We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steve's Gyros

Steve's Gyros
West Side Market, 1979 West 25th Street, Cleveland, OH 44113
216 664 3387
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 1,692 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Cherry Creek, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Yum!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Alright lets get it out of the way, the line is long. In fact it got even longer as we waited, but I would wait in that line all over again for a taste of that yummy meat and sauce. my husband and I split a jumbo gyro, it was a ton of meat, had to eat the meat down before we cold even take our first real bite. It was delicious! It was a Friday afternoon when we stopped and the service was friendly, one of the cooks was sure to let everyone know in line two times while we were waiting on meat to heat up, what was going on so people wouldn't get too grouchy. If you have the time and some patience check it out you won't be sorry!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    13
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Gyro this side of the Mississippi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

If you have a craving for a gyro, and you're in Cleveland... look no further.. This place has you covered. The meat is well seasoned, the Tzatziki sauce has you covered, and the Onions, whoooo. If you are extra hungry you can get a jumbo, but seriously, they already cram so much meat into a regular, I could not imagine trying to get more. If you never had it, try it.. it is really good. And if you are looking for the best fillafel, walk around the corner past the fudge guy and order one from Maha's!! you;re welcome

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good gyro, not worth the wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I waited in line for over an hour as they "did not have meat"
The gyro is massive, and tasty, but not worth an hour's wait. I wish I would have gone to a less trendy place and skipped the very long line.

Also, the staff was pretty rude (Reminiscent of the "soup nazi" in Seinfeld)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very hot in line. Best gyro ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Way too hot in line for 40 min wait! The gyro and sauce is delicious! I am a local and have seen the line grow as they have been featured on many shows. The attitudes have changed and the rude signs have gone up! They are so rude and talk about customers as they walk away! I love the gyros but it pains me to give them business when they are so ungrateful for their loyal customers who put them on the map! A lot of people feel this way because I heard the chatter in the line!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

There is a long line here but the sandwich is excellent! Seasoned to perfection, the sauce is delish with a little kick. The portions are gigantic. You could order the jumbo, and two extra pieces of pita and make three large sandwiches, no kidding that's how big the are! The West Side Market is worth a trip anyway, this is a bonus.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steve's Gyros also viewed

 

Been to Steve's Gyros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steve's Gyros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.