walk in shower with a taller toilet great for poor mobility persons.

Market, bistro/bar, small workout room and pool area. Coin laundry looked clean and well maintained. Favorite thing next to lighted mirror was the Patio and fire pit area. Great local to sip an iced coffee and read a book.

Close to several restaurants, 3 blocks from case university Wolstein Building.
4.4 Miles from 4th Street live, Quicken arena and The Chocolate Bar.

Front desk staff very pleasant and helpful. Valet quick and helpful also.

Will definitely recommend this hotel to friends traveling in area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Meh7976,

We’re happy to hear from you and glad you enjoyed your stay at our new Courtyard Cleveland University Circle hotel. It’s wonderful to receive your complimentary feedback on our clean, comfortable and well-appointed accommodations, as well as our friendly staff. I am pleased you enjoyed all of the amenities our property has to offer. We appreciate your high recommendations of our great hotel to all our new travelers. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Scott Starek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Cleveland University Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Cleveland University Circle

Address: 2021 Cornell Road, Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#11 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Cleveland University Circle 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Cleveland University Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Cleveland University Circle Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.