We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sokolowski's University Inn

Sokolowski's University Inn
1201 University Rd, Cleveland, OH 44113-3642
216-771-9236
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 1,669 restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, German, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Broadview Heights, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

unique to CLE ... very Cleveland, this is a buffet style, lots and lots of food, fun and different if you have people from out of town. most of the food is very very good, will sell out if you dont get there early enough and the menu can be different every day ,, watch the hours for lunch and dinner , much easier to find now that the roadwork is done

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    91
    62
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were in Cleveland for the day and were looking for a quick lunch. I saw this restaurant on Yelp, which was close to the Christmas Story house that we wanted to see, so we decided to eat here. We were very pleased with their food and service. The food is already prepared, so you just pick what you want and they bring it to the table for you. Even though the food is already cooked and in a warming tray, I had their pork cutlet special, which they call street chicken and it was delicious (not dry at all). Their red cabbage and pierogis were the best I ever had at a restaurant and the portions are humongous for the price. U can't go wrong here and I would most definitely go back if ever in Cleveland.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina,Ohio USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Taste of Eastern Europe in Cleveland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

If you want to experience some of the best dishes of eastern Europe, you must try some of their delicious food. You pick your food in a cafeteria type setting but there is a bus boy to help take your tray to your table of choice. They make the best stuffed cabbage, homemade mashed potatoes, sour red cabbage, pierogies, and more. There is a room where a talented gentleman plays lovely tunes on the piano. Wonderful experience that I recommend!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Almost a Five”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Since we were in Cleveland to go to the R and R Hall of Fame we had to eat here based on the facts that my husband is of Polish descent and Michael Symon said that the pierogies are the best thing he ever ate.
We ordered the stuffed cabbage and the pierogies. The stuffed cabbage tasted just like the ones my Mother-in-Law made. The potato-cheese filling in the pierogies was the best I have ever tasted. The problem is that some of the pierogies had too little filling and one of mine had none.
If all of the pierogies had the amount of filling that my first one had, I would have given five stars.
Alas, they did not. No Filling=No Five Stars

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Authentic old world cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

If my grandmother had a restaurant, this would be it. Wonderful stuffed cabbage! Not recommended for calorie counters. Just have to enjoy yourself for 1 night and diet tomorrow.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sokolowski's University Inn also viewed

Been to Sokolowski's University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sokolowski's University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.