We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel to Cleveland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Hotel Cleveland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Travel to Cleveland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed 8 days during my sister`s surgery at Cleveland Clinic in December. Best thing staying at this hotel was the direct connection from Hotel to Cleveland Clinic via sky walk. You can just step out from the elevator and after a short walk you can enter the Cleveland Clinic. If you need to visit the Clinic often during your stay and if you had surgery and need to recover; hotel seems to be the best option. However, price was expensive if you compare with other hotels in the area. I arrived the hotel in the evening and checkin process completed quickly and wifi password provided during the checkin, but I couldn`t access the wifi on the next day, but guest relations solved the connection problem immediately. Room size was OK and there were plenty of all amenities in the room...I didn`t try the breakfast as there were some options inside the Clinic such as Au Bon Pain, Starbucks and dining area restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Tolga S,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed our proximity to the Cleveland Clinic and amenities. We are also happy to hear that our guest relations staff was able to quickly address your concerns and assist you with obtaining WiFi access. Again, thank you for your feedback. We would love to have you as our guest again.

Regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    84
    30
    11
    19
See reviews for
60
50
21
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, NC
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Hotel staff very accommodating; large rooms, very comfy beds, updated large bathroom. No complaints, and liked convenience of walking inside to Cleveland Clinic (especially in December). They are doing some remodeling and it was noisy at times. A little surprised at the wear on the chair in the room. Quiet, nice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Noisettiana,

Thank you for your review of the InterContinental Cleveland. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be accommodating to your needs. We appreciate you taking note of our current renovation. We strive is to make our guests as comfortable as possible during this time and we apologize for the shortcomings you experienced.

Again, we thank you for your feedback and look forward to showing you what we've done during your next visit to Cleveland.

Wishing you a happy new year,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Had a conference at the cleveland clinic and stayed at the hotel overnight. The hotel is connected to cleveland clinic so you do not have to walk outside at all. The rooms were spacious, beds very comfortable and the staff responsive and attentive, Ate the the restaurant which had high quality foods served in a delightful atmosphere with good service.

Room Tip: There are no greats views so it doesn't really matter although the halls can be long and the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Jason G,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location, spacious accommodations, staff and dining experience! We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Cleveland.

Happy Holidays,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed here for a conference and have mixed opinions about the hotel. The public space, the conference, the conference food, service at the lounge and the hotel room were all good. However, the front desk service, the location of the hotel and the restaurant were all a bit of a disappointment. Although my check-out experience was good, the check-in service was not that great as it was a little slow and not so friendly--topped off by the front desk not having any one dollar bills to break a larger bill for tips (at 9pm). The restaurant was quite expensive for breakfast, although the breakfast buffet was very nice. Lastly, the location right on the campus of the Cleveland Clinic is a bit depressing and does not have any real dining options nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Eric H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with our team following your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our public space, conference services and accommodations. However, we are disappointed to hear that you were dissatisfied with other aspects of your stay.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for your check-in experience and any inconveniences this may have caused. We sincerely regret that the service delivered by our staff and the location of our hotel did not live-up to your expectations.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back so that we may restore your trust and loyalty in the InterContinental Cleveland.

Kind Regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 10 years since it opened and stayed there once again last week when visiting as an outpatient at the Cleveland Clinic, and it consistently impresses. Renovations are now being done in the lobby and room floors to create a more sleek modern look though it didn't look old or worn during our last stay. From the concierge positioned at the front entry to the front desk staff and bellmen, the service is outstanding. They welcome you like an old friend and will even escort you to your room should you require assistance. We stayed on the executive floor and since the club room was being renovated they made sure we knew that a temporary club was available on the main floor. The onsite restaurant (Table 45) is run by one of the top chefs in Cleveland. Chocolates and fresh fruit were waiting in our room for us and after a day of flying was a welcome sight! If you are there to visit the Cleveland Clinic there is an attached walkway to the hotel so one doesn't even need to go outside to access the hospital. We noticed that many of the hotel staff were the same as we have had in years past which speaks volumes about the type of management and care their employees receive. This only translates into a warm and welcoming feel for visitors and a true feeling of coming home. - The rooms are appointed beautifully, bathroom amenities are top of the line and as a frequent traveler I much appreciate the dental kit amenity as well.
This is the only hotel choice for us whenever we visit Cleveland, whether for business or personal travel. Good location, great staff, this is what a hotel experience should be!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear shoshiw,

We thank you very much for your 5-star review and kind words about our property. We are certainly thrilled to know that you enjoyed your treat! We are pleased to hear that our staff has been accommodating, pleasant, and eager to help during your time with us. We recognize the fact that the majority of our guests are not here on vacation therefore, our staff puts in the extra effort to ensure that each individuals’ stay is a comfortable, worry-free one. We are glad to hear that in your case we continue to exceed those expectations. We have a tremendous team of individuals that work to ensure every guest that walks through our doors feels welcomed and we are proud to count you among our friends. We are honored to continue to provide you with 5-star service and appreciate your loyalty to our hotel.

We appreciate you taking the time to note our current renovation. We couldn't be more excited about our new look and feel and look forward to showing you what we've done!

Wishing you a happy and healthy new year,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The hotel was fantastic for when a family member is at the Cleveland Clinic. A sky walk across from the hotel and when I needed to extend my stay by another day, the desk staff was very accommodating. The rooms are not particularly fancy and the view is nothing to write home about, but the convenience is worth the cost. The valet did lose my rent car, and it took 30 minutes to find, but they find it. They were particularly helpful getting a bottle of sparkling water for me. A very good experience for a difficult visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear ROmom,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay despite the circumstances surrounding your visit and that our staff was able to take great care of you. It was a pleasure to have had you as our guest.

Regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boardman, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a business trade show. We came into town early to attend the Browns/Steelers game before the show and were able to store our luggage since the rooms were not yet prepared. The staff was top notch, the room was beautiful and the dining at Table 45 was wonderful. Everything was excellent, I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Esin916,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the InterContinental Cleveland. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your accommodations and dining experience at Table 45. For you to label our staff as "top notch" is a great honor. We have a wonderful team and they'll be happy to hear that their hard work and dedication to our guests doesn't go unnoticed. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hotel Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Address: 9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#10 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Cleveland 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Cleveland is situated on the campus of the prestigious Cleveland Clinic, less than two kilometres (one mile) from the University Circle cultural and arts district. Legacy Village shopping and entertainment, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Progressive Field and the Historic Warehouse District are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cleveland
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.