We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant if you aré going to the cleveland clinic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Hotel Cleveland to your Saves list
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant if you aré going to the cleveland clinic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Conveniently conected to the cleveland clinic if your Main reason for coming to cleveland is that, because it is a bit far from downtown, nice hotel But it only has one Restaurant at night with a small menu if you aré planning to stay for a couple of days, and the cafetería closes to early!, try to Stay at the 14th floor wich has a bussiness center that serves tea in the afternoon, breakfast, and has great view, very convenient,confortable and with Great service, the rooms in that floor aré a little bit expencier But its worth it

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear BarciMaru,

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us. It is good to know that you found our location convenient for Cleveland Clinic visits and that overall the facility was to your liking. I do apologize that our dinner menu was a bit limited for you but I am happy that you were able to take advantage of the services and amenities offered on our Club Floor.

The next time you visit Cleveland, we would love the opportunity to provide a great host environment for you and again, thank you for your review.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    96
    40
    14
    19
See reviews for
67
57
25
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
418 reviews 418 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 177 cities Reviews in 177 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

First thing to know is this hotel is connected to the Cleveland Clinic. It's not terribly far from downtown but you will have to take your car out each time. I'd suggest parking in the lot across the street, and then taking the indoor walkway over to he hotel.

Pluses:
1) the room was super nice. Very modern, nice amenities, great shower and comfy bed.
2) staff was very friendly and helpful upon checkin
3) very well equipped workout room with modern machines

Minuses:
1) even as a IHG Platinum, they put us on the floor (and next door) to a wedding. they were so loud it seemed like they were coming through the walls. they finally were quiet after security called, but even the next night (with normal people) we could still hear them. same goes for the hallway, where you could hear every person who went up and down the hall.
2) when went up to our room, we found the door propped open. second time in 2 weeks this happened after never having it happen in 32 years. it ended up not being a problem, but it was a little disconcerting.

Overall it was an up and down stay. Being put next to a wedding party kept us up all day and made us exhausted for the rest of our trip. It was a beautiful hotel and centrally located, I guess we just had a bad room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear mja1982,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback. It is good to know that you appreciate our recent room renovation, that our staff provided you with great service and that our workout room met your standards. I will be sure to share your feedback with all our staff.

I do apologize however that you were placed on a floor where you encountered so many disturbances. On future stays please do not hesitate to let our front desk staff know of any such issues so that we may take care of these issues right away. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to provide a more pleasant and memorable stay for you on future visits.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Over all a nice value for the money at this Intercontinental hotel.
The stay started with Vanessa's warm friendly welcoming and outstanding customer service at check in.
When you exit the elevator on your floor, everything is stark white and brushed nickel. A very tastefully done simplistic modern look.
The room was comfortable, larger, and immaculate.
I did have trouble getting the shower head adjusted to spray correctly.
Couple of draw backs to this property.
No sitting cabs and a possible long wait for one.
Not ideal if your need for stay is not right in that area or if you do not have transportation.
If you smoke, be prepared for the no smoking on the property security patrol guy. Even if you are standing across the drive far away from everyone or anything.
His answer to where you are allowed to smoke...at your house.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Travel46804,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us. I am pleased that overall you had a comfortable stay. I will be sure to share your comments with Vanessa and all our staff. Many thanks for commenting on our newly renovated hallways and guest rooms. I am happy you were pleased with the upgrades we have made.

At most times during the day, we do have a representative from our transportation company, on site to ensure quick and efficient travels. I do apologize if for some reason this service was not available to you when needed. In a bid to promote wellness and due to our location on the Cleveland Clinic campus we do enforce a strict non-smoking policy and so this was the reason you were no able to smoke on the grounds.

I do hope that on your next visit to Cleveland, you will stay with us so we may create an even more pleasant stay for you.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Good hotel but age is taking its toll throughout the hotel especially rooms that resemble nothing an intercon is..

For the clinic it is very convenient and that about it; nabourhood is least inviting and rather intimidating after 7 in the evening.

Limited food choices also with nothing much nearby so car is a must if you need to do any leisurely activity such as dinning or shopping with the nearest decent mall some 10 miles away..

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear MAA8942,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We value and appreciate your feedback. I am disappointed that you found our recent renovation efforts to be less than modern and that our location was not ideal for you. While many restaurants are not within a short walking distance, they are a short drive from the hotel, if you are looking for options outside of our very own Table 45, North Coast Café and C2 Restaurant.

I do hope this will not discourage you from staying with us in the future as we would love the opportunity to arrange for you some fun and efficient means of exploring our great city.

With Kind Regards,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Thank you to the club lounge attendant, Manya Dailey, who made our stay extra special. The room was modern. The food was a great value and of high quality. It is apparent all of the staff has been trained in customer service.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you want. The front dest is very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear RoyboyNYC,

Your review of our hotel is much appreciated. It is a great thrill to realize that you have had a great stay with us and that you received excellent customer service. I will sure share your comments with Manya and all other staff who contributed to make your stay extra special.

I thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I experienced a very thorough inspection of this hotel and it is absolutely fabulous! If you are planning a convention, conference or even a family reunion the hotel has everything you could possibly need. The facility is also located near many attractions and restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Laureen B,

Many thanks for your generous recommendations of our property. We are happy we were able to meet your expectations on every level. We really do appreciate the mention you have made of our facilities and sincerely thank you for your review.

Best Regards,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Thank you for a wonderful stay, the staff should be highly praised - concierge Tom supplying us with daily information of places to go and things to visit and bell man Terrence made us very welcome and their knowledge and friendship shared it made our holiday. People we spoke to outside the hotel always started the conversation with a surprised tone "what made you want to come to Cleveland? But there was so much to see and do that I'm sure if we spent another 3 weeks there we would still not exhaust everything! In the lounge Manya, Monica and Antoinette looked after us very well particularly at breakfast time preparing us (very) hot tea at our request and porridge each morning. We'd also like to thank those staff who we might not have known the names of but did their jobs well such as the receptionists, housekeepers, catering staff.

Transport is easy, the healthline runs from near the hotel to downtown and from there by metro or other buses you can get anywhere for a daily $5 per day, though it does help to have a car to get to places outside of Cleveland, driving is straightforward.

Room Tip: We had a room on the club floor which looked out towards Lake Erie
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear zpoppy,

Thank you so much for your wonderful remarks about your recent stay with us. It is a great pleasure when we realize that we have been able to completely satisfy our guests as this is always our aim.

I will be sure to share your comments with all our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hotel Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Address: 9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#11 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Cleveland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Cleveland is situated on the campus of the prestigious Cleveland Clinic, less than two kilometres (one mile) from the University Circle cultural and arts district. Legacy Village shopping and entertainment, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Progressive Field and the Historic Warehouse District are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cleveland
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.