We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at a good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Roman Gardens

Trattoria Roman Gardens
12207 Mayfield Rd, Cleveland, OH 44106-1925
216-421-2700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #149 of 1,684 Restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to Little Italy. We had a delicious dinner on a Monday night. The house salad was generous and the mussels appetizer had a great flavor. We ordered the three cheese spinach ravioli and a pizza - both were plenty to eat. We were so stuffed that we went for a walk and came back for dessert (chocolate mousse cake) on the patio. Prices are very reasonable and service was friendly. Small parking lot in back is a plus since parking is tight in Little Italy.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    45
    17
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We ate here before visiting Lakeview Cemetery and it was just splendid. The veal parmagiana was great, thin breading and great sauce. The white pizza is wonderful, best we've had in years and the chicken picata was every bit as good as the rest of the meal. I would return to try other dishes. Great homemade Italian food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The helpful concierge (James) at the Glidden House suggested this restaurant (among several) in Murray Hill, aka Little Italy, and we ended up here. Walking in through the back door, my first impression was uncertainty - the place seemed loud and busy and its decor did nothing to inspire confidence.

And yet - this was truly an exceptional dinner. We were a family dinner party of six and we all loved our meals. In fact, we are Boston area folks who have dined at many North End restaurants (Boston's famous Italian section) and we all agreed that our food at Trattoria Roman Gardens bested anything we've had in Boston.

Don't go for the decor, or for a quiet, romantic dinner. But DO go if you want fantastic Italian food without frills and pretension. Oh, and the service was great too.

Noted dish - the absolute BEST eggplant parmesan that any of us had ever eaten. If you go, someone MUST order this entree, it's fantastic.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

After spending the day in Cleveland, sightseeing etc, we decided to go to Little Italy to experience the wonderful Italian experience that everyone else raves about. We parked in a little parking lot down the street for $3.00 and walked up the street with the intention of going to Mama Santo's but there was a wait of over an hour. So, we decided to try Trattoria's. There was a short wait (ten minutes) and the place was packed (5PM on a Sat night). We were seated at a little table right at the stairs & in front of the servers station to the bar. I was told I could put my purse, sunglasses, hat etc on a table that had jars of spaghetti sauce for sale. The tables were very close together and the wait staff seemed like they had a hard time getting around the chairs. I was made to feel like we sitting were in the server's way. Our waitress wasn't very friendly- almost giving us the impression that we were bothering her. We got our wine and ordered our food, the waitress brought over some bread. My date had ordered a side salad which was not included in our meal and he was about half way thru when our dinner came. He had veal marsala which he said was 'just ok' and I had the chicken parm. I was expecting breaded chicken like the menu said, and I think it had a breading on it of some kind, but wasn't melt in your mouth delicious like I was expecting. To be honest, Olive Garden's chicken parm wins over this hands down! Our waitress never came back to see how we were doing and we had to flag someone over to try to get our check. We were not going to box our leftovers because we didn't have a fridge at our hotel- but I wouldn't have wanted to box my meal anyway. A different waiter brought our bill and our wine wasn't on the tab, so we told the waiter that our bill needed to be fixed and he rolled his eyes, brought our tab to our original server and my date could see him cussing out our waitress at the computer. We got the correct bill & were ready to pay & had to flag another server down to pay. We were never offered dessert (do they even serve it?). Overall, the restaurant was loud, really loud, and they made us feel rushed to turn over tables, but yet couldn't get anyone's attention when it came time to pay. Overall experience= MEH.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Maybe they were just having a bad day”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I saw all the great reviews so I thought we would give it a try. We did the tour of the four museums that were free on Saturday thanks to the Cleveland Foundation. Little Italy is just a short drive away. Found Trattoria which had off street parking and pulled in - which was the best part of this dining experience. It was early evening and not very busy. Staff seemed to be standing around looking for someone to serve so I figure that service shouldn't be a problem. The hostess was friendly and we were able to get the booth we requested. The waitress came over and got our drink order but she didn't seem too happy about it. Now I don't need Pharrell Williams to sing me the "Happy" song but it would be good to see a smile out of a waitress every once in awhile. That didn't happen. But maybe she was just having a bad day. We ordered what I consider Italian staples - Lasagna and Chicken Parmesan. Wait time to get are food was normal. The Lasagna was vegetarian it was just OK. The menu said the Chicken Parmesan had a thin bread coating. I think Chick-fil-a might have a thinner bread coating. We asked for more bread - twice. There were only 10 people in the restaurant but it was still loud - how can that be? But maybe they were just having a bad day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Roman Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Roman Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Roman Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.