We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice outdoor seating and attentive service in a Detroit-Shoreway bar with good but pricey food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Kitchen & Bar

Spice Kitchen & Bar
Detroit Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44102
(216) 961-9637
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 1,692 Restaurants in Cleveland
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor seating and attentive service in a Detroit-Shoreway bar with good but pricey food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Met several colleagues for a Thursday night business dinner. Bar and dinner service were quick and pleasant without disrupting our conversation. I had tomato bisque, beautifully presented, $9, and lamb two ways with mashed potatoes and green beans, $30. Both were delicious. Patio seating behind the building was quiet and not too crowded. This restaurant is one long block east of Gordon Square on Detroit Avenue, definitely urban but safe enough.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    9
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Really fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Met some friends for dinner and we enjoyed EVERYTHING! We started with their chickpea fries and sauce- very tasty. The mushroom beignets melted in your mouth. We each had a salad - FRESH. We split the ravioli's (they were out of the one listed on the menu but the substitutes were delish anyway) and than we split the pork loin- it was a large piece and also had great flavors to it. Nice and relaxing atmosphere, not rushed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Local food and lots of it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I went here after finding an apartment in Cleveland this week. The food was really good. We got the cornbread and chickpea fries for apps and they were delicious. The cornbread is served with some sort of rosemary bacon butter which I didn't eat because I'm not a bacon person. I got the Bibb salad and the potato stuffed ravioli and spinach puree, both cooked well and in season. A friend of mine and my mom ordered off the restaurant week menu and weren't disappointed. The apple cobbler is amazing and the ice cream with it is home made! Definitely a restaurant to go back to, but it is a little bit pricey.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Local ingredients, gourmet cuisine, neighborhood gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed every aspect of our experience at Spice Kitchen + Bar. The seasonal menu was loaded with fresh, local ingredients in creative preparations. Our meals were sensational and our service was excellent. I went in with high expectations based on what I had heard and read and Spice exceeded them. We can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spice is nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Nice quiet environment, good food and service at a decent price. We had the walleye chowder, broiled walleye, roast chicken, and pulled pork. Everyone enjoyed the visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Kitchen & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Spice Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Kitchen & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.