We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely accomodating staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8800 Euclid Ave., Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Extremely accomodating staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Pros: This was our second time staying at this hotel & our visit in February was for 18 days. We selected this hotel primarily because of its location on the Cleveland Clinic Campus, the CC free shuttle bus service from the hotel to various stops within the confines of the clinic, the loveliness of the hotel upon entering the lobby, suites which offered a separation of beds from the sitting area, & the reduced price afforded to Cleveland Clinic guests. We felt the price for our suite was a decent value. We were most impressed by the extremely accommodating staff which included valets, bellmen, front desk check-in, dining staff (Diane was a real jewel in
her helpfulness with morning orders 'to go.'), Bernadette, who was the ultimate Concierge with her helpful tips, & the housekeeping staff who were always willing to clean our room when it 'suited us' & made a point of asking if we needed 'anything.' We feel the hotel reflects quality management. We will definitely stay at this hotel again when returning to Cleveland in April.

Cons: We definitely have several grievances with the cost of services at this hotel (which in no way is a reflection of the staff). I have read other complaints in regard to the overly-priced dining menu. We had lunch our first day of arrival & were disappointed with a watery soup & over-priced turkey sandwiches. Thankfully, other guests recommended the restaurant and/or cafeteria at the Main Cleveland Clinic Bldg. Other than the fabulous steel- cooked oat meal in the hotel dining room, we had all of our meals at the Main bldg. The food is well prepared & a wide selection of entrees is offered. Compare the price of delicious home-made soups for only $3 (large), compared to the hotel lackluster soup of $7. Hint--get there early for best selection, as items will not be replenished later in the day. The parking at the hotel is expensive & your vehicle is exposed to the outside elements. For a better deal, park at one of the covered garages at the Clinic ($50 coupons can be purchased for $30, or just pay $10 per day for shorter stays). Last, but not least is the lack of complimentary coffee in the hotel lobby until 9:00 AM in the morning. I have stayed at hotels across the United States & have observed that the coffee is one of the amenities This is just plain CHEAP!

Room Tip: We like the view of Euclid St. & not a roof top. Also, you can request a room with a safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Jan63,

Thank you so much for your review of the InterContinental Suites Cleveland. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our proximity to the Cleveland Clinic and accommodations but we are most proud to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations. We have a great team of individuals and we appreciate you pointing out a few who were able to make your stay memorable.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you described. We hope that they don't deter you from staying with us again.

Regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    109
    31
    23
    15
See reviews for
84
46
30
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island City, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I booked a stay here while interviewing at the Cleveland Clinic because the Intercontinental down the street was full and so they bumped me over to the "suites" - a less stylish hotel with a mini fridge and separate living room/couch. For a hotel in the Intercontinental family, I was surprisingly disappointed overall by my stay here. I give you the highs and the lows:

High points: The dessert from room service was fresh and above average and well done and very speedy even though it was $12/item, the front desk clerk was courteous, valet parking with in-and-out privileges was quick to retrieve the car and quick to park, and there is easily accessible wifi. It's a grand total of two and a half blocks from the main entrance to the Cleveland Clinic (where you go for most interviews etc.) but despite the short walk, they still offer a shuttle to CC every 15 minutes (which seems unnecessary). The toiletries are pleasant and there was a hairdryer, acceptable TV and a comfortable bed. The Health Line bus stop at East 88th St is at the entrance to the hotel, and it connects with the Light Rail system, which is capable of transporting you all over the major parts of the city.

Low points: A tea at the cafe is Lipton and costs $4. The parking is $16 per night (same as other major cities) with extensive free parking nearby - seems very high for Cleveland! The gym is just a few treadmills. Turn down service missed my room and I had to call for it. There is no breakfast except for the expensive pay per item breakfast until 1030 (no buffet and the food appears fairly unimpressive), and there are no cute cafes or coffee shops nearby as the hotel is flanked by Cleveland Clinic buildings only so you either must pay the exorbitant price for their food or take the tram elsewhere (or your car). The room is ugly as can be and is what I would hope for in a retirement home, with extensive accessibility features, cream coloured everything and plastic handles in odd places and a low toilet, curtains with big plastic hand grips for control and furniture that I am pretty certain came from a mass production facility specializing in rehabilitation centres. There are no convenience stores nearby, which is inconvenient given that the advantage to having a dinette/refrigerator is that you could purchase some breakfast items to store in that region of the room to avoid the trap that is the hotel breakfast. For the money, I've stayed in gorgeous places in Philadelphia with less expensive parking. Why would Cleveland be so expensive? The computer centre is a weird half-height cubicle in the middle of the spartan lounge featuring two slow PC computers and printers. I had difficulty connecting to the internet and had to call down to the front desk for a special code. There were perhaps 7 or 8 light switches in the room, each of which controls a single light variably contained within the room that features the switch.

For interviews at the Cleveland Clinic: Of course, stay here. It's next door to where you need to interview. Just make sure to grab some breakfast before arrival and don't expect a thriving scene, a good workout, attractive decor or an uplifting atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Drerinny,

Thank you so much for your review of the InterContinental Suites Cleveland. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our proximity to the Cleveland Clinic, the dessert options from C2 and our courtesy staff.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you described in your review. We must apologize for the misinformation you received regarding breakfast in our restaurant as we do have a buffet for just $13.50. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we are disappointed to hear that we fell below your expectations.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

First time at the suites, usually stay in main campus Intercontinental. The staff went out of their way to accommodate early check in and booking of cars. Rooms are spacious and recently redone. Vanessa at front desk gets a shout out for great service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Ahg2,

Thank you so much for your review of the InterContinental Suites. We are delighted that your first stay with us exceeded your expectations! We’re happy to hear that we were able to honor your request for an early check-in and that you enjoyed our spacious accommodations. We have a wonderful team at the Suites and appreciate you taking the time to acknowledge Vanessa for her outstanding service.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Cleveland.

Stay well,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Comfortable, nice suite. Diane in the breakfast restaurant was lovely. Great attitude and very helpful and friendly. Beds and pillows were also comfy, including the pull-out bed in the sitting area. Refrigerator and microwave in kitchen nook. I didn't like the fact you have to pay $10 extra per person for use of the rehab pool off grounds at the Cleveland Clinic, and the sauna is also off grounds at the main InterContinental Hotel which is NOT attached to the Suites Hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suites have more windows. Pull out bed in room 301 was comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Teri C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the InterContinental Suites Cleveland. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations. We certainty take great pride in offering excellent customer service to all of our guests and appreciate the accolades to Diane on a job well done!

Because we are unable to provide a pool or sauna at our property, guests do have the option to utilize the pool at the Cleveland Clinic's W.O. Walker Center and the sauna at the InterContinental Hotel Cleveland. Please accept our apology for the shortcomings you experienced as a result of this. We certainty hope this doesn't deter you from staying with us again, we would love to welcome you back.

Wishing you a happy and healthy 2014,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, CA
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 10 nights in December, during which time I spent 5 nights at the adjoining Cleveland Clinic for orthopedic surgery.

First and foremost, the location on the Cleveland Clinic campus cannot be beat, if that is the focus of one's visit. My wife and I walked the block and a half to the surgery unit and then, upon discharge, avalied myself of the special shuttles available through the clinic for wheelchair-bound patients. There are also shuttle buses to take guests to local shopping centers, museums and restaurants (l'Albatros is outstanding). Additionally, the rates are very reasonable for guests who stay more than a week.

The layout of the rooms is ideal, and much better than the grander Intercontinental property on the campus. There is a sitting room with microwave, frig and coffee maker, as well as a bedroom with two queens --- ideal for our situation after I was discharged as an inpatient. The hotel lobby was fine and the corridors by the hallways to the rooms are hung with attractive art work depicting local Great Lakes scenes.

However, the services are pretty mediocre. Our first morning, there was no coffee in the room, so I called to get some. After awhilet the maid brought Keurig pods, but we had a drip machine. This was actually a blessing, as we never would have known they had Keurig machines if it were not for this snafu. We swapped our old drip for a pod machine.

The maid service throughout our stay was pretty poor. Evidently, the staff is not adequately supervised. After cleaning the room, the maid would regularly leave the bolster pillows with fabric on the floor, rather than placing them back on the beds. All the maid did was make the beds --- one day there were no clean towels, they never vacuumed until my wife called them back to do it after our 6th day and their idea of cleaning up was pretty sad (see attached photos of how the room looked after the maid service had been completed). When you stay in a hotel for a night or two, such lapses are easily overlooked, but after 10 days they start to take a toll.

The room service was fair. One night we had a tasty pasta bolognese which was delivered without a hitch. On another occasion, when I had to mleave promptly for a follow-up appoinment at the Clinic, they only brought one coffee cup for the large carafe of coffee. So I called and quite a while later a second cup arrived. Then I discovered they had forgotten the brown sugar and the raisins for the two oatmeals we had ordered, so they had to go back after bringing the cup and get those. It's sad when a simple order of coffee and oatmeal gets bungled.

The food in the dining room was variable. Some items were tasty, but other items such as the salmon with artichoke were so salty as to render them in edible. On his last occasion, the manager (all the serving staff were pleasant) comped us with a free glass of wine for my wife.

So all-in-all, this hotel has great potential, if only it can get it's staff up to speed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear ankiandlarry,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location and accommodations. Please accept our deepest apology for the experience you had with your housekeeping service and dining experiences. We regret that this affected your stay negatively.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Therefore, we would like to obtain additional details regarding your stay and would love for you to contact the hotel at 216-707-4300 and ask to speak with our Executive Housekeeper at your earliest convenience.

Once again, our most humble apologizes for the shortcomings you encountered. We look forward to welcoming you back so that we may restore your trust and loyalty in the InterContinental Suites Cleveland.

Sincerely,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton Shores, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Right on the corner with The Cleveland Clinic, so if that is your destination this is ideal! We stayed for pleasure trip, went to the 30th Anniversary Festivities for "A Christmas Story". Easy to connect to Downtown on the Healthline Bus; don't let this scare you away from staying a little bit out of town, the stop just across the street and 20min or less straight to The Downtown and Public Square, where there was plenty of restaurants and shopping if you want. Rooms more luxurious than expected, and very roomy. Bed extremely comfortable. quiet, there was no noise. Front Desk, and staff helpful and friendly. Can only park as Valet, $16/night, but quick to retrieve car, and cleaned off the snow and scraped windows, too. All in all, would definitely stay here again. thanks for the service!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Gerald H,

Thank you for sharing your positive experiences at the hotel during your recent trip to Cleveland. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and that we provided you with a 5 star experience. We hope you enjoyed the 30th anniversary celebration for “A Christmas Story.”

We look forward to having you as our guest again on your next visit to Cleveland!

Wishing you a happy new year,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This hotel is on the grounds of Cleveland Clinic and houses many families of patients. We checked in prior to a major surgery and were given a room at the far end of the corridor (because I had failed to request a room near the elevators). When I requested a room chance it was handled with courtesy and concern: could we wait until the next day and if so the staff would move our luggage to the new location. Everything was handled as and when promised...and a 'token of appreciation' was sent for our inconvenience. The staff's performance, as provided by Christie Lewis, Front Office Supervisor, reflected her skill and the management policy and it was very much appreciated. Kudos to all concerned!!

Room Tip: for patients recovering before returning home, a room near the elevator makes a big difference
See more room tips
Green Features: Great! Along with practices already in place is the teaching and consciousness-raising tat it provides.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Judy B,

Thank you for your review of the InterContinental Suites. We certainly take great pride in offering excellent customer service to all of our guests and are happy to hear that our staff’s genuine concern and performance was able to make your stay a little easier given the circumstances of your visit. We also appreciate the accolades to Christie who did an outstanding job! Thank you again for your feedback.

Best wishes in the New Year,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland

Address: 8800 Euclid Ave., Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#11 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, the region's only "wellness focused" all-suite hotel, is conveniently located right on the Cleveland Clinic campus. An oasis for guests to relax, rejuvenate and improve their overall mental and physical well-being, yet close to the city's most prominent attractions such as the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland Museum of Art and Cleveland Botanical Garden. From the moment you arrive you'll feel the warmth and comfort of a hotel and staff that are focused on assisting you reach your goal of wellness and good health. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel Cleveland
Intercontinental Cleveland
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.