We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overall dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of fire

fire
13220 Shaker Square, Cleveland, OH 44120-2315
(216) 921-3473
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
fire is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 1,562 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: North Moreland
Transit: Shaker Square
Hartford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great overall dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I was in town with a coworker and this restaurant was recommended by our client. We went on a Tuesday night and the place about 3/4 full, which to me is a good sign since this can be a slower night for a restaurant, The food was good. I started with the ceasar salad which comes with 6 spoons of chopped add-ons (egg, salmon, bacon, capers). I thought the dressing was a little mild for the salad, but I like my ceasar with the anchovies, so maybe I expect a stronger flavor. For my main course I had the Tandor pork chop and this was fantastic. Desert was the ricotta cheesecake which was not nearly as sweet as most others and had a distinct and refreshing cheese flavor. They also had a nice selection of wines by the glass. My co-worker is vegetarian and she had the veggie option on the menu. She said is was very good (and cleaned her plate).

The setting is modern with a nice energy and the service was efficient, friendly, and professional. We will be back the next time we are in town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    19
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clevelan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Nice atmosphere, great food. My crispy duck confit was superb! Fire grilled items smelled good - can't wait to come back and try them!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The wife and I went here on the advice of a friend. Wow, it was fantastic. I had the Mongolian BBQ crepes which was an adventurous pick for me and they were outstanding. The crepes melded a couple of flavors and were just exquisite. The place was packed on a Sunday morning about 11:30 for brunch so I would recommend a reservation. The cinnamon rolls are a big hit as well. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaker heights
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“delicious, sustainable seafood, high-quality local ingredients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Fire is a unique and delicious, upscale, Shaker Square favorite. Their salads and vegetables usually contain local items grown from farms near Cleveland. The service is friendly and there's ample staffing to take care of the diners. The atmosphere is modern yet romantic with a large open dining room and kitchen, a banquette, and bar tucked into the corner. The chef, Doug Katz, follows sustainable seafood practices and the menu changes seasonally. The food is well-prepared and interesting without being overly complex. You can get delicious mussels, a hamburger, or a variety of fish, meats, and baked items from their grill, clay and tandoori ovens. My wife and I love coming to Fire on a date night. Save a little room for the warm oatmeal chocolate chip cookies that come with your check.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Its OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Noit my favorite place, I think the fried chicken is marinated, which to me is just not right to do to fried chicken. It comes with waffles, which again is just not right. Many people love it however, just be warned if your a purist, you may be put off.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed fire also viewed

 

Been to fire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage fire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.