We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleveland Intercontinental” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Hotel Cleveland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Georgetown, Kentucky
1 review
“Cleveland Intercontinental”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Hotel was ok for the price; club level helped. Not exactly the best location as it is all tied into CC; felt like I should be going for a treatment or something. Room was nice, but hallway noise was an issue during my afternoon nap. Staff friendly and helpful. I think it was more that the hotel I wanted in Cleveland was booked than that this wasn's such a great hotel. Preferred downtown, got university. My wife liked it fine and we did enjoy Table 45; great lamb and crab guac!

PS
Manya Dailey took very good care of us at breakfast in the club room; thanks Manya for the TLC.

Room Tip: Club level as expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear William B,

While we understand the InterContinental Hotel was not your preferred hotel we thank you for taking time to share your experience. I will also be sharing with Manya your wonderful comments of her hospitality.

Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    80
    28
    11
    19
See reviews for
57
47
21
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
White Marsh, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Luxurious as always ... all you have to do is ask for whatever you need. The 14th floor Club Level was well worth the extra bucks. The entire staff was pleasant and accommodating. Food & drink flowed as usual. The luncheon buffets were exquisite as always. The front door 5 Star Limo Service was a nice added touch and cheaper then the taxi services available. Ask for Alford when it comes to the limo service. Damian was extremely helpful at the reception desk. We would stay here again and recommend to all.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the city overlooking the Cleveland Clinic Campus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear acornsup1,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay with us again. We certainly look forward to having you as our guest again.

Regards,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We got the InterContinental as an online deal for a trip to see a concert at the Beachland Ballroom. The hotel was clean and the suite was very nice. The desk staff was helpful, and valet parking was quick and easy. The only drawback was that the hotel bar was already closed when we got back from the Beachland just before midnight, and (according to the staff) there were no decent bars or restaurants in the immediate area. There is fast food just down the street, but that was about it. If you were staying for more than one night, and nightlife was a concern, you'd probably do better to spend a few extra bucks and head downtown. Otherwise, the hotel itself was clean, quiet, and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear gwnorthMichigan,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay. We are pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel.

Regards,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

As a first-timer to Cleveland, I was unsure about staying in University Circle but it worked so well. You're still going to drive everywhere, but certain highlights are within close reach: the art museum, Little Italy, and Lakeview Cemetery. Keep in mind if you book through a bidding website, they cannot guarantee requests. However, my friend and I got very lucky thanks to the nicest employee imaginable, Damian. This guy took care of us all weekend by hunting down a room with two beds (we didn't mind the wait!), suggesting restaurants, and taking our budget priorities into consideration. I seriously hope he owns his own hotel one day.

Exellent beds with fluffy comforters and 5 pillows of different firmness to choose from. Everything was spotless. The shower had perfect pressure and luxe toiletries...everything was a creamy lemon verbena, and I should have taken it home! There is a gym on the 4th floor with pretty much everything you need to burn a few calories. Also a skyway to connect you to the Cleveland Clinic if you're headed that way.

Why only 4 stars in this review? Parking and breakfast. I did not know when I booked that parking was not included, and it was in the twenty dollar range. Tip: The valet guys will keep an eye on your car for free for 30 minutes (which we accidentally pushed to an hour) if you're just headed in and out. Park in the Cleveland Clinic lot across the street, which maxes at 10 dollars (even overnight) but has affordable rates by the hour. By some miracle we parked there on Saturday night and when we left on Sunday, the gate was open and we had a freebie. I don't know if that was an accident, but perhaps Sundays are free.

I heard that breakfast was tasty but one look at the prices and we couldn't swing it. $16 for a "choose 3 ingredients" omelette... We got a recommendation to drive to a cute diner in nearby Shaker Heights ("Michael's Diner") and paid $6 instead. Another option is to cross the Skyway to the Au Bon Pain in the Clinic, which had a great selection of goodies.

If you're on the fence about booking the Intercontinental because of the price, be assured that you can probably find a deal online. University Circle was quiet, pretty, and not a far drive from downtown. And with employees like Damian behind the desk and Samir in the Valet, you will be treated like your business is very much appreciated.

Room Tip: Remember to be flexible if you need a certain number of beds. By offering to leave our bags with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I was attending the Brothers of the Sun tour at Cleveland Brown Stadium, and actually booked this hotel through Hotwire.com blindly. After booking, they revealed the hotel, so I naturally came on tripadvisor to see reviews.

Some of the reviews made me question my choice.

HOWEVER, upon arriving I found the hotel extremely clean, and well taken care of. The hotel staff was pleasant to deal with and very friendly. Being connected to a large medical center I was afraid that all I would hear was sirens and things all night, but the rooms were quiet, and clean. I had no issues with mold, or anything else.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone that needs to spend time in Cleveland, who does not wish to pay the price to stay downtown. It is approx. a 10 min drive right down the street to all the bars, and arena/stadiums.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed here 5 nights. It's very nice. Pricey room service , pricey Internet, pricey everything. It's great access if you're at the Cle Clinic. Bed was comfortable; room and bathroom was clean. The gym is decent. They should add a pool and hot tub.

Room Tip: Book ahead and do a prepay discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Antoinette Petersen's warm, caring personality as hostess of the club level amenities room makes the upgrade fee almost a bargain. She is a delight! And. The Hotel, attached to the Cleveland Clinic could not have been more convenient or comfortable.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Hotel Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Cleveland

Address: 9801 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#10 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Cleveland 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Cleveland is situated on the campus of the prestigious Cleveland Clinic, less than two kilometres (one mile) from the University Circle cultural and arts district. Legacy Village shopping and entertainment, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Progressive Field and the Historic Warehouse District are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cleveland
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.