We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost 5 stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Hotel Cleveland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Almost 5 stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have recently stayed in the hotel for couple of days on PointBreakes award (5000 points a night, a real deal in the IHG scheme). The hotel location is either the best thing in the world (if you need to visit the Cleveland Clinic - the hotel is connected directly to the clinic through internal corridors and walkways), or the worst thing in the world (if you are a tourist to Cleveland). The hotel is situated on the public transport line though and 5$ metro day card will get you anywhere you want to go. You can buy it on almost any bus station using the machines. The hotel charge 24$ a day for parking - better option is to park across the street at the Cleveland Clinic Parking lot #2 for 10$ a day (but no in-outs).
Check-in was prompt and with a smile. As a Platinum IHG member I got 600 points back (even on award stay), an an upgrade to the "ambassador floor". I got exactly the room I have booked so I'm not sure what the upgrade was apart from a higher floor.
The room itself is exactly what you can expect from IC. Modern, comfortable, with plenty of outlets and storage space. The bathroom was large and specious with a shower and a tub.
The IC almost lived to the standard - couple of (what in other places would be minor) things had detracted from the stay - coming back the first day the room had not been cleaned at 3PM. It took couple of calls and almost an hour to get the room cleaned. (I assume it was the result of combining two reservation together, but still the repose should have been faster). In addition the vents in the bathroom need cleaning badly. There is a light in the closet on movement sensor that keeps turning on every time someone passes by.
All in all, it was a very pleasant stay. If I need to stay in the are again this would be one of my choices.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear MDDCFlyer,

Firstly, thank you for taking some time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Your feedback is valued.

Our hotel is owned and operated by the Cleveland Clinic and so our location on the Cleveland Clinic Campus serves for added convenience for persons visiting the Clinic. However, there are various attractions for tourists off the Campus. Just down the street, there is University Circle, home of several cultural, educational, social and religious organizations. We are also close to various Historic Districts such as Little Italy which boasts various galleries and exquisite dining options. In addition, our hotel is just an 8-10 minute drive from the heart of Downtown, Cleveland which carries attractions such as the Horseshoe Casino and the Progressive Field. Our concierge is also very good about setting up excursions and tours of our great city and so in the future please do not hesitate to take advantage of this service.

I apologize that you felt our valet parking service, with in and out privileges was overpriced. We do make our best attempts at staying competitively priced against other such offerings. I am happy however, that you were pleased with your check-in service and that your room met your expectations. Please accept our apologies that your room was not cleaned in the time you would have liked. We will definitely take notes of the comments you have made about bathroom vents, and the closet light and these are issues we can resolve. Thank you for this feedback.

Essentially, we are pleased that your overall stay was pleasant and we hope to eliminate the glitches that prevented this from being a 5-star stay for you on future visits.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    85
    30
    11
    19
See reviews for
60
50
21
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed here just last week, and didn't have a very good experience. On my 2nd day I walked into the room to find the cabinet and mini-bar wide open ...quite odd. The next day was the cake topper ....... came to the room after being out the entire day to find the door to the room wedged opened. Apparently housekeeping forgot to close it ......felt my privacy was violated.

Additional the hotel amenities were quite basic for this high end of the chain. The breakfast at the restaurant was not exciting. After trying it the firs day, never went back.

Table 45 served food that was good enough however in canteen-like setting.

If you have a choice go elsewhere

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Joy2DWorld,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your past stay with us. It is disappointing to realize that your experience with us was not the best it could be.

I apologize that your cabinet door to your minibar was open when you entered your room. Our room service staff does service minibars once items need to be replenished and this was the reason for it being accessed initially. I understand your frustrations about details such as the cake topper being out of place and I sincerely apologize that our staff had not closed your door after servicing your room.

If there was a way we could have made breakfast more appealing to you we would have loved the opportunity to make an attempt at doing so. It is disappointing to hear that you would choose to stay somewhere else in the future. However, if you do decide at some point to come back and stay with us we would very much love to provide you with a more pleasurable experience.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Park in the Cleveland Clinic for $10, without in/out, rather than $24 at the hotel. We stayed here for an overnite on a crosscountry. The location is great for the Cleveland Clinic but there's not much else immediately adjacent. Little Italy is about a 6 minute drive. The hotel is beautiful. Our room was immaculate. Nicely decorated. 4 different newpapers offered daily along with Business Week. Large bathroom with separate shower and bath.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear chitownsam,

I first off want to say thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We value your feedback.

I apologize if you felt that our valet parking was overpriced. We do research other hotels and offerings and try to keep our offering as competitive as possible. We are a property owned and operated by the Cleveland Clinic and as such we are located on the Cleveland Clinic Campus which creates added convenience for persons with appointments at the Clinic. We are however located just down the street from University Circle which carries attractions such as the Cleveland Museum of Art. Additionally, as you mentioned, dining options including Little Italy are just a short drive away. We are also a short drive from shopping areas including Beachwood Place and from Downtown, Cleveland. Our concierge is also very good about setting up tours and excursions that allows one to discover cultural and scenic aspects of our great city. In the future, please feel free to take advantage of these services.

I am delighted that you found our hotel to be beautiful and that your room was immaculate and nicely decorated. I am also pleased that you enjoyed having newspapers to your avail on a daily basis. All in all, I hope you stay with us the next time you come to Cleveland so that we may provide you with the same great service as well as have the opportunity to show you all that our city has to offer.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Everyone we met from the moment we arrived was helpful, friendly and efficient! We were actually in Cleveland for a conference in a different downtown hotel but opted to stay here instead. It was easy to get to the other location (10 minute drive), the valet always brought our car quickly and so there was no inconvenience being at this other location. The hotel was fabulous, our room was well appointed, clean and the beds so comfortable it made it hard to get up and go to our meetings! We would definitely stay and again and highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The Club Floor was a great amenity - Consider these rooms when booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear freqtrav123,

Many thanks for your wonderful review of our hotel! We are thrilled whenever we get the opportunity to impress our guests in such a manner. I will be sure to share your feedback with all our staff and we look forward to creating more memorable experiences for you the next time you visit us.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonhead
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We have stayed at this Hotel several times in the last year and a half and the staff are always very nice to work with and go out of their way to assist us.
We were disappointed this time in the new remodeling. It looks very hospital like...all white walls and industrial strength carpeting and while leather furniture. Not warm and inviting. A lot of sick people and their families stay at this hotel and it would have been a more welcoming experience to have a more homelike environment than the current décor.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear sharonsmom,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay with us. I am happy you have consistently had pleasurable stays as this is always our aim. We appreciate your feedback regarding our recent renovation as this helps us to anticipate our guests’ needs in the future. On your next visit to Cleveland, we hope to be able to provide you a more comfortable stay.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Location of the hotel is great for Severance Hall or Case Western, but not great for downtown attractions unless you want to take a cab. The hotel is connected to the Cleveland Clinic, so it can be a blessing or a little depressing. Staff was attentive and there was a nice greeting. Room was extremely clean. The room was missing frequent guest amenities. We purchased Club Lounge access and we were very pleased. Antionette was on duty in the lounge and was supremely helpful in dispensing travel knowledge and knew everyone's names. She is a true asset to the property and has the grace and professionalism I wish I could find in more employees. Food was delicious in the lounge. We are on the fence as to whether we will return. It is certainly nicer than your average hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear ObanSkye,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback. Our property is indeed close to Severance Hall and Case Western. We are operated by the Cleveland Clinic and as such this hotel is located on the Cleveland Clinic Campus and is connected to the main building via skyway for convenience to guests who have appointments at the Clinic. We are about 4 miles away from Downtown which is just about an 8-10 minute drive. There is also efficient transportation including taxi service as well as the RTA Health line which runs into Downtown. I hope you were made aware of such means and that your travels were not difficult.

I am happy that our staff was attentive and greeted you well and that your room was extremely clean. I do however apologize that you were missing amenities. In the future, please feel free to let our front desk know of any such issues so we can resolve them immediately. Thank you for highlighting the excellent service provided my Antoinette in the Club Lounge. I will be sure to share your feedback with her as well as the rest of our staff who made your stay comfortable.
We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a more than average experience the next time you visit Cleveland.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This hotel is beautiful. Our room was very clean. All of the staff we met were excellent. We stayed on the Club level. Very private. We did not hear a sound all night....so quiet! It was very nice having the Club level dining and beverage area. View was great! The very best TLC was given by Manya in the Clubhouse. We would definitely return

Room Tip: Club level 14th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherice B, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear SusanneRenee,

Thank you for giving our hotel an outstanding review. It is a great pleasure to learn that you experienced the high level of service we set out to provide. I will be sure to share your comments with Manya as well as all our staff. We look forward to hosting you and creating another wonderful experience for you the next time you visit.

Sincerely,
Sherice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hotel Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Address: 9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#10 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Cleveland 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Cleveland is situated on the campus of the prestigious Cleveland Clinic, less than two kilometres (one mile) from the University Circle cultural and arts district. Legacy Village shopping and entertainment, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Progressive Field and the Historic Warehouse District are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cleveland
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.