We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware, they overbook this hotel!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland to your Saves list
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8800 Euclid Ave., Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersBronze level
clearwater
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beware, they overbook this hotel!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

After a very long and exhausting day of traveling, we were looking forward to our suite at this hotel. Well, just because you reserve a room at this hotel doesn't mean you get to stay there. We were told the room that we reserved wasn't available. They did upgrade us to their sister hotel, but the customer service at that hotel was terrible and it wasn't a suite, which we wanted. Also, after finding out about this we had to wait around for 30 minutes to get a ride to the other hotel. We watched the driver take other people that came later before us, though. This was my first time booking an InterContinental hotel and definitely will be my last.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear lynn t,

Thank you for being our guest recently. We value all comments and we sincerely apologize for any shortcomings you experienced during your stay. We make every attempt to honor requests for double beds and we were able to provide a room at our AAA Four Diamond hotel with two beds. The curtesy van provides transportation for all of our guests within a mile and is based upon availability.

Again, we apologize and hope you give InterContinental Hotels an opportunity to show you we are have outstanding hotels around the world.

Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    118
    34
    23
    16
See reviews for
90
47
31
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peabody, Kansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights. Everyone from the valet , Bellman, Consignor, desk, housekeeping, and restaurant where just superb.
The room was lovely , bedding great, and the bathroom spacious. Unlike many bathrooms in hotels , the bathroom lighting was excellent.If my travels bring me to Cleveland again I will definitely stay here.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear peabodygal7,

Thank you for sharing your great experience during your recent stay. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just spent a night while investigating the University Circle area for a group outing in the fall. Greeted by the valet very courteously, checked in quickly. All the rooms are suites and our room was clean and could entertain a group of 8-10 comfortably. The food in the restaurant was good, my only complaint was that for the price there could have been more than the 3 scallops that were served. We can't wait to go back in the fall and enjoy the sights and venues of University Circle and Little Italy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Michael C,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to University Circle and we hope you will stay with us again in the Fall.

Stay Well,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great hotel, no major complaints. 2nd stay for me at this hotel. Front desk is very quick to check you in/out. Great in-room amenities: refrigerator, microwave, keurig coffee maker, glassware. Furniture is cozy and rooms are spacious, linens are spectacular. Consider the parking garage 1 block away ($10 per day or less for parking for a few hours, although entrance is challenging to find) and the more reasonably priced restaurants a few blocks away. There is also a nice medium sized workout room with a few machines and free weights.

Only complaints: the digital thermostat in my room had a few lights out making it difficult to impossible to set to a desired temperature. You are not warned about the $50 incidental fee that is temporarily applied to your credit card immediately when you check in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Michael A,

Thank you for being our guest again! We are thrilled you enjoyed the stay.

Stay Well,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Had to extend a stay from 2 nights to 2 weeks due to family member took a horrible turn for the worse and was admitted into Cleveland Clinic hospital. I asked the hotel after night 6 for a long term stay discount explaining our unexpected situation. I was told "All our guests are visiting the Clinic" and told "no" coldly, end of discussion. My response was that all guests then should be treated with special kindness as having someone ill was stressful enough. Earlier in the year we had a similar situation @ Christ Hospital in Cincinnatti and the management at a Marriott worked with us and gave us a price break. They also greeted us on our return from the hospital from then on with extra kindness. That's the way it should be done.

I average 50 - 100 hotel nights a year. This is the least friendly front desk and Management I've ever encountered, and that includes camparison to those in Paris. :-)

The bell staff & valet were quite the opposite as was the hostess in the restaurant. The location for Cleveland Clinic, although not connected, is great as you can take the shuttle or walk a short distance. There's a McDonald's in the clinic as well as other places to eat so you can get around without taking your car out if you want.

ICH needs to address the unprofessional front desk and management team. I can suggest some amazing Marriott's to pattern after if they want.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear TooOftenATraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your unpleasant experience with the front desk during your stay. First, I would like to apologize that you felt we were unfriendly and unprofessional.

We recognize that many of our guests are visiting the Cleveland Clinic and may require staying longer than anticipated while a family member is being cared for by the clinic. Therefore; we do offer discounts to patients and family members for long term stays. We have daily, weekly (minimum seven night stay) and monthly (minimum thirty night stay) discounted rates.

I hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you we do provide extra kindness to all of our guests.

Stay Well,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have had 2 one night stays. Every room is a suite with a spacious bathroom, living room, bedroom. There is a flat panel tv in the bedroom and living room. Microwave, sink, refrigerator, cabinets with coffee mugs, glasses, dishes for 2, Keurig coffee maker, coffee and tea for 2 in the room I was in. I was here for a trip to Cleveland Clinic and I appreciated the fast elevators, the fast valet service, the quiet, the convenient location. There is a little bit of street noise but I didn't notice it much. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The view was of a large parking lot or the streets but I was there to sleep so I didn't care. The curtains provide complete darkness if you like. There is an electronic thermostat on the wall for your temperature comfort. I did not have time to venture out into the other areas of the hospital as I was only there long enough to get some sleep but I enjoyed the room. There was some mold in the shower around the fixtures but management was alerted and they gave me some points on my membership card for that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Debbie C,

Thank you for being a repeat guest and a priority club member. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel and the amenities we provide to our guests.

We look forward to having you as our guest again should you need to travel to Cleveland.

Stay Well,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in this hotel, which is across the street from the Cleveland Clinic. It is thus very convenient if you are going there. Most rooms are suites and reasonably large and comfortable. There is some street noise from time to time, but otherwise it seemed to be quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear GeneDoc57,

We value all of our guest comments and we are happy you found the hotel to be comfortable and convenient during your trip to Cleveland.

Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel.

Stay Well,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland

Address: 8800 Euclid Ave., Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, the region's only "wellness focused" all-suite hotel, is conveniently located right on the Cleveland Clinic campus. An oasis for guests to relax, rejuvenate and improve their overall mental and physical well-being, yet close to the city's most prominent attractions such as the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland Museum of Art and Cleveland Botanical Garden. From the moment you arrive you'll feel the warmth and comfort of a hotel and staff that are focused on assisting you reach your goal of wellness and good health. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel Cleveland
Intercontinental Cleveland
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.