We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and plentiful European cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frank Sterle's Slovenian Country House

Frank Sterle's Slovenian Country House
1401 E 55th St, Cleveland, OH 44103-1303
216-881-4181
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #247 of 1,681 Restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, European, Eastern European, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Good and plentiful European cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We sought out the Slovenian House after reading about it online. The place was about what we expected...huge, full of old-style decorations and staff, lots of older people among the clientele, and a polka band. The portions were immense, which was also not a surprise, but the food was very tasty and we enjoyed our meal. The staff was very friendly and the band was quite good too. We enjoyed watching some of the old-timers dance. No real surprises here, but worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    24
    8
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Really sad whats happened here!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Sterles changed owners and Im really sad to say I will never be going back again. My family, friends and myself have given it a shot a few times and its just bad. The food is completely different, the paprikash is not what it was and the rest of it is just stupid. I can tell the cooks are not the same and the ingredients are all changed. I understand updating to attract a younger crowd but man they screwed up a good thing. Ive been going there my entire life!
I've found a new place for our schnitzel and all our customer lunches, we bounce around between some other classic spots. Our local customers that also went to Sterles on a regular basis don't like it anymore either, sad.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Room for improvement in value and taste”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have been to Sterle's in the past and really enjoyed the experience, and decided to see what the establishment was like under new ownership. I was aware that some of the more recent reviews were critical of some aspects of service/value/cost. Four of us went to dine at 4PM on a Friday and were seated promptly (we were the only patrons in the restaurant).

Service: Prompt, friendly and attentive, and was the only bright point of the experience.

Menu: Limited to several entree items ranging from $15 to $20, which I considered expensive from the descriptions.

Food: We ordered three chicken paprikash/spaetzles and one cod/potato pancake/slaw. The paprikash was presented in a deep dish of spaetzles covered with paprikash, which lacked visual appeal and flavor - not worth the price. The cod/potato pancake was average but a bit greasy, also not worth the price. Apple strudel was given a try, judged average in taste, but at $5 was not worth the cost.

Value: Poor. Better food, value and experience can be had at other establishments, and sad to say - we do not plan to return.

Overall: While the restaurant was clean and service was above average, the food and value are not up to par (understand we did not stay for the band/music/dancing if any that was scheduled for friday night). My impression was the ownership was more intent on highlighting the bar capability and menue at the expense of the food menu. I have seen this trend before and it is sad to see such a Cleveland landmark go through this.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“only so-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

New owners had better take a look at the food and the service. Service was poor to below average. Very slow and not attentive to the customers. Schnitzel was good. Sausage was ice cold and the sauerkraut was luke warm. Paprikash was only okay and also luke warm. People at the register were talking about how the soup had also been disappointing and about the service. One lady said she had been coming there for decades qnd she said she was disappointed. Sausage is definitely not Slonvenian sausage. Go to Raddells and see the real deal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Very Good Eastern European Comfort Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a most enjoyable lunch at Sterle's Country House Restaurant. The Eastern European comfort food is very good. We both had their Weiner Schnitzel entree with great chicken soup. Portions were generous.
The space is minimalist basic and very clean. It is nice to see that the new owner renovated the restaurant.
Weekday luncheon pricing is extremely attractive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank Sterle's Slovenian Country House also viewed

 

Been to Frank Sterle's Slovenian Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frank Sterle's Slovenian Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.