We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strike three...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland to your Saves list
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8800 Euclid Ave., Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Strike three...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed here three times and each time was problematic. The first time, the heat in our room was unregulated; very uncomfortable.

The second time, we reserved a suite with two double beds. When we arrived we had a room with one King bed. The manager told us the reservation for double beds was a "preference." Funny thing though, our reservation clearly stated double beds. Guess unambiguous language doesn't mean much here. I ended up sleeping on the couch, my four year old on a roll-a-way and my two daughters in the bed.

Strike three, check-in is supposed to be at 3 PM. We arrived at 3:20PM. Room wasn't ready. We had to wait 30 minutes for the room to be cleaned.

While the hotel is nice and modern and a block-and-a-half from the Cleveland Clinic, the number of problems we've had here prevents us from recommending this hotel.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Thomas F,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad that you enjoy our hotel's modern design and convenience to the Cleveland Clinic. We understand your comments regarding the heating system and apologize for your room not being ready at check-in. We also understand your frustration regarding your room preference. While we try our best to ensure that all guest requests are met it is not always possible due to high occupancy or demand for the same room type. We certainly take these comments seriously and we apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We hope to offer you a more comfortable and pleasant stay in the future.

Kind regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    117
    34
    23
    16
See reviews for
90
46
31
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks and I love it. It is nice and clean. It has been renovated, so everything is new. My room was so beautiful and big. The Front Desk girls were very friendly. And management was the best. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear MyBoraBoraDream,

Thank you so much for your review of the InterContinental Suites. We appreciate your kind remarks and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookville, OH
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were there for a conference and we really want to be at the other Inter Continental on Carnegie were the conference was being held. We were not able to go there, but was very surprised with the room we had. We had nice living room and a spacious bathroom and very nice bedroom. The best thing is that it didn't cost as much as being at Carnegie and we got all the amenities. We were able to park our car and they transported us back and forth. The staff was wonderful, but when we had dinner at the restaurant and something to be desired. It took us forever to get our meal and then they wanted us to fill out a survey. It was so late, (which I would have liked to have given my survey) but we had to get up early the next morning. The only down side is you are on the Cleveland Clinic campus, so you hear ambulances and helicopters all night long. Another down side was that the room was too warm and we had to have the windows open with the heat turned off, by the last night that we were there it was cool enough to sleep comfortably. There beds and pillows were very comfortable. There was also 2 flat screen Tv's and mini kitchen with a Keurig Coffee maker and refrigerator.

Room Tip: There are restaurants in the Cleveland Clinic that would give you a more reasonable dinner pricing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Nan-Dan77,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are happy to hear that you were pleasantly surprised during your stay at the InterContinental Suites. We are proud to have provided you with a 5 star experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onley, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

What a wonderful difference from the old Guest House Suites. I no longer dread going to Cleveland Clinic for my annual exams. The suite rooms are spacious, clean, and attractively decorated. Having a mini kitchen at hand is good for extended stays. Flat screen TVs in both living room and bedroom, plus sleeper sofa and reclining chair in living room - I had to pry my husband away from the chair! Definitely a good value at the price. We ate all our meals in the onsite restaurant, and the food was delicious with good service. Being able to walk just across the street to enter the Cleveland Campus was very convenient. Only criticism - the living room was a bit warm and stuffy,. Luckily the bedroom was cool so sleeping was no problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room around the sides of the hotel - more traffic noise on road side/entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Vicki P,

Thank you for sharing your complimentary feedback on your stay with us at the InterContinental Suites Cleveland. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel’s location both convenient and well suited for your travels. It’s always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their accommodations and we hope your husband wasn't too upset when he had to part with his new favorite chair! We’re happy to have had you as our guest.

Sincerely,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I at the Intercontinental Suites for one night in October 2013 while visiting the Cleveland Clinic.
My room was a SUITE WITH TWO DOUBLE BEDS and very clean as well. I felt that the rate was a bit high but given the location to the Clinic it was worth the cost. Also, i would suggest pricing the room online and then calling the hotel for a confirmation of the price, my room was about $40 cheaper after calling. The hotel also offers a Patient Rate if your staying for Clinic testing. My room was comfortable and very family friendly with a kitchenette, living room, bedroom, bath and lavatory area. The temperature in the room was hot and there was a placard hanging on the thermostat saying that if the room was to hot turn the unit off and if it was to cold turn the unit off. The hotel controls the temp in all rooms from a 2 pipe system. I didn't care for that at all. Front desk staff and bellmen were extremely helpful and friendly. Please note that Vallet parking is mandatory at $16. We did not have the breakfast buffet nor did we dine in the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Inkevable,

Thank you for your review of the InterContinental Suites Cleveland. We are happy that you enjoyed our family-friendly accommodations and helpful staff. We are sorry that you found your room to be too hot and apologize for any shortcomings you experienced as a result of valet being mandatory. Because we operate on a two-pipe system, our guest rooms do not have individual temperature controls which limits the ability to adjust room temperature. If you have concerns about the comfort of the room in the future, please contact the front desk. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope to serve you again soon.

Stay well,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The "Suite" rooms are wonderful having a nice sized bedroom with flat screen TV and living room area with a pull out sleeper, also with a flat screen TV. They include a small kitchenette with sink, microwave, coffee maker, table and two chairs,etc. Wonderful if you are spending a longer time here. Not all rooms here are "suites" though, so if required, make sure to ask on check in. Cleveland Clinic( Rated America's #4 Hospital by US News and World Report) is about a block away, Case Western University, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame aren't far either along with many other local attractions. Very clean. Some hotel staff are more personable than others.
The rooms and halls can be very warm temperature wise( seems some rooms have a better thermostat control system where as the room we recently stayed in( not a suite) tells you if the room is too warm to "turn off the fan"-which we did. Still needed to open the windows through the night to cool the room down. Would prefer being able to set our own thermostat for the temperature we sleep best in. Not sure why all rooms/suites don't have this system installed.
This is still a very good value hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Denise L,

Thank you for your review of the InterContinental Suites Cleveland. It’s always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. We are happy that you like our accommodations and convenience to the Cleveland Clinic along with other area attractions. We are sorry that you found your room to be too hot and apologize for any shortcomings you experienced. Because we operate on a two-pipe system, our guest rooms do not have individual temperature controls which limits the ability to adjust room temperature. If you have concerns about the comfort of the room in the future, please contact the front desk. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope to serve you again soon.

Stay well,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed at the InterContinental Suites for one night while on a Case Western Univ visit. It's around 1mi from the center of campus and not complicated to get to/from. The hotel is new so the rooms are clean/new as well. The rooms are not luxurious by any means but comfortable and very functional (we got a suite with pull-out bed and kitchenette). The temperature in the hallway is high, like you'd find in a hospital so maybe they're catering to their Cleveland Clinic clientele. Front desk staff were not exactly friendly or interested but we had no issues so their help wasn't required. Good breakfast buffet for $13.50 with very friendly restaurant staff. This hotel is nothing fancy but it is clean so I recommend it.

Room Tip: Suites with kitchenettes are on the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice_AS, Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Buddha700,

Thank you for sharing your experiences at our hotel. We are certainly thrilled to know that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable accommodations and that you took the time to post your positive comments. We would love to have you as our guest again.

Stay well,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland

Address: 8800 Euclid Ave., Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, the region's only "wellness focused" all-suite hotel, is conveniently located right on the Cleveland Clinic campus. An oasis for guests to relax, rejuvenate and improve their overall mental and physical well-being, yet close to the city's most prominent attractions such as the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland Museum of Art and Cleveland Botanical Garden. From the moment you arrive you'll feel the warmth and comfort of a hotel and staff that are focused on assisting you reach your goal of wellness and good health. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel Cleveland
Intercontinental Cleveland
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.