We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very clean hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cleveland Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Cleveland Hostel to your Saves list
The Cleveland Hostel
2090 West 25th Street, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
lansing mi
Level Contributor
262 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“very clean hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great location..very clean.Privite rooms also.We had a privite room.very basic but clean. Ohio city and market right there.Nice kitchen and rooftop.Prices are good also.We went to the indians game and just walked over the bridge (long) but took about 15 min. from the hostel.many great dining choices and brewpubs.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    8
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
12
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I arrived late on a Friday night, and the front desk crew left a key for me in the lobby. The room was spartan as I expected, but it was large, comfortable, and more than I had expected. The thing that surprised me most was the level of cleanliness. It was hospital level clean. I had booked for 4 nights, and because of a family emergency, only stayed one. I paid $32 for the night I stayed, but lost the $82. deposit. I know that's how it works, but it would have been nice to have taken my one night out of the deposit. They profited nicely due to my bad luck. That said, I would stay there again. The view from my room on the third floor was fantastic, and only had to deal with a little bit of sidewalk noise from the 3:00AM partiers. Had I not been so tired, I would have joined them.

Room Tip: I never saw the shared dorm rooms, but the private room is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
213 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Not gonna lie. Never stayed in a Hostel before and was kind of worried after seeing the movie. LOL.

We stayed in 33. Private room. Private bath. We could not find any housing even close to this price. Three nights for about 260. Excellent!

Our room is clean, the bed is comfy, room is sparse but who cares. We aren't here to hang out in our room. We are here to explore. If you need a tv, don't stay here. There isn't one.

Front desk staff has been delightful and helpful. Parking is directly across the street at the end of a strip mall. And so far Ohio City has been delightful. A foodie/Beer lovers paradise for us.

Hostel is situated catty corner from the AWESOME West Side Market.

Truly could not have found a better place to stay. Feel safe here even though Ohio City is bordering on some clearly unsavory areas, so far, I have not felt unsafe at all.

Do yourself a favor and stay here.

Oh, NO ELEVATOR so if you don't like walking or cant walk, this is NOT a good place for you.

So, to recap, NO ELEVATOR and NO TV.

But awesome everything else!

Room Tip: 33 P/ Private bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were staying at Columbus and decided to go to Cleveland without expectations but the city and the hostel surprised us , both amazing!!!! The kitchen is very big, the mattress is excellent! and the price is great! We are so happy!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Arrived late to the hostel on a Friday, so the staff provided the combination to the door via telephone. I departed on Saturday. The parking lot is near a shopping complex which seemed to have a bunch of low-end shops. Apart from this, I could not rave about this stay enough. From check-ins, to the rooms, the lobby decor, everything made you feel very comfortable. The price could also not be beat. It was a perfect walk to the rest of the locations in the Westside Market District, which added to the experience. It was truly a delight for a brief stay. The shower in the bathroom could have been cleaner, but this was not a major concern due to the brief nature of my stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Got to the hostel very late on Friday and left on Sunday. We had small hiccup with key which was mixed up with our neighbours but we managed to sort that out. The rooms were big for a hostel and the beds were comfortable. My friend and I had room 32 which was a 2 bed room. I will say we did not see much of our hosts at any time so it was hard to ask advise. Also I was surprised the hostel did not have any activities to get the guests together especially on a weekend. Beyond that it was an enjoyable weekend

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor will get a load of bleed through noise from the rooftop terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
127 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

It pleased me immensely to learn that Cleveland had a hostel, but it made me even happier to find out that it was such a great hostel! The rooms and everything is clean, the kitchen and eating area is great, and the roof top deck is an awesome addition. It is right in Ohio City, a wonderfully walkable neighborhood with bars, breweries, West Side Market, and easy access to downtown. The were many little things well liked: chalkboard paint on eating area walls, doors made into tables, and other creative touches. If I have one complaint, it is that the kitchen needs to be a little better prepared, i.e. towels and coffee filters (they do provide coffee and coffee maker).
P.S. Sunset and sunrise from the rooftop deck are both nice experiences!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
1.4 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9
Metropolitan at The 9
#1 of 35 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
1.2 mi away
Aloft Cleveland Downtown
Aloft Cleveland Downtown
#16 of 35 in Cleveland
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleveland Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland Hostel

Address: 2090 West 25th Street, Cleveland, OH 44113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleveland Hostel is housed in an historic building in Cleveland's vibrant Ohio City Neighborhood with restaurants, shops, breweries and the fabulous West Side Market right at your doorstep. With numerous bus lines and a stop on the red line train just a block away it is easy to get anywhere in the city. We offer shared and private rooms, a large fully equipped kitchen, common areas, and amazing views of the city from the roof top deck. Our staff are well traveled, friendly and helpful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cleveland Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Hostel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cleveland Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.