We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Cleveland gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steve's Gyros

Steve's Gyros
West Side Market, 1979 West 25th Street, Cleveland, OH 44113
216 664 3387
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 1,667 restaurants in Cleveland
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Battle Creek, Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Another Cleveland gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Steve's is a vendor in the West Side Market, and they have amazing gyros! Lines can be ridiculously long, best to come early, but worth the wait. All parts: meat, bread, veggies, and awesome sauce are delicious. Tip: Get the large (which is huge), and two extra breads and two extra sauces, then divide the meat up to give 3 still large yummy gyros!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    19
    11
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It Was Good But....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

It was good but, it wasn't the best gyro I've had. What it lacked in taste for me, it made up for in size. The regular size that I ordered was large, in my opinion, and jammed pack with meat, perhaps too much meat. The large cost about $8 and change. The tzatziki sauce was a bit unusual too in that it had a pink hue instead of the usual white I'm used too. Like I said, it was good, just not the best I've tasted, but the ambience of the West Side Market, a large indoor market located west of downtown Cleveland, certainly makes it worth the trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Creek, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Yum!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Alright lets get it out of the way, the line is long. In fact it got even longer as we waited, but I would wait in that line all over again for a taste of that yummy meat and sauce. my husband and I split a jumbo gyro, it was a ton of meat, had to eat the meat down before we cold even take our first real bite. It was delicious! It was a Friday afternoon when we stopped and the service was friendly, one of the cooks was sure to let everyone know in line two times while we were waiting on meat to heat up, what was going on so people wouldn't get too grouchy. If you have the time and some patience check it out you won't be sorry!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Gyro this side of the Mississippi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

If you have a craving for a gyro, and you're in Cleveland... look no further.. This place has you covered. The meat is well seasoned, the Tzatziki sauce has you covered, and the Onions, whoooo. If you are extra hungry you can get a jumbo, but seriously, they already cram so much meat into a regular, I could not imagine trying to get more. If you never had it, try it.. it is really good. And if you are looking for the best fillafel, walk around the corner past the fudge guy and order one from Maha's!! you;re welcome

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good gyro, not worth the wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I waited in line for over an hour as they "did not have meat"
The gyro is massive, and tasty, but not worth an hour's wait. I wish I would have gone to a less trendy place and skipped the very long line.

Also, the staff was pretty rude (Reminiscent of the "soup nazi" in Seinfeld)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steve's Gyros also viewed

 

Been to Steve's Gyros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steve's Gyros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.