We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food at a very good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mallorca

Mallorca
1390 W 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44113
(216) 687-9494
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mallorca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 1,681 Restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Aiken, SC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very good food at a very good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Two daily specials: one grilled barramundi, one baked salmon stuffed with a mash including crab, shrimp, scallops. Sides: fresh steamed vegetables (plain), yellow Spanish rice, unsalted homemade potato chips. Both meals were $14. The barramundi was excellent. It could not have been better prepared. Delicious. The salmon was fine, but was weak on all of the seafood flavors that should have been in the dish, beginning with the salmon. I wouldn't have had a clue what was in the stuffing had I not been told. The interior of the restaurant was very nice. The high-energy, loud, and somewhat melodramatic Spanish waiter contributed to the feeling of a somewhat exotic/foreign experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    49
    28
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Great Dining Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Great Service paired with Great Food makes this a perfect dining destination! Seriously, this is a must-try if you are looking for dining location in the downtown Cleveland area. The Sangria is awesome, best I have ever had. The food (I had orange roughy) was delicious. When your main entree comes, they also bring your table extremely generous servings of rice, vegetables, homemade potato chips for your table to share, and even an after-dinner shot (almond type - it was delicious!!) I will be back to Mallorca if I ever return to Cleveland.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Just A Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Spanish/Portuguese cuisine with so many fresh options. Always several fresh fish items as well as specialty appetizers. We both had the freshly made crab cakes (delicious!) and then the fabulous sea bass. Your entress come with a dinner salad (house-made dressing), spanish rice, steamed vegetables, and home-made potato chips. Their home-made sangria was the second best sangria I've ever had: the best being in Madrid, a long way from Cleveland in many ways. Service was exceptional. Menu has a large selection of tapas and other entrees besides the fish/seafood main ones. Seriously, this is a great place for dinner. Go, you won't be disappointed in the least. It's located in the now trendy warehouse district.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant Downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

My first experience with this restaurant was so good, that since then I've been back several times. Even my picky eater vegetarian mother-in-law found something she liked and hit it off with the flamboyant waiter with the "cute accent". The service is excellent and the food is delicious. It is located downtown and has a very nice décor. I had the featured, pork osso buco, which was something out of this world. They have tapas, steaks, chops, seafood and a garlic soup which I love. I am sorry to have to admit that once I had the prime rib which was like shoe leather, but I guess that's what I get for ordering prime rib at a place with so many other distinct menu items. Then they serve a special drink, or a shot if you will, at the end of your meal as a digestivo. Definitely don't miss this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fabulous service with very fine food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Visited here last night with 4 other business colleagues. Shared some great starters from flambe polish sausage, crab cakes, mushrooms and peppers. The main course meals from stuffed veal to seafood dish and spanish special seafood dish with rice, sausage, chicken, lobster, shrimp, clams and mussels was heaven.
Thanks very much to the most pleasant Carolina who was our main server with a great sense of humour and professional service

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mallorca also viewed

 

Been to Mallorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mallorca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.