We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very professional hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Hotel Cleveland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very professional hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed two nights in October for work. The hotel was very clean, well run, and new. If you're going to the clinic this is clearly your best option. The room was nice. Room service was a little slow around midnight. This might be universal to all hotels though. Breakfast in the restaurant was good but there weren't any good quick-bite options. Would have loved a Starbucks. But otherwise there are a couple dining options, the valets are super fast, and the beds were nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear malibert,

Thank you for the wonderful review of the hotel during your stay in October. A short walk to the Cleveland Clinic provides additional dining options or a quick-bite for any meal as well as a Starbucks. Next time you visit we will be sure to direct you to the Starbucks.

Again thank you for the review.
Happy New Year!
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    76
    28
    10
    19
See reviews for
52
46
21
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Powell River, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The InterContinental Hotel is a very nice hotel associated with a five star medical facility, the Cleveland Clinic. Everything from the lobby to the bathrooms was clean, modern and roomy. The rooms were spacious, the internet worked perfectly and the bathrooms were spotless. Table 45 restaurant was quite good.
There were no problems with the cleaning staff as noted by another guest. The front desk was slow for checkin or questions as there was rarely more than one person available.
The connection to the Cleveland Clinic is the selling point, especially for medical visits or conferences. There's not too much for shopping around and it requires a taxi or bus to get to a mall or entertainment.
The taxi ride is about 15-20 min to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and costs about $17-20 with tip.
This wouldn't be a hotel that I would stay at for family or vacation due to the location but was excellent for business or health visits to the Cleveland Clinic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear smalltowncanada,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments of your recent stay with us. We certainly appreciate knowing you were satisfied with your business trip to the area and your stay at the hotel.

Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed one night for a business trip to Cleveland Clinic. The hotel is pretty fancy and has a ton of amenities and restaurants. It's definitely pricey, especially the add-on services, so beware. Everyone was very nice. The Table 45 restaurant was pretty good. The room was nice and spacious. There were a few stains on the carpet, but otherwise the room was clean too. The workout gym is huge for a hotel and the equipment is very nice. The previous comments about the helicopters landing are true, but honestly I laughed at every one of those reviews. You are staying at a world-class medical institution that spans 10 blocks in a city that's not known for being warm and fuzzy. Of course you will have medical evacuation helicopters landing at the ER!!! And if the hotel is next to the hospital, then of course you will hear and see them. Know it, expect it at any such hotel. Unless you're a super light sleeper, they won't bother you. They nickel and dime you at the business center ($6.75 for 15mins!), but I suppose that's typical for hotels of this stature. Nevertheless, I would definitely stay here again. If you have any reason to be at or around the Cleveland Clinic, it's worth it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear CincyZ83,

It was a pleasure reading your recent review of the hotel. I am delighted to know you enjoyed the hotel and our services. Should your business travels require another trip to Cleveland, we certainly hope you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have stayed here before and was happy until now. The location is great for conferences and the rooms are spacious. My complaint was with the housekeeping. Our cleaning staff did not replace the towels or water glasses, and the coffee pot wasn't cleaned and restocked. I had to call the front desk to get things replaced and they came promptly with the towels but the glasses arrived an hour later, after we were in bed! Not happy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Laurie H,

Thank you for being a loyal guest of the hotel. We are sorry that your recent visit to the hotel was disappointing. We take our guests comments seriously and are currently making necessary changes in housekeeping. Should you need to travel to Cleveland again, please give us another opportunity.

Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I travelled to Cleveland for a conference which was being held at the Intercontinental. This hotel is located on the campus of the Cleveland Clinic. Some people have complained about the parking, but it has an enclosed walk way that takes you right to the hotel elevator. Don’t let that be a deterrent.

The entire check-in process was simple. We arrived early and the staff was very pleasant. The room was worth the group rate, but I would not have paid any more for it. It is your old school “luxury” hotel. It def. lacks the modern WOW factor, but it is a nice clean hotel.

If you want to know my major complaint is that there is not a single vending machine or soda machine in the entire hotel. The bellman was very friendly in explaining the options. The walk over to the Cleveland Clinic (enclosed) was very nice and the hospital is a sight all by itself. But the clinic only carries diet drinks. Diet Soda, Gatorade, juices, etc. I love their effort to be more health I just wish a hotel, with nothing around it, would allow its guest some way to pick up a quick beverage/snack.

Overall, I would not hesitate to stay here again if my conference was at the hotel, but it would not be my first choice if the conference was elsewhere.

Room Tip: No real views. be prepared for regular helicopter landings at the clinic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed recently at the Intercontinental Cleveland Clinic for a wedding weekend, it had all the qualities expected from an Intercontinental but there were a few issues. Being part of the Cleveland Clinic it had a bit of an institutional feel. The parking was only available thru the valet, no real self park option available nearby. The hotel was beautifully appointed as would be expected from the brand but a few things were missing. in the bathroom while it had a separate shower and tub, there was not soap and hair items in each area. The beds were comfortable. the Wifi while free made it a bit of a hassle to have to log off one instrument to use another, if one travels with an Iphone, Ipad and or computer you need to log off one item to log onto another. Overall Intercontinental quality but a few amenities lacking. If you need to be in the Cleveland Clinic area good choice but other options if don't need to be at Clinic.

Room Tip: If don't need a special handicap room make sure you get a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

$105 on Hotwire for a king bed room. Room was very clean and modern except for the 1980's blue lounge chair. We were out late the night before attending a concert so the 12:00 check out time would be great for us, except for the fact that at 9:00 am house keeping started knocking.
Must valet park, no other option $24.00 to park a car.
We would stay again but would look elsewhere first.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Hotel Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Address: 9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Cleveland 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Cleveland is situated on the campus of the prestigious Cleveland Clinic, less than two kilometres (one mile) from the University Circle cultural and arts district. Legacy Village shopping and entertainment, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Progressive Field and the Historic Warehouse District are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cleveland
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.