We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York Deli in Cleveland OH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slyman's Deli

Slyman's Deli
3106 Saint Clair Ave NE, Cleveland, OH 44114-4007
(216) 621-3760
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1,674 Restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Seville, Ohio
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“New York Deli in Cleveland OH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The sandwiches are huge. Corned Beef so tender it will melt in your mouth. Chicken salad bursting with flavor. Menu has numerous offerings. As it is over a 2 hour drive for me; usually eat sandwiches there; then pounds of items to bring home. Take out is very well packed, all items brought home are fresh and tasty. Loafs of bread are above normal size.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    54
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Corned Beef EVER !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Slyman's Deli serves wonderful food at a good price. The portions are generous. The Corned Beef is the best ever but if you are planning on a St. Patty's Day feast, call ahead to reserve a sandwich or two. They sell out every year.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A fantastic corned beef sandwich with a Hugh pickle to match. What more is there to say! You will love it. Come hungry!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good delicatessen sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We used trip advisor to find this place after our visit to the A CHRISTMAS STORY house. Based on the reviews, we all went with the corned beef. Superb. I was going to order pastrami, but after I saw the size of the sandwiches I wound up splitting one with another member of our group. We were both stuffed. The price range is misleading. All of the sandwiches are from $10 to around $15 plus a drink & tip, you're at $20 easy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Best corned beef on the planet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Don' miss this place on 31 st and St. Clair. It is the best food and a great experience all around.
Be prepared to wait!,,,

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slyman's Deli also viewed

 

Been to Slyman's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slyman's Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.