We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Second Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Hotel Cleveland to your Saves list
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our Second Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

My husband is a patient at Cleveland Clinic and we have stayed at the Intercontinental at least 12 times over the past 1-1/2 yrs. It is definitely the place to stay if you are a patient/spouse, especially if you are there in the winter. You can park your car and never need it, as everything is connected by pedways from the 3rd floor of the hotel. Would not stay there if you are just visiting Cleveland, as it is not located in a good neighborhood and there is nothing to do nearby. Also, it is right in the middle of Cleveland Clinic. The staff always welcomes us and does their best to provide anything we need. Rooms are spacious and well appointed and we love the walk-in shower. We have learned to often avoid the hotel restaurants, tho, as they are expensive. They do offer room service, which is great when you are exhausted. There is an International cafeteria in the hospital,as well as 2 locations of AuBonPain, Starbucks, McDonalds, a Mexican "fast food" place and Subway. It is only a short drive to Little Italy and about a 20 minute drive to a nice shopping area and other restaurants. I agree with other complaints about the charge for internet. Seems like all "luxury hotels" are still getting by with this (disappointing). They do have 2 computers off the lobby that are available for email or to print a boarding pass. Some rooms "pick up" internet access from the clinic but many sites are blocked to keep employees from using computers to watch sports, tv shows, Skype, etc. All rooms have a mini bar that I wish they would convert to a refrigerator. Any item in there is outrageous and there is only one small spot for your use. If you join Priority Club, you always have a 2 pm check-out. We feel as tho it is our "second home" and will continue to stay there. It's about the next best thing to being in your own bedroom and I would highly recommend it to anyone go to the clinic. The convenience alone is well worth the $$$.
Tip: Buy a set of parking passes or pay $10 daily and park in one of the clinic garages if you are going to be there for a few days(one is connected to the hotel by pedway), as valet parking is $24/night.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
Dear kymarg,

Thank you for the comments you have shared with us during your stay. Your feedback is very important to us and glad to hear that our hotel and location met your expectations.

We certainly look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    91
    36
    13
    19
See reviews for
65
55
23
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gastonia, NC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

The sole purpose of my trip was to attend a two day conference at the hotel and I was pleasantly surprised at how convenient the guest rooms were to the conference venue. The omelette in the lobby restaurant was very good, although a little pricey. The gift shop was open only from 9 am - 6 pm, which was disappointing when the urge for a soda overwhelmed me, and I was too cheap to open the mini-bar. The rooms were large, but the all too common problem of having inconveniently located electrical outlets at the bedside tables created some cell phone/mp3 charging challenges. (I don't understand why this is a problem in so many hotels). Bathroom was huge, with shower and separate tub. The bell captain and staff were very polite and helpful. For the price, internet should be free. I protested the price by not purchasing the internet access.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF / P
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

Still charging for internet is just shamless, penny ante, and an inconsiderate waste of guests' time. Skip this hotel until they start respecting guests.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

The rooms are very clean, and the beds are very comforitable. Get the weekly rate if you are going to be there that long. It is cheaper then the Cleveland Clinic rate, and beats priceline, etc. We paid $135/night for a suite. The food is great from the menu in the dining room. The buffet was not so great. We ordered Vegetarian Pizza twice while we were there from room service and it is to die for. The best I've ever had. The TV sets are the old kind, not flats like you would think.

We went over to the other two hotels in the Cleveland Clinic campus, and The Guest House smelled bad and the rooms were nasty with the old cheap polyester bedspreads and crappy mattresses. The other Intercontinental Hotel and Convension Center was very upscale, and not really suitable for an extended stay. The cheapest room there is about $30 more than the suites, and its just a room.

I don't usually sleep well in hotels, and I slept very well in the Suites. The walk to the Cancer center and the Heart center is short, and very safe. There are Cleveland Clinic police patrolling ALL the time. We never even got creaped out once. Note: If you have a computer, it costs $9.95 per day to hook up here.

In short, even the most discriminating person would be comforitable here. The service is exemplory, and the place smells clean, has a nice atmosphere, and is comforitable. The fitness center is small, and almost an afterthought. They have only one treadmill, one stairmaster type thing, and two static bikes. It has a weight bench, dumbells, two TV's, water, bathroom, towles, and fresh apples daily.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Very nice, upscale hotel located near the Cleveland Clinic. They gave us complimentary chocolates upon checking in. The room was gorgeous as well and was very comfortable and quiet. The bathroom had both a stand up shower as well as a soaking tub. The staff was friendly and informative when we asked for local dining recommendations. The internet service was provided by AT&T, so there is a charge unless you happen to have an account with AT&T (we did, so we did not have to pay).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

Very expensive as compared to other 4 star hotels in Cleveland. I reviewed this hotel while my family member was at the cleveland clinc (I also reviewed the Intercontinental suites and guest houses). If you NEED to be right by the Cleveland Clinic, this is the right place for you. You PAY for LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION...... The rates are VERY high as compared to other 4 star hotels located in Cleveland Union Square about 6 miles away. I was able to get a 4 star for $75 (including tax and breakfast) Feb 2010 in Union Square via Priceline. The Intercontinental was $259 plus tax plus $24/day parking (over $300). There is also many medical conferences at the IC Cleveland Clinic so, you are surrounded by medical jargin and a hotel that feels sort of cold and grey. Nevertheless, if you need to be at the Cleveland Clinic on site, and do not want to drive to and from the hotel to the clinic every day, and have the money, it is the place to stay. If you are in town for any other reason, I would stay downtown union square at one of the 4 star hotels (or even some of the lower star but nice hotels like the Comfort Inn). You will be in a nicer environment, be able to get away from medical environment, and save a TON of money.

I would recommend for location location location again. Not for any other reason. This hotel must be raking in the dough, as they are always booked solid, and charge rack rate, and are able to get it, and not because of any other reason than its proximity to the Cleveland Clinic.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

Great facility with everything you need for a very comfortable stay. Only downside is having to pay for Internet access in rooms which was annoying.
otherwise no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hotel Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Address: 9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#11 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#13 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Cleveland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Cleveland is situated on the campus of the prestigious Cleveland Clinic, less than two kilometres (one mile) from the University Circle cultural and arts district. Legacy Village shopping and entertainment, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Progressive Field and the Historic Warehouse District are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cleveland
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.