We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Hotel Cleveland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Wonderful place to stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I always look forward to staying here! Beautiful property, large clean rooms and very helpful staff. Excellent conference facilities and if you are coming to the Cleveland Clinic, this is the place to stay. I think the club lounge attendants are some of the best! Monica is so welcoming and friendly! Several people mention noise issues with sirens, but I have never had a problem with that. Rooms keep sound out pretty well.

Room Tip: 14th floor, club level, is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Kelliwynne,

Thank you for sharing your positive experiences at our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoy our conference facilities and accommodations. We certainly appreciate your comments regarding our Club Lounge and will be sure to share your kind remarks with Monica. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Cleveland!

Warm regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    76
    28
    10
    19
See reviews for
52
46
21
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Excellent hotel. Very large and clean rooms. Dedicated concierge service, staff at entrance to greet and direct guests, a bell captain on shift (a rarity nowadays). Though far from downtown, hotel is in front of 93rd Health Line Bus that goes back-forth to downtown. Sometimes noisy due to siren as hotel is in front of the Cleveland Medical Center. But overall, an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Dags M,

Thank you for sharing your positive experiences at our hotel during your recent trip to Cleveland. It is always nice to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. We hope you were able to use the HealthLine to check out some popular Cleveland destinations! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were attending a wedding reception at this hotel, and as a business traveller, I have never experienced such an inept staff throughout the hotel.

The reception desk is poorly staffed.

I had two rooms. Our first room stunk of smoke - yet housekeeping felt it was fine - the Bellman from the hotel walked into the room and walked right out saying it stunk.

Our second room had someone else staying in it - guess we were supposed to bunk with another family.

When the hotel got us 2 new rooms, we couldn't get in to one of them - 10 sets of keys - none would open it. Finally called security at 100a to demand they come up and let us in.

Finally checking out. They charged me three times for two rooms. It took 4 phone calls and 3 e-mails to get this corrected.

I would suggest that the manager of this hotel send his reception staff, front desk assistant manager, and accounting department back to training - I for one - will NEVER STAY at this hotel again.

BTW - Great place for a wedding reception - that was flawless - the staff there know how to deliver a first class experience and really take care of their guests - its a shame the hotel does not follow suit...

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear LuvinGCM,

Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your stay at the InterContinental Cleveland. We are sorry to read that although you did enjoy the wedding reception, the rest of your stay fell below your expectations. Please accept our deepest apology for the experience you had with your room accommodations and billing error. We are sorry that this affected your stay negatively. The feedback we receive from valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. While you stated your intention not to return, we hope you will reconsider and give us the chance to change your impression of our hotel. I am confident if you returned you would have a more memorable and favorable visit.

Sincerely,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC, USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

very comfortable, good room service... it's a little noisy just because it's next to a hospital and you hear sirens going to the ER. and parking is $25/day for valet, and if you do the cheaper self-park option you pay each time you go in and out... that's pretty standard i guess but it was the only part of our stay that was less than what we hoped for.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear travelinbooth,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that you found your accommodations to be comfortable and enjoyed our in-room dining options. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here for my 1 year anniversary. Service was excellent, our room was spacious, the bed very comfortable. The only two negatives: there was some mildew on the shower curtain and water pressure in the shower was somewhat low.
I do, however, recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear kalua24,

Thank you for your review of the InterContinental Cleveland and thank you for choosing our property to celebrate your anniversary! It is always an honor to be a part of such great moments in our guests’ lives and I am pleased to hear that we were able to make your experience memorable. We look forward to celebrating with you next year.

Wishing you many more years of happiness,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you are visiting Cleveland Clinic, this is the best option for you. A nice hotel right in the middle of the Clinic facilities. Most of the guests seem to be visiting the Clinic. If you don't have any business with the Cleveland Clinic, this is somewhat away from rest of the activity in Cleveland, and may not be your best option. The hotel is well maintained, and for my stay, I did not find the concerns raised by some other reviewers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear dadoc001,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We loved our stay here. Our room was spacious. Everything was very clean. The mornings were very enjoyable with breakfast in the club lounge. Manya was very attentive. She made sure that everything was taken care of. Thank you Manya!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear lexibaby6,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We appreciate your wonderful remarks regarding the service you received from Manya, we will pass on your kind words to her. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Hotel Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Address: 9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#9 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Cleveland 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Cleveland is situated on the campus of the prestigious Cleveland Clinic, less than two kilometres (one mile) from the University Circle cultural and arts district. Legacy Village shopping and entertainment, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Progressive Field and the Historic Warehouse District are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cleveland
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.