We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs modernization..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Hotel Cleveland to your Saves list
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Needs modernization..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Good hotel but age is taking its toll throughout the hotel especially rooms that resemble nothing an intercon is..

For the clinic it is very convenient and that about it; nabourhood is least inviting and rather intimidating after 7 in the evening.

Limited food choices also with nothing much nearby so car is a must if you need to do any leisurely activity such as dinning or shopping with the nearest decent mall some 10 miles away..

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear MAA8942,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We value and appreciate your feedback. I am disappointed that you found our recent renovation efforts to be less than modern and that our location was not ideal for you. While many restaurants are not within a short walking distance, they are a short drive from the hotel, if you are looking for options outside of our very own Table 45, North Coast Café and C2 Restaurant.

I do hope this will not discourage you from staying with us in the future as we would love the opportunity to arrange for you some fun and efficient means of exploring our great city.

With Kind Regards,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    108
    44
    16
    20
See reviews for
71
67
28
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Thank you to the club lounge attendant, Manya Dailey, who made our stay extra special. The room was modern. The food was a great value and of high quality. It is apparent all of the staff has been trained in customer service.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you want. The front dest is very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear RoyboyNYC,

Your review of our hotel is much appreciated. It is a great thrill to realize that you have had a great stay with us and that you received excellent customer service. I will sure share your comments with Manya and all other staff who contributed to make your stay extra special.

I thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I experienced a very thorough inspection of this hotel and it is absolutely fabulous! If you are planning a convention, conference or even a family reunion the hotel has everything you could possibly need. The facility is also located near many attractions and restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Laureen B,

Many thanks for your generous recommendations of our property. We are happy we were able to meet your expectations on every level. We really do appreciate the mention you have made of our facilities and sincerely thank you for your review.

Best Regards,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Thank you for a wonderful stay, the staff should be highly praised - concierge Tom supplying us with daily information of places to go and things to visit and bell man Terrence made us very welcome and their knowledge and friendship shared it made our holiday. People we spoke to outside the hotel always started the conversation with a surprised tone "what made you want to come to Cleveland? But there was so much to see and do that I'm sure if we spent another 3 weeks there we would still not exhaust everything! In the lounge Manya, Monica and Antoinette looked after us very well particularly at breakfast time preparing us (very) hot tea at our request and porridge each morning. We'd also like to thank those staff who we might not have known the names of but did their jobs well such as the receptionists, housekeepers, catering staff.

Transport is easy, the healthline runs from near the hotel to downtown and from there by metro or other buses you can get anywhere for a daily $5 per day, though it does help to have a car to get to places outside of Cleveland, driving is straightforward.

Room Tip: We had a room on the club floor which looked out towards Lake Erie
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear zpoppy,

Thank you so much for your wonderful remarks about your recent stay with us. It is a great pleasure when we realize that we have been able to completely satisfy our guests as this is always our aim.

I will be sure to share your comments with all our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have recently stayed in the hotel for couple of days on PointBreakes award (5000 points a night, a real deal in the IHG scheme). The hotel location is either the best thing in the world (if you need to visit the Cleveland Clinic - the hotel is connected directly to the clinic through internal corridors and walkways), or the worst thing in the world (if you are a tourist to Cleveland). The hotel is situated on the public transport line though and 5$ metro day card will get you anywhere you want to go. You can buy it on almost any bus station using the machines. The hotel charge 24$ a day for parking - better option is to park across the street at the Cleveland Clinic Parking lot #2 for 10$ a day (but no in-outs).
Check-in was prompt and with a smile. As a Platinum IHG member I got 600 points back (even on award stay), an an upgrade to the "ambassador floor". I got exactly the room I have booked so I'm not sure what the upgrade was apart from a higher floor.
The room itself is exactly what you can expect from IC. Modern, comfortable, with plenty of outlets and storage space. The bathroom was large and specious with a shower and a tub.
The IC almost lived to the standard - couple of (what in other places would be minor) things had detracted from the stay - coming back the first day the room had not been cleaned at 3PM. It took couple of calls and almost an hour to get the room cleaned. (I assume it was the result of combining two reservation together, but still the repose should have been faster). In addition the vents in the bathroom need cleaning badly. There is a light in the closet on movement sensor that keeps turning on every time someone passes by.
All in all, it was a very pleasant stay. If I need to stay in the are again this would be one of my choices.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear MDDCFlyer,

Firstly, thank you for taking some time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Your feedback is valued.

Our hotel is owned and operated by the Cleveland Clinic and so our location on the Cleveland Clinic Campus serves for added convenience for persons visiting the Clinic. However, there are various attractions for tourists off the Campus. Just down the street, there is University Circle, home of several cultural, educational, social and religious organizations. We are also close to various Historic Districts such as Little Italy which boasts various galleries and exquisite dining options. In addition, our hotel is just an 8-10 minute drive from the heart of Downtown, Cleveland which carries attractions such as the Horseshoe Casino and the Progressive Field. Our concierge is also very good about setting up excursions and tours of our great city and so in the future please do not hesitate to take advantage of this service.

I apologize that you felt our valet parking service, with in and out privileges was overpriced. We do make our best attempts at staying competitively priced against other such offerings. I am happy however, that you were pleased with your check-in service and that your room met your expectations. Please accept our apologies that your room was not cleaned in the time you would have liked. We will definitely take notes of the comments you have made about bathroom vents, and the closet light and these are issues we can resolve. Thank you for this feedback.

Essentially, we are pleased that your overall stay was pleasant and we hope to eliminate the glitches that prevented this from being a 5-star stay for you on future visits.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed here just last week, and didn't have a very good experience. On my 2nd day I walked into the room to find the cabinet and mini-bar wide open ...quite odd. The next day was the cake topper ....... came to the room after being out the entire day to find the door to the room wedged opened. Apparently housekeeping forgot to close it ......felt my privacy was violated.

Additional the hotel amenities were quite basic for this high end of the chain. The breakfast at the restaurant was not exciting. After trying it the firs day, never went back.

Table 45 served food that was good enough however in canteen-like setting.

If you have a choice go elsewhere

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Joy2DWorld,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your past stay with us. It is disappointing to realize that your experience with us was not the best it could be.

I apologize that your cabinet door to your minibar was open when you entered your room. Our room service staff does service minibars once items need to be replenished and this was the reason for it being accessed initially. I understand your frustrations about details such as the cake topper being out of place and I sincerely apologize that our staff had not closed your door after servicing your room.

If there was a way we could have made breakfast more appealing to you we would have loved the opportunity to make an attempt at doing so. It is disappointing to hear that you would choose to stay somewhere else in the future. However, if you do decide at some point to come back and stay with us we would very much love to provide you with a more pleasurable experience.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
529 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Park in the Cleveland Clinic for $10, without in/out, rather than $24 at the hotel. We stayed here for an overnite on a crosscountry. The location is great for the Cleveland Clinic but there's not much else immediately adjacent. Little Italy is about a 6 minute drive. The hotel is beautiful. Our room was immaculate. Nicely decorated. 4 different newpapers offered daily along with Business Week. Large bathroom with separate shower and bath.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear chitownsam,

I first off want to say thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We value your feedback.

I apologize if you felt that our valet parking was overpriced. We do research other hotels and offerings and try to keep our offering as competitive as possible. We are a property owned and operated by the Cleveland Clinic and as such we are located on the Cleveland Clinic Campus which creates added convenience for persons with appointments at the Clinic. We are however located just down the street from University Circle which carries attractions such as the Cleveland Museum of Art. Additionally, as you mentioned, dining options including Little Italy are just a short drive away. We are also a short drive from shopping areas including Beachwood Place and from Downtown, Cleveland. Our concierge is also very good about setting up tours and excursions that allows one to discover cultural and scenic aspects of our great city. In the future, please feel free to take advantage of these services.

I am delighted that you found our hotel to be beautiful and that your room was immaculate and nicely decorated. I am also pleased that you enjoyed having newspapers to your avail on a daily basis. All in all, I hope you stay with us the next time you come to Cleveland so that we may provide you with the same great service as well as have the opportunity to show you all that our city has to offer.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
3.5 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9
Metropolitan at The 9
#1 of 35 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Glidden House Inn
Glidden House Inn
#5 of 35 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hotel Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Address: 9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Cleveland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Cleveland is situated on the campus of the prestigious Cleveland Clinic, less than two kilometres (one mile) from the University Circle cultural and arts district. Legacy Village shopping and entertainment, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Progressive Field and the Historic Warehouse District are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cleveland
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.