We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Chinese food in Cleveland!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wonton Gourmet

Wonton Gourmet
3211 Payne Ave., Cleveland, OH
Improve this listing
Ranked #602 of 1,562 Restaurants in Cleveland
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese food in Cleveland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

One of the few places to get good authentic Chinese food in Cleveland. Lots of fairly priced dishes.

Recommendations:
- Spicy chili chicken
- Duck noodle soup
- Shrimp wonton noodle soup
- Chinese vegetables (any of them)

Note: the neighborhood of East Cleveland is not the best so be aware that is where you are going. This is a great place for lunch on a weekend.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great little hole-in-the-wall Chinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We got beef chow fun, which was a little greasy, but it's not any more greasy than normal chinese dishes I've had cooked for me at my Chinese friend's homes. That's why you should pair with hot tea to help digest the oil!! Wonderful pairing!!

Also, had the shrimp wonton dumpling soup with noodles. I liked the broth, but next time I'll order without the noodles. We also ordered the duck wonton soup, which we were asked if we wanted it with skin and bones, but of course!!! The duck was great in the broth, once again will order next time without the noodles and just get a side of rice.

We went on a saturday evening and didn't feel like we were in danger, because the parking lot was right next to the restaurant with ample parking space. Just be smart and don't leave nice stuff within eyesight in your car, duh! The restaurant had a warm, homey, relaxed feeling. Our waitress was very friendly and there was no language barrier during the interchange at all. Will definitely return!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Perfectly authentic Chinese in an imperfect part of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Wonton is in Cleveland's small but vibrant Asiatown, which abuts some less-appealing parts of town, but it's not too bad (don't leave valuables in your car, but no need to fear for your life, if that makes sense). Anyway, the sketchy surroundings are worth it in terms of food and value. Wonton offers standard Americanized Chinese fare, which you should avoid (it's unremarkable). Instead, choose from their Cantonese and Hong Kong menus, or pick something from a picture on the wall. Standout items include the stir-fried garlic pea green shoots, beef with eggplant, and just about any noodle soup. Their broths are fantastic. The excellent food makes it popular with local Chinese and Asian college students in the area. Service is quick and the prices are very fair. There's not much in the way of ambiance; it's spare inside.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“Always authentic, Asian cuisine nicely done.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is some of the best Asian cuisine in Asiatown in Cleveland. We have eaten there several times over the last year or two and everything is always fresh, and well prepared. The servers are pleasant and always accommodate your requests. There are two menus. One is the usual Americanized Chinese dishes and the other is the authentic Asian dishes. They also have photos of these authentic dishes on the wall of the restaurant so you can see how they look. Everything from pork, beef, chicken, jelly fish,eel and frog to fresh oysters prepared Hong Kong style along with Congee and noodle soups.

This review is from Saturday's dinner. I ordered the spicy eggplant with pork. It was nicely spiced with large chunks of perfectly cooked Chinese eggplant, green bell pepper and slices of pork. My husband had the spicy fish dish which was indeed spicy. It came with red chili oil, fried dried red chilies and sprinkled with crushed red pepper flakes. There were lovely large chunks of white fish with some vegetables. He loves spicy and it was just that.

For apps, we had the fried turnip cake and chive dumplings. The turnip cake was nicely done but the chive dumplings really rocked. They were freshly made and delicious.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

The food is real. Some people are put off by the Chinese aspects of the place in that it looks, smells, and is an actual Chinese restaurants. It is a small place that is not fancy and isn't in the best location, but who really cares with good food. The place is very clean with pictures of most of the food on the walls. If you are looking for authentic Chinese noodle soup you will be hard pressed to find better in the Cleveland area. They have several menus. They have the Hong Kong Style menu, the authentic Chinese mostly Cantonese menu and the Americanized Chinese style menu. I personally go for the Wonton with Noodle Soups or the hard to find Congee on the Hong Kong style menu. With 14 verities of Noodle soup, it makes it hard for me to decide, Roasted Duck, Pork or Beef Brisket. The Wontons them self are light and delicious, with a good Shrimp flavor to them. The soup broth is delicate letting the meat and Wonton shine. So for those wanting eat more closely to like what you would get in China give it a try.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wonton Gourmet also viewed

 

Been to Wonton Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wonton Gourmet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.