We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good delicatessen sandwiches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Slyman's Deli

Slyman's Deli
3106 Saint Clair Ave NE, Cleveland, OH 44114-4007
(216) 621-3760
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1,675 Restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good delicatessen sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We used trip advisor to find this place after our visit to the A CHRISTMAS STORY house. Based on the reviews, we all went with the corned beef. Superb. I was going to order pastrami, but after I saw the size of the sandwiches I wound up splitting one with another member of our group. We were both stuffed. The price range is misleading. All of the sandwiches are from $10 to around $15 plus a drink & tip, you're at $20 easy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    185
    51
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Best corned beef on the planet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Don' miss this place on 31 st and St. Clair. It is the best food and a great experience all around.
Be prepared to wait!,,,

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Best for Corned Beef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A Cleveland landmark - if you are in the area there is no better place to go for Corned Beef than Slyman's Deli. They have been in business for many, many years and one taste of their corned beef will tell you why. Excellent food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Prepare to wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We got there at lunch time...so we waited for a bit. Very small place. The tourists sit, the locals get it to go. Large portions. My 14 year old son and I shared a BBQ sandwich and had plenty. The décor is outdated and no one cares, it's about the food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Corned Beef Around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We used to live in the area so when we come back to visit we always make this a must stop trip.

Its nice that the same family still greets you and runs the place after all of these years. The food is very good and they give you lots of it.

Good quality at a fair price. We recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slyman's Deli also viewed

 
Cleveland, OH
 

Been to Slyman's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slyman's Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.