We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious vegan meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Flaming Ice Cube

The Flaming Ice Cube
140 Public Square, Cleveland, OH
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 1,684 Restaurants in Cleveland
Cuisines: Vegan
Restaurant details
Waterloo, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious vegan meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I scoped out this cafe prior to our visit to Cleveland from out of town. Advertised as one of the only vegetarian restaurants in the city, it was well worth the visit. We both had delicious vegan burgers. My husband enjoyed the black bean salsa as a side; however, neither of us were a fan of the Asian pasta salad (too bland). The burgers more than made up for an unsatisfying side.

The service was good, the price was reasonable, and it was right downtown. We would definitely visit again if we lived in the city.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Ariel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic vegetarian/vegan cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food! The menu has a nice variety that should please almost everyone. The soup was outstanding. This is my new favorite place to eat in Cleveland.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Healthy food, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We always thought this vegan restaurant was a smoothie shop based on the outside appearance. We stopped in on Valentine's Day and had an excellent four course meal for two for $35 including non-alcoholic drinks. Started with lettuce wraps with tempeh, green salads with delicious dressing, vegan "chicken" parmesan with pasta, and chocolate lava cake for dessert. While we were there, many people stopped in for bakery items- seems like the red velvet cupcakes were a big seller and for pizza. Small dining area but it was a nice visit. Highly recommended for vegetarians and vegans looking for more dining options.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“YOU'RE IN FOR A TREAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Ok, we have lived in Cleveland for 20 years (on and off) and thought we had experienced every really good restaurant in the area. Wow, what a surprise when I came a cross the name of a vegan (of all things) restaurant, The Flaming Ice Cube. My husband and I checked out the website...looked over the menu, and fell in LOVE with the idea of "compassionate" cuisine. So we thought we'd give it a try. WOW!! Everything here is homemade and GOOD! Here are the best things about this place: FANTASTIC VEGAN burgers, fabulous smoothies, and amazing side dishes!! We each had a vegan burger...mine with pesto, which was out of this world delicious, my husband had a plain vegan burger, also GREAT! Didn't have room to try all the appetizers, soups, pastas, pizzas, and desserts etc. etc, but we will definitely be back. Don't be shocked when you walk in the cafe...it's small, only about 8 tables. The waitress is also the cashier, and take out person. Just sit down and relax. The worst part of our experience: Had to trek downtown from the suburbs and pay $10 for parking since it street parting is almost nonexistent. Regardless, we LOVED the Flaming Ice Cube and know you will too. PS. We are not vegans.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farmington Hills MI
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Good healthy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stopped here for a bite for dinner.

Tasty soup, delicious veggie burger, great selection of vegetarian food.
Friendly server. Not the best ambiance, a few tables to eat inside. Would try again when I visit Cleveland next for business.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flaming Ice Cube also viewed

 

Been to The Flaming Ice Cube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flaming Ice Cube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.