We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cowell & Hubbard

Cowell & Hubbard
1305 Euclid Ave., Cleveland, OH 44115
2164790555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cowell & Hubbard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 1,705 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: French, American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 44115
cleveland,oh
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We dined on a Wed. evening as a party of four for a Birthday dinner. We had reservations and could be seated immediately. The appy's we ordered were fantastic. We had the seafood dumplings and roasted peppers with shrimp. For Entrees we had Red Fish, Beef Cheeks, Breaded Veal, and Strip Steak au Poivre. They were all very good, the best IMO was the Beef Cheeks, and I wish I would've been the one to have ordered it. I ordered the veal which was good, cooked to perfection, but not a ton of flavor. The steak and fish were also really good. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    40
    17
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A dining adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The offerings at Cowell & Hubbard were amazing, innovative and unique. While $$$$, dinner there after the theater was fantastic and an experience we hope to repeat whenever we visit Cleveland.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Tucked away in midtown Cleveland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Found another of Zack Bruell's gems across from the triangle where construction is going full speed to complete yet another gem: a Beer Garden! Does it get any better?

Cowell & Hubbard have the wines by glass or fabulous bottle selections as they have in L'Albatross in University Square. The menu is a delight and I must come hungrier next time. The soup was a squash bisque then followed by a citrus gravlax of salmon platter. Exquisite food paired with a lovely Sancerre.

Staff is wonderful and as friendly as you would hope without being overbearing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Consider dropping in for apps but skip the mains.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Dumplings and beef ceviche apps were excellent, chicken wings and foie gras dish were good. Unfortunately we also got the mains.The pork shank was a ridiculously large, greasy mess. It was like they slow-cooked it then threw it into the deep fryer to finish. The beef cheeks were a decent stew I could've made myself at home, again, in the slow cooker. The ravioli were flavourless. The scallops were excellent. I had the duck and the flavours were good; however, the skin was flabby instead of crispy which is disappointing. Two good desserts were the meringues and the pot de creme. Stay away from the linzer torte, truffles, and blondie-they were all snore-worthy. Overall, an over-priced, heavy meal with a few bright spots at the beginning and end. Watch out for the bread ninjas who will stop at nothing to make sure your side plate is always full.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location, below average food!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Before attending a show at Playhouse Square I thought I would give Cowell & Hubbard a try. As a chef I am always interested in finding new food destinations. Unfortunately, Zach Bruell's new venture is not even worth a stop, never mind a destination. First the bar service was slow and the bartender was not the most welcoming of servers - I didn't even rate a greeting. The wines by the glass were extremely limited and outrageously priced. French roses are some of the best wine values on the market today - but Cowell & Hubbard is charging a whopping $10 for a four ounce pour. Ouch! I subsequently ordered an Argentinian malbec at $9 - it was thin and flabby. I then ordered the house cured gravlax with blinis and pink grapefruit. Pink grapefruit??? Really??? The sour notes of the citrus completely overwhelmed the delicate taste of the salmon. And speaking of the salmon, the curing process was not done long enough to absorb the flavors of the sea salt, sugar and dill that are the usual ingredients for curing gravlax. The blinis were pretty good, however!

I was enormously disappointed because I like his other restaurant in Tremont, Parallax and the terrific l'Albatros in University Circle. Skip Cowell & Hubbard and save your money for a really good restaurant destination!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cowell & Hubbard also viewed

 
Cleveland, OH
 

Been to Cowell & Hubbard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cowell & Hubbard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.