We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8800 Euclid Ave., Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel is advertised as a "suite hotel". I assumed that his meant three rooms. A bathroom, a bedroom and a small living room. That was not the case here. We had a bathroom and a large room that contained a bed, desk and a alcove with a microwave oven, Keurig coffee machine and small sink. Not bad, just not what I expected. My wife loved the desk because if jutted out from the wall allowing both of us to sit on opposite sides. The king size bed was very comfortable and my wife though the linens were wonderful.

My one big disappointment was with WiFi. The hotel advertised having WiFi and even gave me the pass-code when we checked in. Unfortunately, when I tried to access it from my iPhone I could never get the screen to enter the pass-code to come up. It kept timing out. I reported this to the front desk and got a weak reply about having to contact tech support. Not good. It I had been there on business and needed to connect I would have been outraged. All in all just an ordinary hotel with the usual network connection problems that were not resolved.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Elon B,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. We take all comments seriously and apologize for any inconveniences during your stay. You are correct that this is a suite hotel with three rooms. The hotel has 21 standard rooms, which is a large room as you described in your comments. Since these are not suites, they are available at a lower rate. We have these rooms so that we can offer two-bedroom suites for guests that require another bedroom. The hotel has 140 one-bedroom suites, which consists of a separate living room with a desk, wetbar, mini fridge, microwave and Keurig coffee maker. A separate bedroom has either one king bed or two double beds. The bathroom has a dressing area where guests can enter from either the bedroom or the living room.

I understand your disappointment in not being able to access the WiFi services from your iPhone. I experienced the same thing on my iPad while traveling. I have shared this with our on-site IT department and hopefully they can resolve this issue.

Thank you for being our guest and making us aware of your stay.
Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    104
    30
    23
    15
See reviews for
78
45
30
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Kim assisted us checking in, the process was very easy and by the numbers, She was friendly, knowledgeable, personalable and very professional. The room was simply perfect. it was very clean, spacious, comfortable, accomodating. The towels were plush, the bathroom was well lite and spacious as well (loved the marble) The bed was comfortable. Everything was just awesome and anytime I'm in Cleveland this is the spot for me to stay. If you want to feel like "it's all about you" then this is the place I would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear caport1,

Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to share your recent experiences. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We booked with a group wedding so we expected a little luxury as we normally stay in lower priced lodging. The room was beautiful and bed was comfortable until we tried to sleep!

The nasty smells begin. The room began filling with the smell of cigarette smoke from the air vents in the bathroom. After returning this happened again so I called the front desk. A service person immediately looked at the bathroom and told us "Someone must be illegally smoking in their room below you" and there is nothing to do about it.

The room began heating up. Each room has a thermostat, but it is clearly for show. We had it on the lowest possible setting 65 but woke up sweating around 80 degrees. Also the fan constantly blows hot air when the unit is on. So we had to turn the heat off for the rest of the night (which I was nervous to do as it was freezing outside.)

In the morning I informed the front desk of our problems and she explained "its an old building" and I "should have left the window open." This is like telling a guest "the toilet runs but just juggle the handle"

So there is no functional ventilation system or climate control (which you could easily find in a lower range motel) but the room looks classy. If you must stay here for the location request a lower floor (so you don't smell everyone's bathroom)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear M_Cleav,

Thank you for sharing your experiences during your recent stay. We take all comments seriously and value the feedback from our guests. I have shared your comments with the appropriate managers to discuss improvements. Please understand the hotel was built in 1999 and is not considered an older building. During the winter, the entire building is set to heat making it impossible to use the air conditioner.

Again, we apologize for all the inconveniences you experienced and hopefully you will give us another opportunity.

Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearwater
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

After a very long and exhausting day of traveling, we were looking forward to our suite at this hotel. Well, just because you reserve a room at this hotel doesn't mean you get to stay there. We were told the room that we reserved wasn't available. They did upgrade us to their sister hotel, but the customer service at that hotel was terrible and it wasn't a suite, which we wanted. Also, after finding out about this we had to wait around for 30 minutes to get a ride to the other hotel. We watched the driver take other people that came later before us, though. This was my first time booking an InterContinental hotel and definitely will be my last.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear lynn t,

Thank you for being our guest recently. We value all comments and we sincerely apologize for any shortcomings you experienced during your stay. We make every attempt to honor requests for double beds and we were able to provide a room at our AAA Four Diamond hotel with two beds. The curtesy van provides transportation for all of our guests within a mile and is based upon availability.

Again, we apologize and hope you give InterContinental Hotels an opportunity to show you we are have outstanding hotels around the world.

Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights. Everyone from the valet , Bellman, Consignor, desk, housekeeping, and restaurant where just superb.
The room was lovely , bedding great, and the bathroom spacious. Unlike many bathrooms in hotels , the bathroom lighting was excellent.If my travels bring me to Cleveland again I will definitely stay here.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear peabodygal7,

Thank you for sharing your great experience during your recent stay. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just spent a night while investigating the University Circle area for a group outing in the fall. Greeted by the valet very courteously, checked in quickly. All the rooms are suites and our room was clean and could entertain a group of 8-10 comfortably. The food in the restaurant was good, my only complaint was that for the price there could have been more than the 3 scallops that were served. We can't wait to go back in the fall and enjoy the sights and venues of University Circle and Little Italy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Michael C,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to University Circle and we hope you will stay with us again in the Fall.

Stay Well,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great hotel, no major complaints. 2nd stay for me at this hotel. Front desk is very quick to check you in/out. Great in-room amenities: refrigerator, microwave, keurig coffee maker, glassware. Furniture is cozy and rooms are spacious, linens are spectacular. Consider the parking garage 1 block away ($10 per day or less for parking for a few hours, although entrance is challenging to find) and the more reasonably priced restaurants a few blocks away. There is also a nice medium sized workout room with a few machines and free weights.

Only complaints: the digital thermostat in my room had a few lights out making it difficult to impossible to set to a desired temperature. You are not warned about the $50 incidental fee that is temporarily applied to your credit card immediately when you check in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Michael A,

Thank you for being our guest again! We are thrilled you enjoyed the stay.

Stay Well,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland

Address: 8800 Euclid Ave., Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#13 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, the region's only "wellness focused" all-suite hotel, is conveniently located right on the Cleveland Clinic campus. An oasis for guests to relax, rejuvenate and improve their overall mental and physical well-being, yet close to the city's most prominent attractions such as the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland Museum of Art and Cleveland Botanical Garden. From the moment you arrive you'll feel the warmth and comfort of a hotel and staff that are focused on assisting you reach your goal of wellness and good health. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel Cleveland
Intercontinental Cleveland
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.