We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Side Market

West Side Market
West 25th and Lorain, Ohio City, Cleveland, OH 44113
216 664 3387
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 73 Attractions in Cleveland
Type: Historic Sites, Flea/ Street Markets, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1912, this thriving public market offers fresh produce, meat, dairy products and a delicious variety of prepared foods.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

You have to see it to believe it. We take all our visitors from other states here and everyone, simply everyone is impressed. It is old world charm at its finest. I love having my own favorite vendors there. They are all knowledgeable and the variety and size of the place is incredible. A sure must see when in Cleveland!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    940
    298
    61
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“So many cool things for a foodie to see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Such a cool place! The vendors' displays were so well-done and fun to look at. It was the biggest market I've been to. It was easy to find, parking was right across the street and was free. We roamed around for a couple hours and finished by taking a crepe up the the balcony and ate it while enjoying the view.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monterey, california
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food & offerings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

An interesting experience in the heart of Cleveland. Very well organized and a great selection of choices. Loved the building, as it's quite historic & beautiful and the ethnic diversity of the vendors and the offerings. Not something that you would expect in Cleveland.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagamore Hills, Ohio
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“One of a Kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Market is a family favorite place to visit even though we now live in a different county. It is a place of roots and of heritage. The best areas for us are the indoor merchants selling cheeses, meats, and some great foods. My favorite is Steve's, a place that sells the BEST gyros ever. It has been on the Food Channel. Be prepared for a long line though, but it is worth it!
One concern is with a few of the vegetable/fruit vendors; we have had several occasions where what was shown in their display was not what one found in the bag. We have been disappointed with the quality on several occasions.
However, it should not detract from the real Market on the inside as well as those vendors outside who provide quality produce.
The Westside Market is a gem of Cleveland. Don’t pass it up!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LORAIN
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A piece of Cleveland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

A step back into yesteryear in this iconic building but also a great market to stock up on those hard to find meats and cheeses, breads and pasta, fresh produce. You cannot leave without a gyro from the booth in the back...the best I have ever eaten

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Side Market also viewed

 

Been to West Side Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Side Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.