We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONLY order ethnic food when at Sokolowski's!!!!!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sokolowski's University Inn

Sokolowski's University Inn
1201 University Rd, Cleveland, OH 44113-3642
216-771-9236
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 1,562 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, German, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner
Northfield
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“ONLY order ethnic food when at Sokolowski's!!!!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Four of us went to this ethnic (Polish) restaurant after a friend highly recommended it. After researching it, I knew that I didn't want anything too heavy so I opted for either a salad bar main entree or "Cheeseburger and fries" (no cheese, please), while everyone else had a full-course meal. The cafeteria-style service line was okay. I'm sure many people like the serve-yourself locations because there's no tipping involved, but my experience went from bad to worse. I ordered the hamberger/fries and had to go ask about it after most of my friends had nearly finished their dinner. The so-called "special order" took forever to make and was not done to my liking, nor did either item taste good. I asked for ketchup and mustard and the gentleman who brought out my entree never returned with my request. The meatloaf and stuffed cabbage entrees looked pretty good. The pierogi's were floating in a buttery looking substance, which was way-to-greasy for my friend's taste, let alone his arteries. I know that many people love this type of restaurant, but it's just not for me. I can only say that "When in Rome, eat like the Romans do!"...and DO NOT order anything that does not follow the ethnic food traditions. That was my first and last time there!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    72
    13
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“How many pollacks does it take...?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife's family is polish and when we go to Sokolowski's I like it, but she is in heaven.

The stuffed cabbage (halupki) and the pierogi are standard and she has been surprised by a few unusual dishes from time to time.

Absolutely authentic polish food, made from scratch just the way she remembers he mom cooking it.

The place isn't fancy and the servers won't hover over you (it's a cafeteria afterall). It's not a place to go if you're watching your diet, as ethnic food is generally full of carbs and fat, but if you want a delicious meal and a fair price, this is your place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Grandma? Are you in the kitchen?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Was ther with a group f co-workedfor an evening out and OMG, was the food good! YOu want comfort food, this is the place to go. Cabbage rolls as big as a softball made me think my grandmother was in the kitchen. Mashed potatos piled high with butter or gravy (no lumps!) and the house specialty Salisbury steak.(which actuelly look like a little meatloaf) NOT the place to eat when oyu are on a adiet, but if you want a relaxing night out with friends you ahve to try this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A taste of Cleveland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is not a place to go on a diet - but if you want a real taste of Cleveland's traditional Polish food dive in! The place is incredible and probably unlike anyplace you've ever been. When you enter you start with a wait in the cafeteria style service line. The dinners for the night are all filling and delicious...my personal fave is the Chicken Paprikash - my hubby likes the pierogi and pork chops. There is LOTS to look at and learn from the walls of this place. It certainly tells a story!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“An Institution”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The best way to describe Sokolowski's University Inn is that it is an institution. If you are in Cleveland, it is a place that you must try at least once in your lifetime. The food is served cafeteria style, but it seems pretty fresh. The volume of people that pass through result in rapid replenishment of the steam table items. If you are looking for some very home-style Polish cooking, this may be your place. For me, it was a once in a lifetime experience, but I'm glad I did it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sokolowski's University Inn also viewed

 

Been to Sokolowski's University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sokolowski's University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.