We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST Corned Beef Sandwich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slyman's Deli

Slyman's Deli
3106 Saint Clair Ave NE, Cleveland, OH 44114-4007
(216) 621-3760
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1,668 restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“THE BEST Corned Beef Sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

To Me, Slyman's is synomous with corned beef! Why go anywhere else when you get the whole experience here. The sandwich is bountiful with mounds of meat that you have to share your sandwich. The rye bread is fresh and even has old fashioned flavor. The whipped cream of this place is the atmosphere - you have to wait in line, watch the crazed staff and feel like you earned your place to walk out the door. Truly, some of my favorite lunches were getting that sandwich to go. They used to have an adorable man at the counter who was always a bonus. I guess it's time for me to go back and see if he's still there to smile back at me. It's not just corned beef when you go to Slyman's!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    174
    48
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Biggest and best corned beef sandwich...ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

$10 for a sandwich seems pricey, huh? Well, if you can get two or three meals out of it, then it's not so bad! The breakfasts are awesome too! I took my VP there for a business breakfast and she was eating the corned beef from my plate.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Open just Mon-Fri, for the best Corned beef in world, sorry NY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have been to NYC's best corned beef places, and they are fine, but Slyman's Deli beats them all. Cleveland - also with Jack's and Joe's Deli - has to have the finest quality corned beef sandwiches in the USA! Only open Monday through Friday around lunch time, in an off beat area but worth it. Get there early.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Corned Beef!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My sister and I drove down from Findlay, Oh, specifically to try out the corned beef sandwich (which I have not had a good one since I left Chicago). WE WERE NOT DISAPPOINTED! Though we had to stand in line outside in the cold (with a few locals and tourists who made great conversation!), the wait wasn't bad at all, (about 15 minutes max, and this was about an hour before closing) and the sandwich was delicious! For $12, we got the regular corned beef, and my sister had an order of fries. Once we ate as much as we could (and took the rest with us), I heard about the 'ends' (I think it was called) for $7.00, which was a big container of shredded corned beef, perfect for corned beef hash. I also took a half pound of sliced corned beef for later (hey, it WAS St Patrick's Day weekend), and the server threw in a few slices of rye bread for free. It was all worth it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not just for St. Patty's Day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

A Cleveland experience. Infamously huge corned beef sandwiches. Patronized by a diverse crowd who all know good food when they eat it.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slyman's Deli also viewed

 
Cleveland, OH
 

Been to Slyman's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slyman's Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.