We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Choice when visiting Cleveland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Hotel Cleveland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Top Choice when visiting Cleveland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 10 years since it opened and stayed there once again last week when visiting as an outpatient at the Cleveland Clinic, and it consistently impresses. Renovations are now being done in the lobby and room floors to create a more sleek modern look though it didn't look old or worn during our last stay. From the concierge positioned at the front entry to the front desk staff and bellmen, the service is outstanding. They welcome you like an old friend and will even escort you to your room should you require assistance. We stayed on the executive floor and since the club room was being renovated they made sure we knew that a temporary club was available on the main floor. The onsite restaurant (Table 45) is run by one of the top chefs in Cleveland. Chocolates and fresh fruit were waiting in our room for us and after a day of flying was a welcome sight! If you are there to visit the Cleveland Clinic there is an attached walkway to the hotel so one doesn't even need to go outside to access the hospital. We noticed that many of the hotel staff were the same as we have had in years past which speaks volumes about the type of management and care their employees receive. This only translates into a warm and welcoming feel for visitors and a true feeling of coming home. - The rooms are appointed beautifully, bathroom amenities are top of the line and as a frequent traveler I much appreciate the dental kit amenity as well.
This is the only hotel choice for us whenever we visit Cleveland, whether for business or personal travel. Good location, great staff, this is what a hotel experience should be!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear shoshiw,

We thank you very much for your 5-star review and kind words about our property. We are certainly thrilled to know that you enjoyed your treat! We are pleased to hear that our staff has been accommodating, pleasant, and eager to help during your time with us. We recognize the fact that the majority of our guests are not here on vacation therefore, our staff puts in the extra effort to ensure that each individuals’ stay is a comfortable, worry-free one. We are glad to hear that in your case we continue to exceed those expectations. We have a tremendous team of individuals that work to ensure every guest that walks through our doors feels welcomed and we are proud to count you among our friends. We are honored to continue to provide you with 5-star service and appreciate your loyalty to our hotel.

We appreciate you taking the time to note our current renovation. We couldn't be more excited about our new look and feel and look forward to showing you what we've done!

Wishing you a happy and healthy new year,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    85
    30
    11
    19
See reviews for
60
50
21
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
houston, tx
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The hotel was fantastic for when a family member is at the Cleveland Clinic. A sky walk across from the hotel and when I needed to extend my stay by another day, the desk staff was very accommodating. The rooms are not particularly fancy and the view is nothing to write home about, but the convenience is worth the cost. The valet did lose my rent car, and it took 30 minutes to find, but they find it. They were particularly helpful getting a bottle of sparkling water for me. A very good experience for a difficult visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear ROmom,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay despite the circumstances surrounding your visit and that our staff was able to take great care of you. It was a pleasure to have had you as our guest.

Regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boardman, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a business trade show. We came into town early to attend the Browns/Steelers game before the show and were able to store our luggage since the rooms were not yet prepared. The staff was top notch, the room was beautiful and the dining at Table 45 was wonderful. Everything was excellent, I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Esin916,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the InterContinental Cleveland. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your accommodations and dining experience at Table 45. For you to label our staff as "top notch" is a great honor. We have a wonderful team and they'll be happy to hear that their hard work and dedication to our guests doesn't go unnoticed. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I am a frequent traveler and have stayed in hundreds of hotels. With that said, this was one of the best hotels I've stayed in.

The hotel is located and actually connected to the Cleveland clinic. The hotel is beautiful and very well maintained. There is an excellent restaurant onsite (Table 45) and its open till 11:00 pm! Nice for hungry late arrivers and super rare.

The rooms are spacious suites. The beds are more comfortable than any I can remember at other chains. The rooms have a mini bar but no fridge or microwave. Plenty of room in the bathroom for a couple to get ready at the same time.

The service here is top notch. Ive never experienced better

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Wyomingdan,

We thank you very much for your 5-star review and kind words about our property. We are honored to be among one of the best hotels you've stayed at and are pleased and proud to count you among our customers. We take great pride in offering our guests the highest quality service and are pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My wife was having outpatient surgery at the clinic so we stayed 2 nights at the Intercon . Attached by a skyway to the Clinic, this first class hotel surprises with the folded up wheelchairs outside of seemingly every third door. The property has an impressive lobby and public area. The rooms are commodious but attention to maintenance needs improvement. The restaurants are a bit pricey for what you get. The service is usually 1st rate. Unfortunately when we were there they were clearing several floors for the retinue of some important hospital patient. We, with only one room suffered the consequences. The health club has a full array of equipment. The free wi-fi is a little pesky but more than adequate. If you need a place to spend a night while a friend or loved one is at the Clinic The intercon is the place to be.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear psyduck1947,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our facility and spacious rooms. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced as we take these comments seriously. We look forward to offering you a more pleasant stay in the future.

Regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I recently attended a conference at the Cleveland Clinic and stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel and Conference Center. Everyone was very friendly and attentive. The accommadations clean and comfortable. I would definitly recommend staying here especially if attending a conference.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Laurie H,

Thank you very much for sharing details of your recent stay. We're glad you enjoyed our clean and comfortable accommodations and we're most happy to hear that our staff was attentive to your needs during your time with us. We hope you found the conference to be equally enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Each and every one of the people working in this hotel go all the way to make you feel welcomed and at home.
From the moment we arrived, Thereza at the front desk welcomed us as friends and made sure that we had the room as requested.
Checking out we were helped by Brenda and Tasia, also at the front desk.
My wife and I are Cleveland Clinic patients and think that is a blessing to have the hotel connected to the clinic.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear max275,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We appreciate very much your accolades to Thereza, Brenda and Tasia and will be sure to pass on your kind words. We take great pride in making our guests feel welcomed and are happy to hear that you felt at home during your time with us. Thank you again for feedback.

Regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hotel Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Address: 9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#10 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Cleveland 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Cleveland is situated on the campus of the prestigious Cleveland Clinic, less than two kilometres (one mile) from the University Circle cultural and arts district. Legacy Village shopping and entertainment, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Progressive Field and the Historic Warehouse District are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cleveland
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.