We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes a difficult experience a pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Hotel Cleveland to your Saves list
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Makes a difficult experience a pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The club lounge attendants and the club floor ease ones stay with their cheery warm presence , yummy things to snack on during the day, and no need to face a restaurant for bfast. Each one went above and beyond the call of duty by helping with orders to carry to clinic , getting a room switched, finding blueberries, and anything special to make ones stay more comfortable and pleasant !
The refurbished rooms are lovely. The beds are extremely comfortable .

My only complaint about the hotel is no organic or wild raised food in the restaurants and the bath towels are not large soft and fluffy but tired fairly large towels .

Otherwise the staff everywhere could not be kinder or more solicitis .

The skyway makes getting back and forth to the Cleveland clinic stress less .

Room Tip: Club floor facing Lake Erie
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Pam D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experiences while staying at the InterContinental Hotel Cleveland. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and that our staff made your stay pleasurable during a difficult time. We have a wonderful group of ladies in the Club Lounge and appreciate the accolades to them on a job well done! We will share your comments with our staff and thank them for the exceptional service they continue to deliver to our guests.

Your comments regarding our bath towels and selection of organic and wild raised food selections will be shared with our team. Again, we appreciate your feed back. Thank you for staying with us.

Regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    93
    38
    14
    19
See reviews for
67
56
23
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Even though our stay here was not under the best of circumstances, tests at the adjoining Cleveland Clinic as well as during the coldest day recorded since the 1800's, this hotel was a wonderful experience. This is a very convenient location for such a trip as there is a skyway that goes directly from the hotel to the clinic. From check in to check out and everything in between, the staff are more than helpful and professionally polite. Whatever we needed was done promptly with a simple phone call. The Ambassador Suite was beautiful, spacious, very clean and nicely appointed. The room service was very good, delivered when promised, hot and cold dishes were just that and tasty. The 45 restaurant was very good also. Should we ever need to come to Cleveland again, we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Novice276,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are thrilled to hear that, given the circumstances, you enjoyed your time with us! We are happy to have been able to offer you excellent service, comfortable accommodations and wonderful dining experiences.

We would love to have you back should your leisurely travels bring you back to Cleveland.

Kind regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the InterContinental Hotel. From the time we arrived Thomas the concierge and Rex, the bell man took great care of us, assuring that we were quickly and comfortably in our luxurious room. The restaurant and 45 pub are excellent in food and value. The desk people, e.g. Vanessa and Kaley, et al are wonderful!

Room Tip: Our room, on the North side was perfect for us, great view!
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally friendly, InterCon. has e-friendly practices throughout their system.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Doug L,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It’s something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We will be sure to pass your kind words along to Tom, Rex, Vanessa, Kaley and the rest of our staff. Thanks again for staying with us.

We hope to see you again soon!
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My husband and I travel to Cleveland a couple times a year to visit family. Usually we stay at the Glidden House, but lately we've been able to hear all of our neighbors and decided to try a new hotel.

Upon booking, I called the hotel to ask if the rooms are quiet, etc. I was assured it was a well-made building and they never have any noise issues. After I booked the room, my husband did more research online and saw people have been complaining about some construction they are doing.

When I checked in, the woman confirmed they were doing construction, but that she would put us in a quiet part of the hotel. Early the next morning, we were woken up to loud noises, hammers and drilling. We could also hear people in the hallway outside of our door, and the women cleaning the bathroom in the room next door.

It is not a quiet hotel, and the construction is supposed to last through the spring. Sadly, it's no better than Glidden House, just more expensive. :(

Room Tip: Try to find out where the construction is happening and ask for a different wing. We tried that, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear JensenDavis,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the InterContinental Hotel Cleveland. We are sorry to hear you had a less than pleasant stay with us and apologize for the shortcomings you experienced as a result of the noise. As you noted, our hotel is undergoing a renovation which includes an updated design of all of our guestrooms. Our goal is to have as little impact to our guests as possible while these improvements are being made. We regret that our current renovation had a negative impact on your stay and hope to offer you a more pleasant stay in the future.

Sincerely,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed 8 days during my sister`s surgery at Cleveland Clinic in December. Best thing staying at this hotel was the direct connection from Hotel to Cleveland Clinic via sky walk. You can just step out from the elevator and after a short walk you can enter the Cleveland Clinic. If you need to visit the Clinic often during your stay and if you had surgery and need to recover; hotel seems to be the best option. However, price was expensive if you compare with other hotels in the area. I arrived the hotel in the evening and checkin process completed quickly and wifi password provided during the checkin, but I couldn`t access the wifi on the next day, but guest relations solved the connection problem immediately. Room size was OK and there were plenty of all amenities in the room...I didn`t try the breakfast as there were some options inside the Clinic such as Au Bon Pain, Starbucks and dining area restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Tolga S,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed our proximity to the Cleveland Clinic and amenities. We are also happy to hear that our guest relations staff was able to quickly address your concerns and assist you with obtaining WiFi access. Again, thank you for your feedback. We would love to have you as our guest again.

Regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, NC
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Hotel staff very accommodating; large rooms, very comfy beds, updated large bathroom. No complaints, and liked convenience of walking inside to Cleveland Clinic (especially in December). They are doing some remodeling and it was noisy at times. A little surprised at the wear on the chair in the room. Quiet, nice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Noisettiana,

Thank you for your review of the InterContinental Cleveland. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be accommodating to your needs. We appreciate you taking note of our current renovation. We strive is to make our guests as comfortable as possible during this time and we apologize for the shortcomings you experienced.

Again, we thank you for your feedback and look forward to showing you what we've done during your next visit to Cleveland.

Wishing you a happy new year,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Had a conference at the cleveland clinic and stayed at the hotel overnight. The hotel is connected to cleveland clinic so you do not have to walk outside at all. The rooms were spacious, beds very comfortable and the staff responsive and attentive, Ate the the restaurant which had high quality foods served in a delightful atmosphere with good service.

Room Tip: There are no greats views so it doesn't really matter although the halls can be long and the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Jason G,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location, spacious accommodations, staff and dining experience! We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Cleveland.

Happy Holidays,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hotel Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Address: 9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#11 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Cleveland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Cleveland is situated on the campus of the prestigious Cleveland Clinic, less than two kilometres (one mile) from the University Circle cultural and arts district. Legacy Village shopping and entertainment, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Progressive Field and the Historic Warehouse District are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cleveland
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.