We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay if you need to go to Cleveland Clinic and have the money as it is too expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Hotel Cleveland to your Saves list
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Plymouth, Michigan
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Stay if you need to go to Cleveland Clinic and have the money as it is too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

Very expensive as compared to other 4 star hotels in Cleveland. I reviewed this hotel while my family member was at the cleveland clinc (I also reviewed the Intercontinental suites and guest houses). If you NEED to be right by the Cleveland Clinic, this is the right place for you. You PAY for LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION...... The rates are VERY high as compared to other 4 star hotels located in Cleveland Union Square about 6 miles away. I was able to get a 4 star for $75 (including tax and breakfast) Feb 2010 in Union Square via Priceline. The Intercontinental was $259 plus tax plus $24/day parking (over $300). There is also many medical conferences at the IC Cleveland Clinic so, you are surrounded by medical jargin and a hotel that feels sort of cold and grey. Nevertheless, if you need to be at the Cleveland Clinic on site, and do not want to drive to and from the hotel to the clinic every day, and have the money, it is the place to stay. If you are in town for any other reason, I would stay downtown union square at one of the 4 star hotels (or even some of the lower star but nice hotels like the Comfort Inn). You will be in a nicer environment, be able to get away from medical environment, and save a TON of money.

I would recommend for location location location again. Not for any other reason. This hotel must be raking in the dough, as they are always booked solid, and charge rack rate, and are able to get it, and not because of any other reason than its proximity to the Cleveland Clinic.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    104
    42
    14
    20
See reviews for
67
59
27
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

Great facility with everything you need for a very comfortable stay. Only downside is having to pay for Internet access in rooms which was annoying.
otherwise no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

I walk with a cane and walker sometimes. I received unsolicited help and courtesies well beyond the call of duty. The bellmen, valet people were exceptional in their kindness. It was a wonderful experience being received so well by a superb staff.
Given the limitations of the area around a hospital with no easy access to restaurants, the restaurants here were extraordinarily overpriced and the main room should be more general menu then ethnic.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

Location = 25 minutes from airport. (~$33-35). Physical location by the Cleveland Clinic, but in middle of nothing walkable. Car is a must.
Valet & Check in = Nothing negative to say at all.
Rooms = plenty of space, clean, VERY nice bathrooms.
Value = weak. Expensive rates, expensive restaurant and room service. Wi-fi pricy, nothing free in lobby but do have 2 complimentary computers with printers. Get the company to pay for it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

I've been to this hotel several times for different conferences and love it every single time! The hotel location is great within the Cleveland Clinic and a short drive from downtown Cleveland and nice restaurants at little Italy and Cleveland heights. The hotel is very grand with granite everywhere and very well appointed, clean and spacious rooms. Only downside is that parking is valet only and the pillows are extremely soft to the point where you wake up with neck pain every morning. On the positive side, the separate shower and tub in the bathroom is great! The best part though is the main conference room. It is just the best for either a review course or CME meeting. It can get pretty "rough" in some areas not far from the hotel, so if you are not familiar with Cleveland, always check with concierge or take a taxi to where you are going before wandering around on your own. I've seen significant improvements around the city over the past few years and Cleveland does have many nice places and a recent modern and progressive vibe to it, especially the University circle area. If you are on a budget just try eating at the hospital cafeteria which is just a short walk across the skyway on the 3rd floor and opens until around 11:00 PM.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

7 of us traveled to Cleveland to stay at the InterContinental Suites for July 17th weekend to party (Girls Weekend). We are a group of 40+ women so we aren't the hall running type of partiers. We booked three suites, which included microwaves, fridges, sofa bed, etc., and had booked three months in advance. When we arrived at the Suites, we were told that we had been upgraded to the IC Hotel and Conference Center a few blocks down. It was supposedly a higher class hotel. We went to check in and were informed that there were no sofa beds, microwaves, or fridges in the rooms. Further, these were not suites but regular hotel rooms. They were able to put on all on the same floor, one room across from the other and the third down the hall. They also gave us two fridges that worked and one microwave (third fridge out of order). Because we came and went so often, there was a lot of door closing, which was loud because doors slam on their own. Second day there, we received a call from front desk saying that neighbor complained of door slaming and hall noises. Come to find out, they had put our group, along with a bachelor party, right next to an elderly medical patient receiving treatment!

Hotel nice, but restaurant just okay. Guest services doesn't think before they place you. We plan to stay at the Suites again, if we go back to Cleveland. Hopefully they won't give away our rooms again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAn Francisco
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

One usually gets high quality from the Intercon chain, however the property at the Cleveland Clinic is not helping the brand maintain its excellence. This was my third time staying here and I continue to be disappointed. The desk staff should be working at a Holiday Inn. I experience long delays in checking in, no courtesy, and zero assistance. They are "working" not servicing. I was on hold for at least 8 minutes calling the front desk to ask a question....

As for the hotel's restaurant, which also had high ratings, I was hugely disappointed. A classic example of a restaurant over-saucing and over-doing everything. The food was terrible. The saving grace was the Naan bread....but that is it!

I realize there are not many options in that part of Cleveland...which is why I keep going back. But do not have high expectations if you are planning to stay here. Expect a Marriott or Sheraton level of room quality...and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hotel Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Address: 9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#13 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Cleveland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Cleveland is situated on the campus of the prestigious Cleveland Clinic, less than two kilometres (one mile) from the University Circle cultural and arts district. Legacy Village shopping and entertainment, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Progressive Field and the Historic Warehouse District are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cleveland
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.