We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond of a hotel, pass on the 45.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Hotel Cleveland to your Saves list
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Diamond of a hotel, pass on the 45.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Must admit when the exit was closed off the highway to get to this hotel and the route took me through some "scenic" routes, I wondered what I might find. What I discovered was a gem of a hotel right next to the Cleveland Clinic, Museum of Art, and Case Western. The hotel staff was super nice, the accommodations were warm, and the room was very clean and comfortable. My only truly lament was the restaurant, Table 45. Food was okay, but service was below par for what I'd expect at a quality restaurant. Would consider staying here again, but would eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear JulesVerneJr,

Many thanks for your review and for deeming us a “Diamond of a Hotel”. That is quite an honor and we sincerely appreciate your kind comments.

We are extremely happy that you had a great experience with our staff and I will be sure to share your comments with them. It is also a great pleasure to learn that our accommodations were to your satisfaction. I must admit, it is a little disappointing to hear that service levels did not meet your expectations at our Table 45 Restaurant as this is not our standard and I do apologize. It is great to know that you would consider staying with us again but we hope to have the opportunity to sway your opinion of our Table 45 product on a second visit. Again, thank you very much for your review.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    106
    43
    14
    20
See reviews for
67
63
27
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Had a stay with wife and family. It was clean and staff was very helpful. The room was bigger than expected, but would have liked for to have been vacuumed a little better and I don't think the air conditioning was accurate as it said. It stated it was 72 in the room, but I swear it was in the 80's easy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear bristolsoxfan,

We truly appreciate you taking some time to share comments about your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very much valued.

It is great to know that you found our property clean, that our staff was helpful and that the size of your room was to your liking. It is disappointing though that you felt your room could have been vacuumed more closely and that you were having some issues with temperature control. I apologize on behalf of my team that this was your experience. On future stays we would love to hear of such issues right away so that we could work at a solution for you.

I am happy however that overall you had a nice stay with us and we thank you so very much for choosing the InterContinental Cleveland and for posting a review. We hope to have you back soon so that we may provide you with an even more memorable experience.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Nice hotel! Had the Junior Suite and access to Club Floor on 14th floor. Room was very clean and comfortable. Club Room for hors d'oeuvres and breakfast was also very nice. Very easy access to appointments while at Cleveland Clinic. Stayed at the other Intercontinental hotel (Intercontinental Suites) and this one is much better and is physically attached to the hospital. Will stay here again if we need to return.

Room Tip: Junior Suite was nice! It is the farthest from the elevator at end of hallway if that matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear ahornaday,

Many thanks for your comments about your recent visit to our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that all aspects from room quality to the convenience to the Cleveland Clinic were to your liking.

It is also great to realize that you have resolved to stay with us should you return to Cleveland. That makes us very happy as we would love the opportunity to make your next stay even more memorable than the first. Again, thank you so much for your review.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Hotel was very continental, clean, friendly, and classy. The staff from the front desk to the bell hops and the concierge floor staff was so friendly and helpful. The connection to the Cleveland Clinic makes a stressful time as easy as it can be. Great morning concierge floor breakfast as well. Again, thank you InterContinental!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Cjweeks,

It is our pleasure to deliver a great quality product but it is even more rewarding when we receive responses like yours that confirm for us that we were able to accomplish what we set out to do. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful and encouraging comments. It is a great thrill to realize that you received great service from our staff and that overall you were pleased with the quality and location of our hotel.

We do hope that should you return to Cleveland, we will be your first choice for accommodations as we look forward to providing you with the same great service you recently experienced.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Let me start by saying that this is an excellent hotel with a highly professional, competent, and caring staff. The rooms were clean, modern, and up-to-date. Beds were comfortable and everything in the room worked well, including the AC system, which was a definite upgrade over your normal wall units. Our breakfast was an enjoyable full buffet, and the quality of the food overall was strong.

The downside (at least for us) is that this is a hotel most definitely situated to cater to the medical needs of the Cleveland Clinic. It's not a place for a quiet or getaway weekend. They don't advertise themselves that's way, so we weren't entirely surprised (other than by the helicopters). We heard several helicopters landing on the helipad, which did disturb our sleep during the night. If you are a family or friend of someone at the clinic, or if you are needing to rehab/recover after treatment at the clinic, then this is the perfect hotel.

Would I stay here again? In a moment, but not if I really wanted to rest or relax at all.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the side of the hotel that is opposite of the helipad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Musician47,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that you found our hotel to be excellent and that our staff was professional, competent and caring. I will definitely share your comments with them. Also, it is great to realize that you were pleased with our newly renovated rooms and that you enjoyed breakfast at our very own Northcoast Café.

I do apologize however that the sounds from emergency helicopters going to the Cleveland Clinic were an issue of disturbance for you. I understand how that could be frustrating. I am happy however that you have resolved to stay with us in the future and do hope that your stay will be a more quiet and relaxing one.

Sincerely
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel was very comfortable and clean. We were a bit worried about noise, being so close to the hospital, but our room was very quiet (we were on the 6th floor facing the back). The hotel is very convenient if you're in town to visit the Cleveland Clinic or Case Western, but a bit of a drive to the downtown tourist area. There aren't any restaurants right by the hotel and the area did not seem like the best area to be walking, so you will need to drive most places. The hotel is valet, so it can be a bit of a pain to take your car in and out of valet throughout the day.

We ate at the hotel cafe for breakfast. The food was pretty good, but overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear db1985,

I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us and that you found our location convenient for visits to Case Western and Cleveland Clinic. We are just a short 8-10 minute drive from central Downtown and just about the same distance from various areas for dining such as the Little Italy or the Beachwood area. I do hope you had an opportunity to take advantage of some of these options while you stayed with us.

We do have a very safe Campus as we are secured by the Cleveland Clinic Police who are based on the grounds and so I do apologize if for any reason you felt unsafe walking around.
I am happy that you enjoyed the breakfast at our Northcoast Café but disappointed that you found the food to be overpriced. We do conduct constant research with similar offerings to ensure that we are remaining competitively priced and so my apologies if you felt overcharged.
Overall, I am happy that your stay was a pleasant one and I do hope we will have the opportunity to make future stays even better for you.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed 5 days and would highly recommend staying on the 14 floor with all the amenities. Great staff especially Anntoinette! She certainly made us feel like family. The room was perfect and able to accommodate three people. If ever I come back to Cleveland I would only stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Rich N,

Many thanks for your review. We sincerely appreciate the recommendation of our Club Floor and for the acknowledgement of great service from our staff, especially Antoinette. I will ensure these wonderful comments are shared with Antoinette and all our staff. I am thrilled that you were pleased with your room and that you have resolved to stay with us the next time you come to Cleveland. We look forward to creating another memorable experience for you.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hotel Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Address: 9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#13 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Cleveland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Cleveland is situated on the campus of the prestigious Cleveland Clinic, less than two kilometres (one mile) from the University Circle cultural and arts district. Legacy Village shopping and entertainment, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Progressive Field and the Historic Warehouse District are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cleveland
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.