We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel when you have appt at CC.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Hotel Cleveland to your Saves list
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Yorktown, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel when you have appt at CC.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Nice hotel! Had the Junior Suite and access to Club Floor on 14th floor. Room was very clean and comfortable. Club Room for hors d'oeuvres and breakfast was also very nice. Very easy access to appointments while at Cleveland Clinic. Stayed at the other Intercontinental hotel (Intercontinental Suites) and this one is much better and is physically attached to the hospital. Will stay here again if we need to return.

Room Tip: Junior Suite was nice! It is the farthest from the elevator at end of hallway if that matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear ahornaday,

Many thanks for your comments about your recent visit to our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that all aspects from room quality to the convenience to the Cleveland Clinic were to your liking.

It is also great to realize that you have resolved to stay with us should you return to Cleveland. That makes us very happy as we would love the opportunity to make your next stay even more memorable than the first. Again, thank you so much for your review.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    107
    44
    16
    20
See reviews for
71
66
27
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Hotel was very continental, clean, friendly, and classy. The staff from the front desk to the bell hops and the concierge floor staff was so friendly and helpful. The connection to the Cleveland Clinic makes a stressful time as easy as it can be. Great morning concierge floor breakfast as well. Again, thank you InterContinental!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Cjweeks,

It is our pleasure to deliver a great quality product but it is even more rewarding when we receive responses like yours that confirm for us that we were able to accomplish what we set out to do. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful and encouraging comments. It is a great thrill to realize that you received great service from our staff and that overall you were pleased with the quality and location of our hotel.

We do hope that should you return to Cleveland, we will be your first choice for accommodations as we look forward to providing you with the same great service you recently experienced.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Let me start by saying that this is an excellent hotel with a highly professional, competent, and caring staff. The rooms were clean, modern, and up-to-date. Beds were comfortable and everything in the room worked well, including the AC system, which was a definite upgrade over your normal wall units. Our breakfast was an enjoyable full buffet, and the quality of the food overall was strong.

The downside (at least for us) is that this is a hotel most definitely situated to cater to the medical needs of the Cleveland Clinic. It's not a place for a quiet or getaway weekend. They don't advertise themselves that's way, so we weren't entirely surprised (other than by the helicopters). We heard several helicopters landing on the helipad, which did disturb our sleep during the night. If you are a family or friend of someone at the clinic, or if you are needing to rehab/recover after treatment at the clinic, then this is the perfect hotel.

Would I stay here again? In a moment, but not if I really wanted to rest or relax at all.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the side of the hotel that is opposite of the helipad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Musician47,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that you found our hotel to be excellent and that our staff was professional, competent and caring. I will definitely share your comments with them. Also, it is great to realize that you were pleased with our newly renovated rooms and that you enjoyed breakfast at our very own Northcoast Café.

I do apologize however that the sounds from emergency helicopters going to the Cleveland Clinic were an issue of disturbance for you. I understand how that could be frustrating. I am happy however that you have resolved to stay with us in the future and do hope that your stay will be a more quiet and relaxing one.

Sincerely
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel was very comfortable and clean. We were a bit worried about noise, being so close to the hospital, but our room was very quiet (we were on the 6th floor facing the back). The hotel is very convenient if you're in town to visit the Cleveland Clinic or Case Western, but a bit of a drive to the downtown tourist area. There aren't any restaurants right by the hotel and the area did not seem like the best area to be walking, so you will need to drive most places. The hotel is valet, so it can be a bit of a pain to take your car in and out of valet throughout the day.

We ate at the hotel cafe for breakfast. The food was pretty good, but overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear db1985,

I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us and that you found our location convenient for visits to Case Western and Cleveland Clinic. We are just a short 8-10 minute drive from central Downtown and just about the same distance from various areas for dining such as the Little Italy or the Beachwood area. I do hope you had an opportunity to take advantage of some of these options while you stayed with us.

We do have a very safe Campus as we are secured by the Cleveland Clinic Police who are based on the grounds and so I do apologize if for any reason you felt unsafe walking around.
I am happy that you enjoyed the breakfast at our Northcoast Café but disappointed that you found the food to be overpriced. We do conduct constant research with similar offerings to ensure that we are remaining competitively priced and so my apologies if you felt overcharged.
Overall, I am happy that your stay was a pleasant one and I do hope we will have the opportunity to make future stays even better for you.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed 5 days and would highly recommend staying on the 14 floor with all the amenities. Great staff especially Anntoinette! She certainly made us feel like family. The room was perfect and able to accommodate three people. If ever I come back to Cleveland I would only stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Rich N,

Many thanks for your review. We sincerely appreciate the recommendation of our Club Floor and for the acknowledgement of great service from our staff, especially Antoinette. I will ensure these wonderful comments are shared with Antoinette and all our staff. I am thrilled that you were pleased with your room and that you have resolved to stay with us the next time you come to Cleveland. We look forward to creating another memorable experience for you.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Let me start by saying if you need close proximity to Cleveland Clinic then by all means stay here. It's clean and modern. However, if not and want a good nights sleep find another hotel. I stayed here for 2 nights catching a concert at Blossom. I could hear and see medi-copters landing on the helipad across from my room. The entire room shook. Sirens all night long up and down the street.

Again, it's a HOSPITAL location. My fault truly didn't even think about the noise from the hospital.

The rooms are nice and clean. Modern furnishings with a nice sized bathroom. The bed was very comfy.

Location- not safe to walk around. The doorman told us at night to take the shuttle to a store 2 blocks away.

But again, if you need a hospital hotel this is it.

Room Tip: Choose a room NOT facing the main street and the highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear melboca,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am happy that you found our property to be clean and that you appreciated the modern look that was the result of our recent room renovation project.

I do apologize that your sleep was affected by the noise from emergency service vehicles going to the Cleveland Clinic and that you felt unsafe at our location. We do have the Cleveland Clinic police on site and a very safe record and so for these reasons we do pride our environs as being very secure.

I do hope these circumstances will not deter you from visiting us in the future so that you may be able to experience the exquisite service that our hotel has to offer.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My mother had anterior right hip replacement at Cleveland Clinic and we decided to stay a day at the Intercontinental Hotel, Cleveland Clinic, just to make sure everything was fine before the 200 mile trip back to Grand Island, New York. The staff was very accomodating, providing a raised toilet seat for my mother's use during our stay. They also provide wheel chairs for use on their property. The only complaint, the air vents in the bathroom and closet (in the the room we stayed in) require cleaning. There is a noticable dust build-up that should be vaccumed-up. Otherwise, the light colors and wide rooms make a stay for a recovering surgery patient much easier and more cheerful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Raymond K,

Your wonderful comments of our hotel are very much appreciated. I am very happy to learn that our staff was accommodating and that our overall service provided some amount of ease after your mother’s surgery at the Cleveland Clinic. It is also good to know that our recently renovated room, with light colored walls added an element of cheer to your mother’s recovery. We will definitely take a look at the vents to ensure all traces of dust are removed.

Thank you so much for your review. We do very much appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
3.5 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9
Metropolitan at The 9
#1 of 35 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Glidden House Inn
Glidden House Inn
#6 of 35 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hotel Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Address: 9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Cleveland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Cleveland is situated on the campus of the prestigious Cleveland Clinic, less than two kilometres (one mile) from the University Circle cultural and arts district. Legacy Village shopping and entertainment, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Progressive Field and the Historic Warehouse District are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cleveland
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.