We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Cleveland University Circle

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Cleveland University Circle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Cleveland University Circle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2021 Cornell Road, Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent location and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We decided to stay here instead of paying top dollar for a hotel in the downtown area. This place was perfect. It was close to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Little Italy was in walking distance. Instead of the typical breakfast that you have at other hotels, they offer you breakfast at the Bistro. The Bistro also serves cocktails, appetizers, etc. in the evening. Their food was excellent. As far as the hotel, very clean, exceptional staff. Only drawback was that you had to use valet parking. But the valet service was quick. They really hustled to get you in and out quickly. Overall it was a great stay. We would definitely stay here if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
KarenM1_10,
Thank you for your complimentary feedback on your experience at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle. We’re pleased to hear our hotel perfectly suited your needs, and we’re glad you enjoyed a great stay. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    32
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
27
16
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Just stayed at this newer hotel. The location is great if you're going to Case Western or University hospitals; the museums and symphony are also very close and within walking distance. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. There is a shuttle that will take you for free within a 3 mile radius. This is very helpful if you are going to the Cleveland Clinic, which it seems many people do. The drop-off/pick-up area is a little tight, but we didn't have any problems, and the car Valet worked very well (but it does cost extra). Service was friendly and generally efficient, but a bit understaffed at the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
GeneDoc57,
We’re happy to hear from you, and we’re glad our great location, clean accommodations, and friendly service made for a comfortable stay. Please plan to visit us again soon at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Just completed a stay at the hotel and very impressed. We arrived Thursday afternoon quick and easy check in and valet parking went smoothly. Rate $18 per night. Just be aware that when you turn onto Cornell the hotel drive is right behind Starbucks. Room 516 was wonderful, clean, quiet. Has the connecting room ability, small mini refrigerator, a mirror above this actually had a light. Great for doing make up if bathroom occupied. Desk/closet/TV stand very nice. View is of the parking garage and a very nice alley. Bathroom was large and had a walk in shower with a taller toilet great for poor mobility persons.

Market, bistro/bar, small workout room and pool area. Coin laundry looked clean and well maintained. Favorite thing next to lighted mirror was the Patio and fire pit area. Great local to sip an iced coffee and read a book.

Close to several restaurants, 3 blocks from case university Wolstein Building.
4.4 Miles from 4th Street live, Quicken arena and The Chocolate Bar.

Front desk staff very pleasant and helpful. Valet quick and helpful also.

Will definitely recommend this hotel to friends traveling in area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Meh7976,

We’re happy to hear from you and glad you enjoyed your stay at our new Courtyard Cleveland University Circle hotel. It’s wonderful to receive your complimentary feedback on our clean, comfortable and well-appointed accommodations, as well as our friendly staff. I am pleased you enjoyed all of the amenities our property has to offer. We appreciate your high recommendations of our great hotel to all our new travelers. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Scott Starek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearwater
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is a little expensive, but the service was excellent and the room was great. It's walking distance to the museums and colleges in University Circle. The location really made it perfect for me. And, the staff were all very nice and helpful. There's an $18/day valet fee for parking your car and unfortunately, there's not another option.
We had the breakfast included in our room rate, which was a good deal. They seem to have a lot breakfast options, too.
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
lynn t,
Thank you for sharing feedback on your experience at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle. We’re pleased to hear our central location perfectly suited your travels, and our staff provided excellent service throughout your stay. We enjoyed having you as our guest, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

While attending a wedding in Cleveland, we stayed at the Marriott Courtyard in University Circle. It is very near Case Western and multiple hospitals. You can conveniently walk to many attractions including museums and music. The building is new so it was disappointing to see the rooms and public areas already starting to show some wear. Our room was one of their larger ones but it had only a shower and no bathtub. The only parking is via valet with the drop off and pick up area too small to handle the traffic flow. If you can do without a car and walk to your destination, the location can't be improved. There are many places to eat nearby so you can forego the onsite, ordinary, bistro.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
CarpeNox,
Thank you for choosing Courtyard Cleveland University Circle while attending a wedding. Your feedback is important to us on both positive and opportunities for improving our guest experience. We’re sorry for the areas we fell short in exceeding your expectations. We value you as our guest, and we do hope you’ll consider staying with us again. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We arrived later than expected to catch the Lion King show in Playhouse Theatre that evening. Staff was very helpful to provide us with a quick check in so that we can catch our show on time. We had a corner room which was quite and clean. The walk in shower was impressive but the water did splash out easily if it was turned too high. The one night stay was awesome and we were able to walk around the neighbourhood - Severance Hall; Little Italy, etc. in the morning prior to check out. We did want to have a swim in the morning but the pool seemed too small. The exercise room was on the second floor and seemed isolated from the rest of the hotel hub. The breakfast choices seemed limited and it was quite expensive considering the choices. But there are other options next to the hotel - e.g. Starbucks; Chopsticks; Subway. Also, valet parking was $18/day - quite steep. Perhaps, it is located in an area where parking fee is about the same i.e. University Circle in the hub of concert halls; art galleries; hospitals; universities. Overall, our stay was pleasant with the new constructed hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
CookingMama2013,
Thank you for your great review of our hotel. It’s wonderful to hear that you had a pleasant stay and found our staff to be quick and efficient during check-in so you could catch the Lion King show in time. We’re glad you had an opportunity to explore the area and all the variety of entertainment and dining options offered. We do hope you’ll visit us again the next time you travel to Cleveland. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with family overnight. Brand new hotel, great rooms, spacious, very comfortable. The location of the hotel is very convenient to some of the best of what Cleveland has to offer - walking distance to Case Campus, Severance Hall, L'Albatross restaurant, Cleveland Institute of Music, Cleveland Museum of Art and, of course, Little Italy. As stated before by other reviewers, the only downside was the lack of parking options and, in a way, I felt pretty much coerced to use the valet system - when I least expected, the car key was tagged with minimal explanation and before I knew I was being charged the extra $18 per day. Other than that surprise, great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Pedro C,
Thank you for sharing your complimentary feedback on your stay with us at Courtyard Cleveland University Circle. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel’s location both convenient and well suited for your travels. We appreciate your feedback of opportunities for improving our property and overall guest experience. We’re happy to have had you as our guest, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Scott Starek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Cleveland University Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Cleveland University Circle

Address: 2021 Cornell Road, Cleveland, OH 44106
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#10 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Cleveland University Circle 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Cleveland University Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Cleveland University Circle Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Cleveland University Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.