We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Ruben like no other!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slyman's Deli

Slyman's Deli
3106 Saint Clair Ave NE, Cleveland, OH 44114-4007
(216) 621-3760
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,563 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Ruben like no other!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We came from Key West, Fl to visit family and this was on the must go to list. The Ruben sandwich was so large we couldn't finish it all. The service was quick and the prices were very very reasonable. The meat was very tasty, moist and the rye bread was grilled to perfection. This place should hold the # 1 spot in Cleveland !

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    67
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Eat a sandwich as big as your head”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Clevelanders love to take out of towners to Slyman's so they can watch the visitors' jaws drop at the size of the corned beef sandwiches here. And your jaw needs to drop if you hope to fit one of these monsters in! Yum.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Busy and worth the wait damn good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Qwik service for dine in decent prices. Came here for lunch. The staff are friendly. It is like Cleveland version of New Yorks Carnegie deli. Would come here again

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barberton, OH
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Huge Corned Beef Sandwiches!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I had heard of this place a few times and first tried it about 7 years ago. I go back at least twice a year and many times have plans to try something else on the menu, but when I open my mouth I always seem to order a corned beef sandwich. I've had a few others that were just about as large, but they didn't have quite the same great flavor. I usually try to get there by 8 AM, and once I eat this sandwich. I don't need to eat again until dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Biggest and best cornbeef sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If we had not read the reviews on this site, we never would have found this place or gone in. It was everything that reviewers said that it was. Thank goodness we saw a sandwich going to the table next to us, before ordering, it is about four inches high....so we split one, which was perfect.
The place was packed, but the service was quick. We would go back in a heartbeat to have a cornbeef on rye again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slyman's Deli also viewed

 

Been to Slyman's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slyman's Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.