We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Hotel Cleveland to your Saves list
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always a Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

We have stayed here many times when coming to Cleveland for a weekend away. One warning: the hotel is located in the middle of and connected to Cleveland Clinic and is not in a part of town where you would want to walk around outside. As long as you are okay with that, the inside of the hotel is beautiful and rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious and VERY comfortable. Our stays are always on weekends and this trip was not different. Due to its association with the Clinic, weekends are usually VERY quiet and low key.
Desk staff was attentive and efficient and there is a fleet of valet parking people greeting you at the door. You don't have to use valet parking, though. On this trip, as well as a previous trip, we asked the hotel to arrange for a driver to take us to dinner across town ($10 in a town car). The driver gave us his card and we called when we were finished. All very convenient. There is a well known restaurant in the hotel, too, but we needed to be elsewhere.
Our only problem on this stay was glassware left in the hall outside of rooms. Not sure why they were there even after the maids came by, but a mention to the concierge on our way out had them all gone when we returned.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
Dear Werldtravlr,

Thank you for taking time to share your postive experiences during your stay with us in November. We are pleased that our hotel and staff continute to met your expectations during your visits. We certainly look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    91
    35
    13
    19
See reviews for
64
55
23
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hermitage, Pa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

This hotel is wonderful - attached to the Cleveland Clinic - and has the most accommodating staff. Anntoinette on the concierge level is an absolute doll - makes you feel warm and welcomed, and watching the hugs she receives from returning guests, she is genuine.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
Dear MagNoodles,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our attentive Club Level Concierges. We appreciate the positive comments and look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010 via mobile

Door ajar at check in.
Toilet seat up at check in.
"Thanks or choosing to not change your bed sheets" sign on bed at check in.
Main light in room broken.
Mini fridge jammed shut.
Hair in the washcloth.
2 hours for room service.
No assistance (return call) for iPad wifi issue.
No assistance (return call) from concierge.
That's our first 24 hours!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
Dear California3,

Thank you for the information that you provided regarding your recent stay with us. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced and will be correcting the issues that went wrong during your stay.

We take these comments seriously and hope that we can restore your confidence in staying with us again should your travels bring you to back to Cleveland. Once again thank you for bringing these items to our attention.

Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

This hotel was outstanding. The front desk personnel were very friendly and curteous, always willing to help when asked. The rooms were exceptional and very spacious. The bed was very comfortable. Room was clean and bathrooms was great. Had separate shower and but which was nice. Plenty of drawer space to put away clothes. All around good hotel for a conference. Easy access to the conference rooms which were also spectacular. Stadium seating with plug ins for laptop. Internet speed was very good as well. Taxi ride to eating district was reasonable too.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
Dear TempleTempleTX,

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with the positive feedback during your stay at the hotel. We are glad to know that the staff and hotel met all of your expectations and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

I was staying here with a free room night certificate for travel agents. My husband had tests the next morning at the Cleveland Clinic, so this was a great chance to use the certificate. The hotel is attached by covered walkway to the Cleveland Clinic. This makes it very convenient for visits there. If you are going to other areas in Cleveland, this may be a bit out of the way. I thought that the hotel was great! Very nice reception area and lobby/check in desk. The front desk agent and the bell hops were very helpful.

The room was very nice also. There was extra storage (dresser near the door) in case you were staying longer and needed more room. The bathroom was great and had room for someone in a wheelchair to get around. There was a separate shower stall and also a bathtub; no need for a shower curtain at the tub since the shower was separate. There was a scale to weigh yourself (like I needed that away from home) and little amenities....Q-tips, shower cap, hair bands, etc. that you might need. The beds and pillows were very comfortable; better that mine at home. The TV has a decent variety of channels, but did not have a couple channels that I am used to (Nickelodeon for Nick at Night shows and Bravo) but had several channels for foreign visitors (Saudi TV, middle east channels). They must have many visitors from that area that stay at the hotel when going to the Cleveland Clinic.

We were tired when we got there, so we ordered room service. It was delivered in a timely manner, and the food was good. Of course, it was a bit pricey, but we knew that before we ordered. I went over to the 24 hour cafe at the clinic to get breakfast items for us in the morning.

I was able to get a late check out (1pm) since I was a Priority Club member. The valet parking was $25.00, but since I had a free room night I could afford it. I may not be able to afford to stay here every time we come up, but if you can afford it, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
Dear travelgal0727,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experiences of your stay in October. We are thrilled that we met all of your expectations and look forward to your next visit to the hotel.

Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

The Inter-Continental Hotel is a beautiful hotel with very beautifully decorated rooms, extremely comfortable beds, and a super helpful, friendly staff. Right next door is the Cleveland Clinic which had complementary shuttle back and forth to the hospital. We enjoyed receiving the Cleveland Plain Dealer every morning and had delicious, well priced breakfasts in the cafe.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
Dear Janellmbodle,

We certainly appreciated the positive comments regarding our comfortable guestrooms and friendly staff. The feedback is important to us and look forward to your next hotel stay with us.

Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Very comfortable hotel. Nice breakfast.
Not so good location far from main shopping area and city attractions. Taxi service not of high quality - sometimes too long to wait; early in the morning no taxi at all. Book it in advance. Internet for additional charge.
Rooms are very nice and cozy. Great sleep. I liked this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
Dear LarisaVM,

Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay with us as all comments are very important to us. We are glad that your stay was comfortable and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hotel Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Address: 9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#11 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#13 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Cleveland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Cleveland is situated on the campus of the prestigious Cleveland Clinic, less than two kilometres (one mile) from the University Circle cultural and arts district. Legacy Village shopping and entertainment, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Progressive Field and the Historic Warehouse District are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cleveland
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.