We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Service, Spacious Comfortable Rooms, Housekeeping Needs Work” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Hotel Cleveland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, NY
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Delightful Service, Spacious Comfortable Rooms, Housekeeping Needs Work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Spent two nights here while attending a college alumni event. I usually don't stay in Downtown Cleveland since it's a good hour from Oberlin, where I was attending meetings, but my husband wanted to see the Museum and spend some time in the city. We found the hotel very nice overall. The front desk upgraded us to a club level room at check in, which was unexpected and very well appreciated. The club room had some nice snacks and a good breakfast. The desk staff in the club room could not have been kinder. The room was spacious, comfortable, and plush, with a great TV and a fantastic bathroom. The furniture is a bit scuffed and there is wear and tear in more than a few places. Housekeeping was prompt but the room never felt totally clean. This is a heavily trafficked hotel adjacent to the Cleveland clinic in a rather deserted part of town. The hotel is big, but never felt crowded despite hosting a convention while we were there. If you have a car, use the parking lot across the street (up to $10 daily) and skip the valet. Cabs are hard to find there and the dispatcher at the driveway wasn't able to get us one, and ended up offering us the house limo, at a price we didn't want to pay so we just called one ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear STYLEONTHEGO,

Thank you so much for your review of the InterContinental Hotel Cleveland. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It is always nice to have the opportunity to treat our guests to a complimentary upgrade and we’re glad that you were pleasantly surprised. We do apologize for your disappointment with the housekeeping service and that you felt the furniture was worn. Beginning this November, all of our guestrooms will be renovated and we would love to show you what we've done! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    79
    28
    11
    19
See reviews for
56
47
21
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Excellent. Manya and all the people working in the concierge floor are wonderful. I'm a visiting physician at the Cleveland Clinic, and I can highly recommend this hotel. The facility is great, and the friendly service is wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear PaulDavidSanJose_CA,

It's wonderful to hear that you had an excellent stay at the InterContinental Cleveland, thank you for sharing your experience! Your accolades will be shared with our Club Floor staff. We look forward to having the pleasure to serve you again soon.

Regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Although this hotel is a bit pricey, so are all of the hotels I researched in downtown Cleveland. This hotel has a parking garage directly across the street for only 10$ per day. Most hotels charge an excessive amount for valet parking and even self-parking. It was nice having the option of parking in the garage. Also, every staff member we encountered was extremely friendly. We were not able to check in until very late Friday night and the staff made the check in quick and painless. The room we were given was extremely spacious. The bathroom was enormous! Also, the fitness center at this hotel is much nicer than standard hotel fitness rooms. The concierge was not in at the time we were in the lobby, but other staff members went out of their way to help us around the city. Also, we asked to have a cab pick us up and we waited less than 5 minutes before the cab was there for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Liz D,

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the hotel. We are certainly thrilled to know that you enjoyed the hotel services and that you took the time to post your positive comments. We would love to have you as our guest again!

Sincerely,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

On a road trip, unfortunately this place didn't compare so well with other hotels we'd stayed at. No fridge, mini bar broken so it won't open, and pricey parking go against it. On the plus side the room and bathroom were large and clean (mostly - I was a bit suspicious of the stains on the shower door) and we had a coffee maker and free wifi. One major problem for me was the lack of vanity mirror/place to do my makeup other than the shaving mirror in the bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Eyves,

Thank you for the review of your stay with us in Cleveland. We're delighted that you were able to enjoy your in-room coffee maker and complimentary WiFi. We do apologize for any shortcomings you encountered during your stay and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We look forward to serving you again and hope to you offer a more pleasant stay in the future.

Sincerely,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlefield, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

First of all, let me begin by saying that the staff, from the front desk, to the valet were all 100% on their game. They were accommodating, helpful, and willing to do whatever they could to make our stay enjoyable...which it was.

What was unexpected was the lack of "luxury" in what is advertised as a 5 Star hotel. You've got to be kidding me! Yes, the service was possibly 4 star, but the actual hotel was definitely not up to par.

I have photos, and will post them later, but a few highlights of our "5 Star" accommodations were: Soap scum on the glass shower door, stains (large) on the bathroom wall, stains on the carpet, rusty hinges on shower door, a chunk of wood missing off the legs of a table, and a large cigarette burn (a hole you could put your finger through) in the side of the upholstered chair. It is a non-smoking hotel, so that must have been there for quite a while.

As you can see from my other reviews, I don't normally stay in 5 star hotels, but I ALWAYS expect the room to be nicer than what this was. The room in general was "dowdy". A strange mix of chrome lamps and photo frames, w/dark wood, and a carpet that looked like it had not been cleaned in more than a year.

The bed was very comfortable, so I had no complaints about that. Our stay was nice because of the staff, but you could have put them in a Motel 6 and they would have made us comfortable. For the money...in fact, for anything more than $59, I would expect much more in the way of accommodations than what this hotel provided.

Room Tip: Nice and close to the art museum, Little Italy (try Fuel for coffee!), and the downtown area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Gvis2020traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know our employees made your stay a little brighter and took care of your needs. But I am sorry to hear that overall you were disappointed with your experience. We strive for all our guests to feel they are receiving what they pay for and it is unfortunate that you felt your stay wasn’t a value for money. I hope you will consider coming to stay with us again so we can have the chance to make a more favorable impression on you and show you the service standards the InterContinental Cleveland prides itself on. Please contact our Director of Front Office, Shehani DeMarseille, at shehani.demarseille@ihg.com for any assistance needed with future bookings.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

First impressions count, and so far I am not impressed. I have enjoyed a variety of classes of hotels, but my pet peeve is a hotel that charges 5 star prices with 2 star service. That is the case here. I arrived at 6:30 tonight and faced chaos with the valet service. No one really seemed in charge and cars were scattered everywhere. When I asked where to leave my car, I was given a blank stare and no answer. I have no problem parking my own car, but if you are going to charge $24 a night for valet, do it right. Check in was fine, and the reception clerk was nice. Room was nice, but nothing exceptional. Nice bed, bath and toiletries, but only 2 towels for a king room. Couldn't get a few of the lamps to work. Called for a wake up call and put on hold for 5 minutes. Gave up and called back later. Put on hold again (twice) when I called for room service, and waited 65 minutes before dinner arrived. No apology or explanation. Salmon was good. The biggest benefit to this hotel is the convenience to the Cleveland Clinic. I have an appointment tomorrow morning and appreciate the 2:00 checkout time and the sky walk to the main buildings. That said, I most likely will not stay here again. The hotel is very nice looking, but the poor service really hinders its appeal. I realize that most of these criticisms are pretty minor, and I would overlook them at most hotels, but if a hotel presents itself as 5 stars, it should live up to its name.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Michiganmom45,

Thank you for sharing your experiences at our hotel. Please allow me to apologize for the issues you experienced throughout your stay. None of the events you have described are up to InterContinental standards and do not reflect the type of service we strive to provide to our guests. I sincerely regret that this visit has ruined your impression of our hotel and staff. We hope that we can restore your confidence in the InterContinental Cleveland by giving us another opportunity to provide you with excellent InterContinental service.

Kind regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was one of the WORST hotel experiences we have EVER HAD!!! The Hotel Double Charged us for rooms while my husband was in the Cleveland Clinic and then when we spoke with Andrew Castro a Manager he said the billing would all be taken care of.....Which it has not ! We had to file a complaint with our credit card after repeated attempts to get the hotel to correct the billing error. The room was also a disappointment, the drapes do not pull shut, no clean towels the room was never cleaned had to call just to get our trash taken out. Bottom they are looking to take advantage of people going to the clinic caring for loved ones. YOU DO NOT NEED THIS STRESSFUL HORRIBLE HOTEL.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Sandy B,

Thank you for the information you provided regarding your recent stay. We appreciate and value all feedback we receive and we are sorry to hear you had a less than pleasant stay with us. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced as a result of the billing issue. The error has been corrected and a refund was applied to your credit card along with 30,000 reward club points that were issued during your stay. Please contact me at ashley.sewell@ihg.com and I would be more than happy to email you a copy of the updated folio. Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Gold member, we hope to restore your confidence in our hotel and welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
Charming, Mid-r...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Glidden House Inn
Glidden House Inn
#1 of 33 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Quiet, Restaura...
Show More
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
3.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
Restaurant, Mid...
Show More
3.8 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hotel Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Address: 9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#10 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Cleveland 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Cleveland is situated on the campus of the prestigious Cleveland Clinic, less than two kilometres (one mile) from the University Circle cultural and arts district. Legacy Village shopping and entertainment, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Progressive Field and the Historic Warehouse District are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cleveland
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.