We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Drinks, Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Houlihan's

Houlihan's
230 West Huron Road, Ste 10006, Cleveland, OH 44113-1458
216-830-9090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #215 of 1,562 Restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Forget 'casual dining.' That's an industry term so out of touch with how consumers eat and drink today. For premium quality and style; fare that's at times familiar and other times adventurous and a laid-back modern setting, Houlihan's is a true original.
Sandusky, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Food and Drinks, Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I really liked this place. I was in the restaurant biz for a while, cooked, cleaned, bartended, served. The atmosphere was typical bar grille, the service was great, but the best part was what one should be most concerned about in a restaurant, the food and drink. Since the portions at most restaurants are so big my wife and I split the Shepard's Pie it was fantastic. We also got a pitcher of Long Island Ice Tea Georgia Peach flavor. I remember the price was reallly good and it was made well as in it wasn't weak. I would definitely recommend this restuarant to the average joe and thier family

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Rude Hostess”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I have been here several times in the past for our anniversary. This year we decided to take five other family members because the food and service is always good. EXCEPT FOR THIS TIME.
We gave the hostess our name and the number of people in our party and she told us there was a forty five minute wait, which is fine. What wasnt fine is the fact that we came back thirty minutes later and she said we had lost our place because we werent there when she called our name fifteen minutes earlier.
So my niece went back in to put our names down again, and again we were told there was a 45 minute wait.
At this point I went in and gave a different last name but with the same amount in our group and was told there was a fifteen minute wait, and was seated in less then ten minutes.
As we walked by the hostess I asked to see the manager about the situation and he asked her what was going on and she replied "I wasnt going to seat them at all " Is that the way a business is supposed to be ran?
After we got seated everything was fine, food was good, service was great, and we ended up having a good time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great small bites menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We ordered grilled salmon, petite filet and bbq ribs. Portions were plentiful and the server was pleasant.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton, ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Waitstaff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Typical chain restaurant. Wasn't busy when I was there but the food was fresh, hot, and delicious. I had the stuffed chicken breast and the trio mini martinis. Excellent! What I really liked was our waitress. She was a hoot and made the experience so much more fun. I love waitstaff who interact and joke with you. This was my second time here and will go back when in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Food and service were good; convenient location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I had dinner here while on a recent business trip. The restaurant is located in the Tower Center shopping mall, next to the Renaissance Hotel, making it very convenient for my short stay. This is a chain restaurant, and the menu is predictable, but the food was good. I had a spinach salad and everything was fresh. The food was served promptly. The waiter did a good job of checking back to make sure that I didn't need anything and i never had to wait for him to come around. The restaurant wasn't terribly busy since I had dinner around 7:30pm, so this may not always be the case with the service. Overall, i would recommend this place to others staying in the area.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houlihan's also viewed

 

Been to Houlihan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houlihan's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.